Back to Home  

Chapter 3
Labour Relations

The Programme of Labour Relations
www.labour.gov.hk/eng/labour/content.htm
 
3.1 In Hong Kong, employer and employee relations are largely premised on the stipulations of various pieces of labour laws, and the terms and conditions of employment agreed and entered into between the two parties. Employers and employees are free to form trade unions and participate in union activities. The objective of the Labour Relations Programme is to maintain and promote harmonious labour relations in establishments outside the government sector. We achieve this by:
giving advice on matters relating to conditions of employment, requirements of relevant labour legislation, and good people management practices;
providing voluntary conciliation service to help employers and employees resolve their employment claims and disputes;
promoting understanding of labour laws and encouraging good people management practices;
adjudicating minor employment claims speedily through the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board (MECAB); and
registering trade unions and their rules, organising courses and conducting visits to trade unions to bring about sound and responsible trade union administration.
 
3.2 The principal legislation administered by this programme area includes the Employment Ordinance (EO), the Minimum Wage Ordinance (MWO), the Labour Relations Ordinance (LRO), the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board Ordinance (MECABO) and the Trade Unions Ordinance (TUO).
 
3.3 EO sets the basic standard on the conditions of employment that establishments outside the government sector have to meet. MWO establishes a Statutory Minimum Wage regime. The procedures for settling labour disputes in establishments outside the government sector are provided for in LRO. MECABO establishes the machinery known as MECAB to adjudicate minor employment claims when settlement cannot be achieved by conciliation. For the regulation of trade unions, TUO provides a statutory framework for trade union registration and administration.
 
Our Work and Achievements in 2016
Key indicators of Work
3.4 Some key indicators of work of the Labour Relations Programme Area were contained in Figure 3.1.
 
Conciliation and Consultation Services
3.5 Our consultation and conciliation services are conducive to the sound record of industrial relations in Hong Kong. In 2016, the labour relations scene remained generally stable. We held 63 268 consultation meetings, and handled 14 672 claims and 55 labour disputes in the year. Over 70% of cases with conciliation service rendered were settled in the year. In 2016, the Labour Department (LD) handled three strikes. The average number of working days lost due to strike per thousand salaried employees and wage earners was 0.05, which was among the lowest in the world. (Figures 3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 3.5, 3.6 and 3.7)
 
Strengthening Tripartite Co-operation
3.6 LD runs nine industry-based tripartite committees, covering catering, cement and concrete, construction, hotel and tourism, logistics, printing, property management, retail and theatre industries, to promote tripartite dialogue and collaboration at the industry level with a view to fostering harmonious labour relations among employers, employees and the government. These tripartite committees provide effective forums for members to discuss issues of common concern to their industries. Employment related matters such as good people management, family-friendly employment practices, measures to tackle the decline in labour force as well as latest development of Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes were deliberated in the year. We also arranged an organisation visit cum sharing session for representatives of employers’ associations, employers and trade unions of various industries to enhance communication and understanding among the parties concerned.
 
Promotion of Good Employer-Employee Relations
3.7 To enhance public understanding of EO and to promote good people management measures, we organised various promotional activities and published free publications covering different themes for employers, employees, human resources professionals and the public. Relevant information was also disseminated through LD’s homepage and the media. In the year, six roving exhibitions on EO, good people management and family-friendly employment practices were organised over the territory. There was a set of television and radio Announcements in the Public Interest to encourage employers to help employees achieve balance between work and family life. Furthermore, we widely publicised messages on good people management as well as statutory employees’ rights and protection through extensive network of employers’ associations and trade unions.
 
3.8 We organised a number of experience-sharing sessions and briefings and published newsletters regularly for members of 18 human resources managers’ clubs established in different trades to promote good people management measures. We also published newspaper articles and comic strips, broadcasted radio promotional messages and placed advertisements in public transport network and periodic journals of major employers’ associations and trade union federations, etc. to encourage adoption of “employee-oriented” employment practices and cultivate a family-friendly working environment. In the year, we published newspaper supplement on successful experiences of implementing good people management as well as family-friendly employment practices.
 
