CHAPTER 5
Committee on Employment Services


5.1

Introduction
In May 1976, a sub-committee of the Labour Advisory Board was appointed to advise the Commissioner for Labour on matters concerning the operation of the Employment Services Division of the Labour Department (LD). The sub-committee was renamed the Committee on Employment Services (CES) in 1978 and its terms of reference were extended to cover the work of all divisions under the Employment Services Programme of the LD.

   

5.2

Terms of Reference
The committee is established to:

  • advise on the employment services provided by the Labour Department, including those for the able-bodied and people with disabilities, and the careers advisory service for young people;

  • advise on legislative provisions relating to the operation of employment agencies; and

  • advise on legislative provisions relating to the employment of local workers outside Hong Kong.


5.3

Composition
Members of the CES are appointed by the Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour). The composition of the committee for the term 2005-2006 is as follows:

Chairman :   To be appointed from the non-government sector
Members : Two# employer representatives from the Labour Advisory Board
Two# employee representatives from the Labour Advisory Board
Two employer representatives from outside the Labour Advisory Board
Two employee representatives from outside the Labour Advisory Board
A representative nominated by a major employer user of the employment services of the Labour Department
A representative of people with disabilities who make use of the employment services of the Labour Department
Two representatives nominated by two employment agency associations
A representative nominated by the Hong Kong Association of Careers Masters and Guidance Masters
A representative nominated by the Employees Retraining Board
A representative nominated by the Hong Kong Institute of Human Resource Management
A representative from one of the social partners of the Labour Department
A representative from a tertiary educational institution
Assistant Commissioner for Labour (Employment Services)
Secretary : A Labour Officer of the Labour Department

#Only one representative shall be appointed if the chairman has been appointed from this group.

The membership list of the CES for the term 2005-2006 is at Appendix II.
   

5.4

Activities During the 2005-2006 Term
During the 2005-2006 term, the CES offered advice on the following employment services and programmes:

Employment Services

The Employment Services Division provides free employment services to able-bodied job-seekers. The Employment Information and Promotion Division aims at strengthening the promotion of the LD's employment services and the collection of job vacancy information through organising publicity and promotional activities. The Selective Placement Division offers specialised placement service to people with disabilities seeking open employment. The CES gave valuable suggestions on new programmes and improvement measures, including the Work Trial Scheme, Employment Programme for the Middle-aged, Work Orientation and Placement Scheme, the establishment of new job centres and organisation of job fairs, etc.

Youth Pre-employment Training Programme, Youth Work Experience and Training Scheme and Youth Self-employment Support Scheme

The Youth Pre-employment Training Programme was launched in September 1999 to enhance the competitiveness and employability of young school leavers aged 15-19 through pre-employment training. The Youth Work Experience and Training Scheme was launched in July 2002 to provide on-the-job training to young people aged 15-24 with education attainment below degree level. The Youth Self-employment Support Scheme was a pilot scheme launched from May 2004 to September 2005 to train and assist young people aged 18-24 who had motivation, entrepreneurship and innovation to become self-employed. The CES noted the progress of the employment programmes and provided valuable suggestions on their implementation.

Career guidance service

The Careers Advisory Service provides careers information and guidance to secondary school students and young people to facilitate their careers planning through a variety of activities. These activities include a series of special activities for Form Five students upon the release of the HKCEE results, Education & Careers Expo and Careers Quiz. The CES gave valuable suggestions on the activities mentioned above.

Regulation of employment agencies

The Employment Agencies Administration monitors the operation of employment agencies under Part XII of the Employment Ordinance and the Employment Agency Regulations made thereunder. The CES also provided valuable suggestions on measures to protect the interests of job-seekers including foreign domestic helpers making use of the service of employment agencies.

Visits

In November 2005, the CES visited the Chinese Cuisine Training Institute to understand the vocational training offered by the institute. In 2006, the CES visited the Cathay Pacific City, the Science Park and the newly established Job Centre in Yuen Long to gain better understanding of the employment practices and services of various organisations. Committee members were pleased to note the latest services and facilities provided to job-seekers by the Job Centres.

Members visit the Cathay Pacific City.   Members visit the Cathay Pacific City.


