Frequently Asked Questions on Occupational Safety and Health
Registration of Safety Officer and Safety Auditor
 
Q1.
What qualifications are required for registration as a safety officer? Answer  
Q2.
How do I apply to become a registered safety officer?Answer
Q3. Is it necessary to renew the registration of a safety officer?Answer
Q4. I am a safety officer registered before the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Officers and Safety Supervisors) (Amendment) Regulation 2001 came into operation. Is my registration still valid?Answer
Q5. How do I renew my registration as a safety officer?Answer
Q6. How do I revalidate my registration as a safety officer?Answer
Q7. Is there any prerequisite for renewal/revalidation of registration of a safety officer?Answer
Q8. What qualifications are required and how can I apply for registration as a registered safety auditor?Answer
Q9. Are there organizations offering safety auditor training schemes?Answer

 
Content
 
Q1. What qualifications are required for registration as a safety officer?
 A1.

Pursuant to Regulations 5(1) and 5(2) of the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Officers and Safety Supervisors) Regulations (SOSSR), Chapter 59Z, to be qualified for registration as a safety officer, a person must possess the scheduled qualifications as specified in the Third Schedule of SOSSR. For registration as a safety officer for construction sites, scheduled qualification A,B, C or D is required while for registration as a safety officer for shipyards or container handling workplaces, scheduled qualification A,B or C is required.

However, pursuant to Regulation 5(3) of the SOSSR, a person without a scheduled qualification but serving as a full time safety officer in the container handling industry immediately before 2 January 2004 (the date from which the SOSSR applies to the container handling industry) can also apply to the Commissioner for Labour for registration within the 12 months after that date.

Back to question

 

Q2. How do I apply to become a registered safety officer?
A2.

Application to become a registered safety officer under the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Officers and Safety Supervisors) Regulations should be made in Form 1 (PDF) and submitted to the Registration and Staff Training Division at Unit 1227, 12/F, Kowloonbay International Trade and Exhibition Centre, 1 Trademart Drive, Kowloon Bay, Kowloon. For details, please refer to "How to apply for registration as a Safety Officer".

Back to question

 

Q3. Is it necessary to renew the registration of a safety officer?
A3.

Yes. Under the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Officers and Safety Supervisors) (Amendment) Regulation 2001, the registration of a safety officer is valid for 4 years. A safety officer shall renew his/her registration before expiration in order that his/her registration will continue to have effect.

Back to question

 

Q4. I am a safety officer registered before the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Officers and Safety Supervisors) (Amendment) Regulation 2001 came into operation. Is my registration still valid?
A4.

A safety officer registered before the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Officers and Safety Supervisors) (Amendment) Regulation 2001 came into operation on 7 June 2002 is deemed to be registered on that date and is valid for 4 years. Therefore, your registration has expired on 7 June 2006.

Back to question

 

Q5. How do I renew my registration as a safety officer?
A5.

You should apply to the Commissioner for Labour for renewal of your registration prior to but not earlier than 9 months before your registration expires. Application for renewal of registration shall be made in Form 6 (PDF) and submitted to the Registration and Staff Training Division at Unit 1227, 12/F, Kowloonbay International Trade and Exhibition Centre, 1 Trademart Drive, Kowloon Bay, Kowloon.

Back to question

 

Q6. How do I revalidate my registration as a safety officer?
A6.

When your registration has expired and ceased to have effect, you should apply to the Commissioner for Labour for revalidation of your registration. Application for revalidation of registration shall be made in Form 6 (PDF) and submitted to the Registration and Staff Training Division at Unit 1227, 12/F, Kowloonbay International Trade and Exhibition Centre, 1 Trademart Drive, Kowloon Bay, Kowloon.

Back to question

 

Q7. Is there any prerequisite for renewal/revalidation of registration of a safety officer?
A7.

Yes. A registered safety officer shall satisfy the Commissioner for Labour that he/she has completed a total of not less than 100 hours of Continuing Professional Development Programme in occupational safety and health in the 4 years immediately preceding his/her application in order that his/her application for renewal/revalidation can be approved. For guidance, please refer to "Guidance Notes on Continuing Professional Development Programmes under the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Officers and Safety Supervisors) Regulations"

Back to question

 

Q8. What qualifications are required and how can I apply for registration as a registered safety auditor?
A8.

A person is eligible for registration as a safety auditor if he/she complies with the requirements specified in Schedule 1 of the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Management) Regulation, Chapter 59AF. Application should be made in Form 1 (PDF) and submitted to the Registration and Staff Training Division at Unit 1227, 12/F, Kowloonbay International Trade and Exhibition Centre, 1 Trademart Drive, Kowloon Bay, Kowloon.