Publications and publicity materials promoting the Employment Ordinance and good people management practices
Publications and publicity materials promoting the Employment Ordinance and good people management practices
 
Adjudication of Minor Employment Claims
3.9 MECAB provides a speedy, informal and inexpensive adjudication service to members of the public. It is empowered to determine employment claims involving not more than 10 claimants for a sum not exceeding $8,000 per claimant.
3.10 In 2016, MECAB recorded 900 claims amounting to $3,889,888 and concluded 923 claims with a total award of $2,155,488.
 
Administration of Trade Unions
3.11 The Registry of Trade Unions (RTU) is responsible for administering TUO and Trade Union Registration Regulations. Its major areas of work include registering trade unions and their rules, examining trade unions’ annual statements of account and any other returns required by the law to be furnished to RTU, organising courses on trade union legislation and fundamental trade union account management for trade unions and conducting visits to trade unions to facilitate trade unions to manage union affairs in accordance with the law and their respective rules.
 
3.12 In 2016, eight new trade unions were registered, making up a cumulative total of 890 trade unions (comprising 828 employee unions, 15 employers’ associations, 36 mixed organisations of employees and employers and 11 trade union federations) registered under TUO. Please refer to the following webpage for the key trade union statistics: www.labour.gov.hk/eng/labour/content3.htm.
 
3.13 In the year, RTU examined 783 annual statements of account and conducted 361 visits to trade unions with a view to promoting sound and responsible trade union administration. To facilitate trade union officers in acquiring knowledge of union legislation and management, RTU organised four courses on trade union bookkeeping and trade union management and legislation.

返回首頁

第三章
勞資關係

勞資關係綱領
www.labour.gov.hk/tc/labour/content.htm
 
3.1 在香港,僱主與僱員的關係主要是由不同勞工法例下的條文及勞資雙方議定的僱傭條款及條件所規範。僱主和僱員可自由組織職工會及參加職工會活動。勞資關係綱領的宗旨,是維繫並促進政府以外機構的勞資和諧。我們透過以下方式達致這個目標:
就有關僱傭條件、相關的勞工法例規定、良好人事管理措施等事宜提供意見;
提供自願性質的調停服務,協助僱主和僱員解決申索聲請和勞資糾紛;
提高公眾對勞工法例的認識,並鼓勵僱主採取良好人事管理措施;
透過小額薪酬索償仲裁處迅速仲裁小額薪酬申索聲請;以及
為職工會及其規則進行登記,並透過舉辦課程和探訪職工會,促進健全及負責任的職工會管理。
 
3.2 勞工處在這綱領下執行的主要法例,包括《僱傭條例》、《最低工資條例》、《勞資關係條例》、《小額薪酬索償仲裁處條例》及《職工會條例》。
 
3.3 《僱傭條例》訂定了政府以外機構在僱傭條件方面,必須達到的基準。《最低工資條例》確立了法定最低工資制度。《勞資關係條例》訂定了解決政府以外機構的勞資糾紛的程序,而《小額薪酬索償仲裁處條例》則確立了一個名為小額薪酬索償仲裁處的機制,仲裁未能以調停方式解決的小額薪酬索償個案。在規管職工會方面,《職工會條例》為職工會的登記及管理提供了法定架構。
 
二零一六年的工作概況和成績
主要的工作表現指標
3.4 本綱領的主要工作表現指標載於圖三.一
 
調停及諮詢服務
3.5 勞工處的諮詢及調停服務有助維持香港一貫融洽的勞資關係。在二零一六年,勞資關係大致維持平穩。我們共進行63 268次諮詢面談,並處理14 672宗申索聲請及55宗勞資糾紛。超過七成經調停的個案獲得解決。年內,勞工處共處理了三宗罷工個案。以每千名受薪僱員計算,香港平均損失0.05個工作天,是全球因罷工損失工作天最少的地方之一。(圖三.二圖三.三圖三.四圖三.五圖三.六圖三.七
 
