Reimbursement of Maternity Leave Pay Scheme
(RMLP Scheme)

Additional four weeks’ statutory maternity leave (ML)

The Employment (Amendment) Ordinance 2020 (Amendment Ordinance) takes effect on 11 December 2020. The Amendment Ordinance increases ML under the Employment Ordinance (EO) (Cap. 57) by four weeks, which should be taken by the employee continuously after the 10 weeks’ ML, if so entitled. The current rate of statutory maternity leave pay (MLP) (i.e. four-fifths of the employee’s average daily wages) is maintained for calculating the additional statutory MLP in respect of the extension of ML, subject to a cap of $80,000 per employee.

Eligible employees whose confinement occurs on or after 11 December 2020 are entitled to the 14 weeks’ statutory ML.

Seeking reimbursement of the additional four weeks’ statutory MLP

Employers, after payment of 14 weeks’ MLP on the normal pay day, may apply for reimbursement of the 11th to 14th weeks’ MLP payable and paid under EO, subject to a cap of $80,000 per employee.

The Labour Department is working at full steam on the preparatory work for implementing the RMLP Scheme (including a one-stop online portal to facilitate electronic submission of applications by employers), with a view to implementing the RMLP Scheme as soon as practicable in the first half of 2021. Further information on submission of applications by employers will be provided soon.

Employers wishing to apply for reimbursement are required to keep relevant employment records and other related documentsNote of pregnant employees for subsequent submission of applications, including:

  • employers’ payment records of the 14 weeks’ statutory MLP (e.g. salary slips, bank transaction records, etc.);
  • wage records of the 12 months preceding the commencement of ML of pregnant employees; and
  • pregnancy proof provided by employees to employers (e.g. medical certificates specifying the expected dates of confinement, medical certificates or certificates of attendance for medical examinations in relation to pregnancy, etc.).

Note: These documents are required to be kept by employers or to be provided by pregnant employees to employers under EO.

Labour Department
December 2020

發還產假薪酬計劃
(發還計劃)

新增四個星期法定產假

《2020年僱傭(修訂)條例》(《修訂條例》)於2020年12月11日生效。《修訂條例》延長《僱傭條例》(第57章)下的產假四個星期,讓合資格僱員在緊接十個星期的產假之後連續放取;並維持以現時法定產假薪酬的比率(即僱員每日平均工資的五分之四),計算就延長產假須支付的法定產假薪酬,以每名僱員80,000元為上限。

合資格僱員在 2020年12月11日或之後分娩,可享有14個星期的法定產假。

申領發還新增四個星期法定產假薪酬

僱主在正常糧期向僱員支付14個星期法定產假薪酬後,可透過報銷形式申領發還其在《僱傭條例》下須支付及已支付的第11個至第14個星期的產假薪酬,以每名僱員80,000元為上限。

勞工處現正從速進行發還計劃的準備工作(包括為便利僱主以電子方式提交申請的一站式網上平台),以期在2021年上半年盡快推行發還計劃。有關僱主提交申請的詳情,將於稍後提供。

有意申領發還款項的僱主須備存懷孕僱員的僱傭紀錄及相關文件,作隨後申請之用,包括:

  • 僱主支付14個星期法定產假薪酬的紀錄(例如支薪紀錄、銀行轉賬紀錄等);
  • 懷孕僱員在放取法定產假前12個月的工資紀錄;及
  • 僱員曾向僱主提交的懷孕證明(例如載有其預計分娩日期的醫生證明書、進行產前檢查的醫生證明書或到診證明書等)。

註 : 現行《僱傭條例》下僱主須保存的資料或懷孕僱員須向僱主提交的文件。

勞工處
2020年12月