Members picture with representatives of the Science Park after the visit.   Members picture with representatives of the Science Park after the visit.

第五章
就業輔導委員會


5.1
引言
勞工顧問委員會在1976年5月成立了一個小組委員會,就勞工處就業科運作的事宜,向勞工處處長提供意見。小組委員會在1978年重新命名為就業輔導委員會,而職權範圍亦擴展至勞工處就業服務綱領下的所有工作。
   

5.2

職權範圍
委員會成立的目的如下:

  • 就勞工處所提供的就業服務,包括為健全及殘疾人士提供的就業服務,以及為青少年提供的擇業輔導服務,提供意見;
  • 就與職業介紹所運作事宜有關的法例條文提供意見;以及
  • 就與受僱於香港以外地方的本港工人的就業事宜有關的法例條文提供意見。


5.3

成員組織
就業輔導委員會的委員由經濟發展及勞工局常任秘書長(勞工)委任。委員會在2005-2006年度的成員組織如下:

主席 :   委任非公職人士擔任
委員 : 勞工顧問委員會僱主代表兩名#
勞工顧問委員會僱員代表兩名#
勞工顧問委員會以外的僱主代表兩名
勞工顧問委員會以外的僱員代表兩名
經常使用勞工處就業服務的主要僱主提名的代表一名
使用勞工處就業服務的殘疾人士的代表一名
兩個職業介紹所協會提名的代表兩名
香港輔導教師協會提名的代表一名
僱員再培訓局提名的代表一名
香港人力資源管理學會提名的代表一名
勞工處社會夥伴的代表一名
專上教育機構的代表一名
勞工處助理處長(就業事務)
秘書 : 由一名勞工處勞工事務主任擔任

#如獲委任為主席的人士來自此組別,則此組別只可有一名代表。

就業輔導委員會在2005-2006年度的成員名單載於附錄II
   

5.4

2005-2006年度的活動
在2005-2006年度,就業輔導委員會曾就以下就業服務及計劃提供意見:

就業服務

就業科為健全求職人士提供免費就業服務,就業資訊及推廣科則旨在透過宣傳及推廣活動,加強推廣勞工處的就業服務和收集職位空缺資料的工作,而展能就業科則專責為尋求公開就業的殘疾人士提供就業服務。委員會對多項新計劃及改善措施,包括「工作試驗計劃」、「中年就業計劃」、「就業展才能計劃」、開設新的就業中心,以及舉辦招聘會等,提供了寶貴的意見。

「展翅計劃」、「青少年見習就業計劃」及「青年自僱支援計劃」

「展翅計劃」於1999年9月推出,目的是透過職前培訓提升15至19歲青年離校生的就業競爭力。「青少年見習就業計劃」於2002年7月推出,旨在為15至24歲、學歷在大學學位程度以下的青少年提供見習就業機會。而「青年自僱支援計劃」是政府在2004年5月至2005年9月期間以試點方式推行的計劃,目的是協助及培訓有志向、富創業精神及具創意的18至24歲青年人成為自僱人士。委員會欣悉就業計劃的進度,並就計劃的實行提供了寶貴的意見。

擇業輔導服務

擇業輔導組透過各類擇業活動,向中學生及青少年提供擇業資料及擇業輔導,以便他們計劃自己將來從事的職業。這些活動包括在會考放榜期間為中五學生籌辦的一系列特別活動、教育及職業博覽,以及擇業常識問答比賽等。委員會對上述活動,均提供了寶貴的意見。

對職業介紹所的規管

職業介紹所事務組根據《僱傭條例》第XII部及該條例下的《職業介紹所規例》的規定,監管職業介紹所的運作。就保障求職者包括外籍家庭傭工在使用職業介紹所服務時應有權益的措施,委員會亦提供了寶貴的意見。

參觀

就業輔導委員會於2005年11月參觀了中華廚藝學院,了解學院提供的職業培訓。在2006年,委員會參觀了國泰城、科學園及新開設的元朗就業中心,以了解不同機構的就業措施及服務。委員會委員欣悉就業中心為求職人士提供的最新服務和設施。

委員會委員參觀國泰城。   委員會委員參觀國泰城。


委員會委員參觀科學園後與代表合照。   委員會委員參觀科學園後與代表合照。