Skip to content

Statutory Holidays for 2019

The 12 statutory holidays for 2019 are:

1. The first day of January 1 January Tuesday
2. Lunar New Year’s Day 5 February Tuesday
3. The third day of Lunar New Year 6 February Wednesday
4. The fourth day of Lunar New Year 7 February Thursday
5. Ching Ming Festival 5 April Friday
6. Labour Day 1 May Wednesday
7. Tuen Ng Festival 7 June Friday
8. Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day 1 July Monday
9. The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival 14 September Saturday
10. National Day 1 October Tuesday
11. Chung Yeung Festival 7 October Monday
12. Chinese Winter Solstice Festival or Christmas Day (at the option of the employer) 22 December or 25 December Sunday
Wednesday

Please note:

All employees are entitled to the above statutory holidays. If the statutory holiday falls on a rest day, a holiday should be granted on the day following the rest day which is not a statutory holiday or an alternative holiday or a substituted holiday or a rest day. An employee having been employed under a continuous contract for not less than 3 months is entitled to the holiday pay which is equivalent to the daily average wages earned by the employee in the 12-month period preceding the holiday.

Reference example:

An employee is granted rest days on Sundays and his/ her employer chooses the Chinese Winter Solstice Festival (22 December) as statutory holiday. As the Chinese Winter Solstice Festival falls on Sunday, the employer should grant a holiday on the next day (i.e. 23 December), but this day should not be a statutory holiday or an alternative holiday or a substituted holiday or a rest day.

Click here for more information on Statutory Holidays

Statutory Holidays for 2015 - 2022