WORKING HOLIDAY SCHEME

To provide an opportunity for young people in Hong Kong to gain first-hand experience living and working in a foreign culture and widen their horizons, the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) has established bilateral Working Holiday Scheme (the Scheme) with the Government of New Zealand, Australia, Ireland, Germany, Japan, Canada, Korea, France, the United Kingdom, Austria, Hungary, Sweden and the Netherlands respectively. Apart from facilitating cultural exchanges between Hong Kong and our partner economies, the Scheme also enhances bilateral cooperation and promotes tourism and development between the two places.

Under the Scheme, participants may stay in the host economy for an extended period. They are also allowed to take up short-term employment as an incidental aspect of their stay, or even enrol in short-term course(s) (except Ireland) so as to acquire a better understanding of the cultural and social developments of the host economy. The Scheme aims to enable young people to gain invaluable experience while holidaying and working abroad, which would help strengthen their self-confidence, resilience and inter-personal skills.

According to the bilateral arrangements, each side may provide a fixed annual quota for eligible applicants of the other side.

For detailed eligibility criteria of individual working holiday scheme, please refer to the Working Holiday Scheme website and updates from the respective host Governments and Consulates. Hong Kong applicants may approach the relevant Consulates for application forms and enquiries about details of the Scheme. Applicants are reminded that the eligibility criteria, and terms and conditions of individual working holiday scheme are subject to review and change by the host Government without prior notice. Applicants are advised to check with the Consulate before application.

Working Holiday Scheme participants are reminded to take out appropriate insurance policies and plan ahead before departure. They must stay vigilant while travelling abroad, always observe local laws and be cautious in dealing with the terms and conditions laid down in employment contracts to protect themselves. In case of accidents or serious incidents during their stay in the partner economies, they should immediately approach the local government authorities for assistance. They may also approach the local Chinese Embassy or Consulate, or call the 24-hour hotline of the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit of the Immigration Department on (852) 1868.

While Hong Kong youths can go overseas for working holiday, youths of our partner economies can also come to Hong Kong for holidaying under the Scheme by applying to the respective Chinese Embassies or Consulates-General, and the Immigration Department of the HKSAR.

Enquiries
Working Holiday Scheme
Website: http://www.whs.gov.hk

Details of the Certificate of Sponsorship (CoS) under the Youth Mobility Scheme of the United Kingdom and its registration are provided here.

工作假期计划

为提供本港青年人亲身在外地生活及工作经验的机会和扩阔其视野,香港特别行政区政府与新西兰、澳洲、爱尔兰、德国、日本、加拿大、韩国、法国、英国、奥地利、匈牙利、瑞典、荷兰及意大利政府分别签订工作假期计划的双边安排协议。此计划除了可增强本港与伙伴经济体系的文化交流,亦可提升双边合作以及推动双方的旅游业与发展。

在工作假期计划下,参加者可在东道经济体系逗留一段长时间。参加者并可在逗留期间从事短期工作,及/或修读短期课程(爱尔兰除外),从而了解当地的文化及社会发展。本计划旨在让青年人透过在外地旅游和工作,以获取宝贵的人生经验,从而加强其自信心、适应能力以及人际沟通技巧。

按照双方协定,每个经济体系每年或会提供一定的名额,供合资格人士申请。

有关个别工作假期计划的详细申请资格,请参阅工作假期计划网站相关政府及领事馆的更新。香港申请人可向有关领事馆索取报名表格及查询计划详情。参加者须注意,个别工作假期计划的申请资格、条款及细则或会被相关政府适时检讨及更改,而不作事先通知,参加者宜在申请前先向领事馆查询有关详情。

本处提醒工作假期参加者应在出发前为旅程投购合适保险及做好规划。在外地旅游时必须提高警觉,时刻遵守当地法律及小心了解当地雇佣合约的条款等,以保障自己。若参与者在伙伴经济体系逗留期间遇上意外或严重事故,应立即联络当地政府部门寻求协助;他们也可联络驻当地的中国大使馆或领事馆,或致电香港入境事务处「协助在外香港居民小组」二十四小时求助热线(852)1868。

本港青年人可以透过工作假期计划前赴海外,同样地,伙伴经济体系的青年人亦可向有关的中国大使馆或总领事馆,以及香港入境事务处递交申请,透过工作假期计划来港。

查询
工作假期计划
网址:http://www.whs.gov.hk