The Occupational Health Service is made up of two Occupational Medicine Divisions and three Occupational Hygiene Divisions. Its main function is to prevent occupational diseases and to promote health at work.

The major work of the divisions include:

  • providing advisory services to the public on health and hygiene aspects of occupational health problems such as prevention of occupational diseases in workplaces
  • conducting field surveys to ensure that the requirements of health and hygiene at workplaces are complied with
  • enforcing legislation relating to occupational health and hygiene
  • investigating and providing treatment to suspected occupational disease cases
  • conducting sick leave clearance interview of employees with compensation claims
  • organising exhibitions and delivering talks to promote the awareness of occupational health