Skip Content

Statutory Holidays for 2022

The 13 statutory holidays for 2022 are:

1. The first day of January 1 January Saturday
2. Lunar New Year’s Day 1 February Tuesday
3. The second day of Lunar New Year 2 February Wednesday
4. The third day of Lunar New Year 3 February Thursday
5. Ching Ming Festival 5 April Tuesday
6. Labour Day 1 May Sunday
7. The Birthday of the Buddha* 8 May Sunday
8. Tuen Ng Festival 3 June Friday
9. Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day 1 July Friday
10. The second day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival 12 September Monday
11. National Day 1 October Saturday
12. Chung Yeung Festival 4 October Tuesday
13. Chinese Winter Solstice Festival or Christmas Day (at the option of the employer) 22 December or 25 December Thursday or Sunday

* The Employment (Amendment) Ordinance 2021 will come into operation on 1 January 2022. The first newly added statutory holiday is the Birthday of the Buddha on 8 May 2022.

Please note:

(i)According to the Employment Ordinance, in the event that the day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival falls on a Sunday, the day thereafter (i.e. the 17th day of the eighth month of the lunar calendar) is designated as a statutory holiday in substitution. As the day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival of 2022 falls on a Sunday, 12 September (Monday) will be designated as a statutory holiday.

(ii)All employees are entitled to the above statutory holidays. If the statutory holiday falls on a rest day, a holiday should be granted on the day following the rest day which is not a statutory holiday or an alternative holiday or a substituted holiday or a rest day. An employee having been employed under a continuous contract for not less than 3 months is entitled to the holiday pay which is equivalent to the daily average wages earned by the employee in the 12-month period preceding the holiday.

Reference example:

An employee is granted rest days on Sundays and his/her employer chooses Christmas Day (25 December) as statutory holiday. As Christmas Day falls on Sunday, the employer should grant a holiday on the next day (i.e. 26 December), but this day should not be a statutory holiday or an alternative holiday or a substituted holiday or a rest day.

Click here for more information on Statutory Holidays

Statutory Holidays for 2015 - 2022