Statutory Holidays for 2015

The statutory holidays for 2015 are:

  1. The first day of January (1 January)
  2. Lunar New Year's Day (19 February)
  3. The second day of Lunar New Year (20 February)
  4. The third day of Lunar New Year (21 February)
  5. Ching Ming Festival (5 April)
  6. Labour Day (1 May)
  7. Tuen Ng Festival (20 June)
  8. Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day (1 July)
  9. The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival (28 September)
  10. National Day (1 October)
  11. Chung Yeung Festival (21 October)
  12. Chinese Winter Solstice Festival (22 December) or Christmas Day (25 December) (at the option of the employer)

The Government has, by legislation, designated 3 September 2015, The 70th anniversary day of the victory of the Chinese people’s war of resistance against Japanese aggression, on a one-off basis as an additional Statutory Holiday and General Holiday for 2015.

All employees are entitled to the above statutory holidays. If the statutory holiday falls on a rest day, a holiday should be granted on the day following the rest day which is not a statutory holiday or an alternative holiday or a substituted holiday or a rest day. An employee having been employed under a continuous contract for not less than 3 months is entitled to the holiday pay which is equivalent to the daily average wages earned by the employee in the 12-month period preceding the holiday.

Click here for more information on Statutory Holidays

Statutory Holidays for 2014 - 2021