Back to question

 

Q9. Are there organizations offering safety auditor training schemes?
A9.

The Commissioner for Labour has registered a number of scheme operators offering safety auditor training schemes. For attendance in these schemes, please approach the scheme operators direct.

Back to question

职业安全及健康
安全主任及安全审核员的注册

问1. 注册为安全主任的资格为何?答 案
问2. 我怎样才可以申请成为注册安全主任?答 案  
问3. 是否需要为安全主任的注册续期?答 案  
问4. 我在《2001年工厂及工业经营(安全主任及安全督导员)(修订)规例》实施前已注册为安全主任,我的注册是否仍然有效?答 案  
问5. 我怎样可以为我的安全主任注册续期?答 案  
问6. 我怎样可以为我的安全主任注册重新确认生效?答 案
问7. 安全主任注册的续期或重新确认生效,有没有任何先决条件?答 案  
问8. 注册安全审核员的资格和申请程序为何?答 案
问9. 哪些机构提供安全审核员的训练计划?答 案  

 
问答全文
 
问1. 注册为安全主任的资格为何?  
答1.

根据《工厂及工业经营(安全主任及安全督导员)规例》(该规例)(第59Z章)第5(1)及5(2)条,任何人士如要符合资格注册为安全主任,必须具有该规例附表三所列的资格。要注册为建筑地盘安全主任,必须符合附表所列资格 A、B、C 或 D 项;要注册为船厂或货柜处理作业工场安全主任,则须符合附表所列资格A、B或 C项。

然而,在紧接2004年1月2日(即该规例开始适用于货柜处理作业之日)之前已在货柜处理作业担任全职安全主任的人士,即使不符合附表三所列资格,仍可根据该规例第5(3)条,于该日之后的十二个月内向劳工处处长提出申请注册。

回到问题

 

问2. 我怎样才可以申请成为注册安全主任?  
答2.

你应提交安全主任注册申请书表格1 (PDF),作为申请注册成为 《工厂及工业经营 (安全主任及安全督导员) 规例》下的安全主任。该表格可直接交往位于九龙九龙湾展贸径1号九龙湾国际展贸中心12楼1227室的注册及职员培训科。详情请参阅《如何申请注册为安全主任》。

回到问题

 

问3. 是否需要为安全主任的注册续期?  
答3.

需要。根据《2001年工厂及工业经营(安全主任及安全督导员)(修订)规例》的规定,安全主任注册的有效期为4年。安全主任须在注册有效期届满前为注册续期,令其继续有效。

回到问题

 

问4. 我在《2001年工厂及工业经营(安全主任及安全督导员)(修订)规例》实施前已注册为安全主任,我的注册是否仍然有效?  
答4.

在《2001年工厂及工业经营(安全主任及安全督导员)(修订)规例》于2002年6月7日实施前已注册的安全主任,会被视为在该日注册并会于该日的4年后届满。因此,你的安全主任注册已于2006年6月7日届满。

回到问题

 

问5. 我怎样可以为我的安全主任注册续期?  
答5.

你可以在你的安全主任注册有效期届满前9个月内,向劳工处处长申请为你的安全主任注册续期。该项申请须以表格6 (PDF)提出。该表格可直接交往位于九龙九龙湾展贸径1号九龙湾国际展贸中心12楼1227室的注册及职员培训科。

回到问题

 

问6. 我怎样可以为我的安全主任注册重新确认生效?
答6.

安全主任的注册如已期满失效,你可向劳工处处长提出申请将该注册重新确认生效。该项申请须以表格6 (PDF) 提出。该表格可直接交往位于九龙九龙湾展贸径1号九龙湾国际展贸中心12楼1227室的注册及职员培训科。

回到问题

 

问7. 安全主任注册的续期或重新确认生效,有没有任何先决条件?  
答7.

有。注册安全主任须令劳工处处长信纳他/她曾在紧接续期或重新确认生效申请前的4年内,已完成总共不少于100小时关于职业安全及健康的专业进修计划,其申请才可获批准。请参阅《工厂及工业经营(安全主任及安全督导员)规例专业进修计划指引》以获取有关指引。

回到问题

 

问8. 注册安全审核员的资格和申请程序为何?  
答8.

要注册为安全审核员的人士须具备《工厂及工业经营(安全管理)规例》(第59AF章) 附表1所列的资格。申请人须以表格1(PDF)提出申请。该表格可直接交往位于九龙九龙湾展贸径1号九龙湾国际展贸中心12楼1227室的注册及职员培训科。

回到问题

 

问9. 哪些机构提供安全审核员的训练计划?  
答9.

劳工处处长已注册了一些计划营办人所提供的安全审核员训练计划。请直接向这些计划营办人查询参加训练计划事宜。

回到问题