加強三方合作
3.6 為推廣行業層面的三方對話及合作以促進勞資和諧,勞工處成立了九個由僱主、僱員及政府代表組成的行業性三方小組,涵蓋飲食、水泥及混凝土、建造、酒店及旅遊、物流、印刷、物業管理、零售和戲院行業,藉以提供有效的平台,讓成員討論業內共同關注的事宜。年內,三方小組討論的議題,包括良好人事管理、家庭友善僱傭措施、勞動人口下降的應對措施,以及「強制性公積金計劃」的最新發展等與僱傭相關的事項。我們又為多個行業的僱主組織、僱主及工會代表舉辦機構探訪暨分享會,藉此促進各方之間的溝通和了解。
 
推廣良好的勞資關係
3.7 為了提高公眾人士對《僱傭條例》的認識及推廣良好人事管理措施,勞工處為僱主、僱員、人力資源管理專業人員和市民大眾舉辦多項推廣活動及出版不同主題的免費刊物,並透過勞工處的網頁及傳播媒介發放有關資訊。年內,我們於全港不同地區舉行了六次巡迴展覽,向市民大眾推廣《僱傭條例》、良好人事管理及家庭友善僱傭措施;以及製作電視及電台政府宣傳信息,鼓勵僱主協助僱員平衡工作與家庭生活。此外,我們亦透過商會及工會的龐大網絡,廣泛地向僱主及僱員傳遞有關良好人事管理及法定僱員權益與保障的信息。
 
3.8 我們定期為18個不同行業的人力資源經理會會員舉辦經驗分享會及簡介會和編製會訊,以推廣良好人事管理措施。我們亦於報章刊登特稿及漫畫信息、在電台播放宣傳資訊,以及在公共交通網絡及主要商會和職工會聯會的期刊刊登廣告等,鼓勵僱主採納「以僱員為本」的僱傭措施,並締造家庭友善的工作環境。年內,我們推出了實施良好人事管理及家庭友善僱傭措施成功經驗的報章專輯。
 
推廣《僱傭條例》及良好人事管理措施的刊物及宣傳品
推廣《僱傭條例》及良好人事管理措施的刊物及宣傳品
 
小額薪酬申索聲請的仲裁
3.9 小額薪酬索償仲裁處為市民提供快捷、不拘形式及廉宜的仲裁服務。仲裁處獲授權裁決申索人數目不超過十名、每人申索的款額不超過8,000元的僱傭申索個案。
 
3.10 在二零一六年,在仲裁處登記的申索個案有900宗,申索款額共3,889,888元。年內共審結923宗申索個案,裁定的款額共2,155,488元。
 
職工會的管理
3.11 職工會登記局負責執行《職工會條例》及《職工會登記規例》,主要工作包括為職工會及其規則登記、查閱職工會的周年帳表及其他根據法例須向職工會登記局遞交的報表、為職工會舉辦有關職工會法例和基礎帳目管理的課程、以及探訪職工會,以促使職工會依據法例及其組織規則管理會務。
 
3.12 在二零一六年,職工會登記局登記了八個新職工會。整體而言,根據《職工會條例》登記的職工會有890個(包括828個僱員工會、15個僱主工會、36個僱員僱主混合工會及11個職工會聯會)。主要的職工會統計數字載於網頁:www.labour.gov.hk/tc/labour/content3.htm
 
3.13 為推廣健全及負責任的職工會管理,在二零一六年,職工會登記局查閱了783份職工會周年帳表,並探訪不同的職工會共361次。此外,職工會登記局舉辦了四個有關職工會簿記及職工會管理及法例的課程,以協助職工會理事掌握有關職工會法例及管理的知識。