A Guide to the Factories and Industrial Undertakings 
(Safety Management) Regulation

1. Introduction

In 1995, the Government published a Consultation Paper on the Review of the Industrial Safety in Hong Kong which among other things, recommended the Government to change its strategy on industrial safety from focusing on enforcement to promoting safety management.  The Review reaffirmed that "the primary responsibility of safety at work rests with those who create the risks and those who work with such risks, i.e. the proprietors and the workers".  The ultimate goal, which is also the key to attaining long-term improvements in safety standards, is self-regulation by the proprietors and their workforce.  In this respect, the Government should provide a legislative framework within which self-regulation is to be achieved through a company system of safety management.

The Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Management) Regulation* (the Regulation) is to implement the above recommendation in the Consultation Paper.  It requires proprietors and contractors covered by the Regulation to implement a safety management system applicable to Hong Kong, which consists of 14 elements.  Besides the adoption of the safety management system, the proprietors and contractors are also required to carry out safety audits or safety reviews of their safety management systems. 

This guide outlines the major provisions of the Regulation.  It enables proprietors and contractors to have a better understanding of their responsibilities under the Regulation.  While this guide explains provisions of the Regulation in simple terms, the Regulation itself remains to be the sole authority of the legal requirements.
 


The Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Safety Management) Regulation was approved by the Legislative Council on 24 November 1999.  It will come into operation after approval on a day to be appointed by the Commissioner for Labour by notice in the Gazette.
Contents
1. Introduction
2. Duty of proprietor and contractor
3. Duty of registered safety auditor, safety review officer and scheme operator 
4. Penalty
5. Related occupational safety and health publications published by the Labour Department 
6. Useful information
Appendix

工厂及工业经营(安全管理)规例指南

1. 引言

政府在1995年发表了《香港工业安全检讨谘询文件》。该检讨建议政府改变工业安全策略,由着重采取执法行动改为致力推广安全管理。该检讨重申,确保工作安全的主要责任,应由造成危险和在危险情况下工作的人士,即东主和工人承担,其最终目的是使东主和其工人能够自我规管,而这也是能否长远改善安全标准的关键。就此,政府应设立法律规范,使东主和工人能够透过公司的安全管理制度,进行自我规管。

当局制定《工厂及工业经营(安全管理)规例》*(下称该规例),旨在落实上述谘询文件的建议。在该规例下,东主和承建商须实施一个包含14项元素及适用于香港情况的安全管理制度。东主和承建商除了须制定安全管理制度外,亦须对其安全管理制度进行安全审核或安全查核。

本指南概述该规例的主要条文,让东主和承建商更了解在该规例下他们的责任。本指南旨在以简单文字解释该规例的条文,而有关的法律规定仍以该规例原文为准。


* 法会已于1999年11月24日通过《工厂及工业经营(安全管理)规例》。该规例将于劳工处处长以刊登宪报公告方式指定的日期开始生效。

 
[目录 [1. 引言]
[2. 东主及承建商的责任 [3. 注册安全审核员、安全查核员及计划营办人的责任]
[4. 罚则] [5. 劳工处出版的相关职安健刊物]
[6. 资料查询] [附录]