Skip Content

Statutory Holidays for 2020

The 12 statutory holidays for 2020 are:

1. The first day of January 1 January Wednesday
2. Lunar New Year’s Day 25 January Saturday
3. The third day of Lunar New Year 27 January Monday
4. The fourth day of Lunar New Year 28 January Tuesday
5. Ching Ming Festival 4 April Saturday
6. Labour Day 1 May Friday
7. Tuen Ng Festival 25 June Thursday
8. Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day 1 July Wednesday
9. National Day 1 October Thursday
10. The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival 2 October Friday
11. Chung Yeung Festival 25 October Sunday
12. Chinese Winter Solstice Festival or Christmas Day (at the option of the employer) 21 December or 25 December Monday
Friday

Please note:

(i)According to the Employment Ordinance, when either Lunar New Year's Day, the second day of the Lunar New Year or the third day of the Lunar New Year falls on a Sunday, the fourth day of the Lunar New Year is designated as a statutory holiday in substitution; and in the event that the day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival falls on a Sunday, the day thereafter (i.e. the 17th day of the eighth month of the lunar calendar) is designated as a statutory holiday in substitution. As the second day of Lunar New Year of 2020 falls on a Sunday, the fourth day of Lunar New Year will be designated as a statutory holiday.

(ii)All employees are entitled to the above statutory holidays. If the statutory holiday falls on a rest day, a holiday should be granted on the day following the rest day which is not a statutory holiday or an alternative holiday or a substituted holiday or a rest day. An employee having been employed under a continuous contract for not less than 3 months is entitled to the holiday pay which is equivalent to the daily average wages earned by the employee in the 12-month period preceding the holiday.

Reference example:

An employee is granted rest days on Sundays. As the Chung Yeung Festival (25 October) falls on Sunday, the employer should grant a holiday on the next day (i.e. 26 October), but this day should not be a statutory holiday or an alternative holiday or a substituted holiday or a rest day.

Click here for more information on Statutory Holidays

Statutory Holidays for 2015 - 2022