CHAPTER 7: International Labour Affairs
 

International Instruments Setting Out Labour Standards

7.1

International Labour Conventions set by the International Labour Organisation (ILO) prescribe relevant labour standards for member states. As at year-end, 41 international labour Conventions were applied to the HKSAR, with or without modification (Figure 7.1), notwithstanding that Hong Kong is not a sovereign entity and not an ILO member. Other international instruments, including the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, also touch on labour standards, albeit to a much smaller extent.

 

| go to top |

 
7.2 A comprehensive set of labour legislation and administrative measures are in place in the HKSAR to enable the Government to implement internationally accepted labour standards. Through continuous improvements to labour legislation and administrative measures, the HKSAR maintains a level of labour standards broadly equivalent to those of neighbouring countries with similar economic development as well as social and cultural background.
 

| go to top |

 

Participation in the Activities of the ILO

7.3

The HKSAR may participate in the activities of the ILO, either as part of the delegation of the People’s Republic of China or, for activities which are not limited to states, on its own using the name “Hong Kong, China”.

 

| go to top |

 
7.4

In 2009, the Labour Department continued to participate actively in activities organised by the ILO to keep abreast of the latest development of international labour matters. In the year, representatives from the HKSAR participated in the 98th Session of the International Labour Conference held in Geneva, and a training workshop on labour migration policy and management in Pattaya organised by the ILO Subregional Office for East Asia and the Ministry of Labour of Thailand. (Figure 7.2)

 

| go to top |

 

Contacts with Other Labour Administrations

7.5 Delegations of labour administrators from the Mainland and overseas countries visited the Labour Department in the year. The department also sent study missions to different provinces in the Mainland and overseas countries such as Australia and Singapore. Apart from strengthening mutual cooperation, these visits provided opportunities for representatives of the department to exchange views and experience with its counterparts on various labour issues.

第七章  國際勞工事務
 

國際勞工標準的實施

7.1

國際勞工組織所制定的國際勞工公約為成員國訂立勞工標準。雖然香港不是一個國家,也不是國際勞工組織的成員,截至年底,經修改或毋須修改而適用於香港特區的國際勞工公約共有41條,有關公約載列於圖七‧一。其他國際條約,包括《經濟、社會與文化權利的國際公約》及《公民權利和政治權利國際公約》,也有觸及勞工標準,然而其涵蓋範圍遠較國際勞工公約的為少。

 

| 返回頁首 |

 
7.2 香港特區備有完整的勞工法例及行政措施,以落實國際公認的勞工標準。通過不斷改善勞工法例及行政措施,香港特區實施的勞工標準,與經濟發展、社會及文化背景相若的鄰近國家大致看齊。
 

| 返回頁首 |

 

參與國際勞工組織活動

7.3

香港特區能以中華人民共和國代表團成員的身分,參與國際勞工組織的活動,或以「中國香港」名義自行參與不限於國家才可參加的活動。

 

| 返回頁首 |

 
7.4

在二零零九年,勞工處繼續積極參與國際勞工組織舉辦的活動,以了解國際勞工事務的最新發展。年內,香港特區代表出席在日內瓦舉行的第98屆國際勞工大會,以及由國際勞工組織東亞次地區局和泰國勞工部在芭堤雅舉辦有關泰國移民勞工政策及管理的訓練工作坊。有關活動載列於 圖七‧二

 

| 返回頁首 |

 

與其他勞工事務行政機關的聯繫

7.5 年內,曾有來自內地及海外的勞工事務行政機關代表團到訪勞工處,而勞工處亦派遣多個代表團到內地不同省市及海外多個國家考察,包括澳洲和新加坡。這些訪問不但加強雙方的合作,亦使本處代表有機會與內地及海外勞工事務行政人員就多項勞工問題交換意見和分享經驗。