Chapter 3 Labour Relations
The Programme of Labour Relations
           (www.labour.gov.hk/eng/labour/content.htm)

3.1 In Hong Kong, employer and employee relations are largely premised on the freely negotiated terms and conditions of employment entered into between the two parties. Employers and employees in Hong Kong are free to form trade unions and participate in union activities. The objective of the Labour Relations Programme is to maintain and promote harmonious labour relations in the non-government sector. We achieve this by:
  • giving advice on matters relating to conditions of employment, provisions of the Employment Ordinance and good people management practices;
  • providing voluntary conciliation service to help employers and employees resolve their employment claims and disputes;
  • promoting understanding of labour laws and encouraging good labour management practices;
  • adjudicating minor employment claims speedily through the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board; and
  • registering and regulating trade unions to bring about sound and responsible trade union administration.
  go to top
   
3.2 The principal legislation administered by this programme area includes the Employment Ordinance (EO), the Labour Relations Ordinance (LRO), the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board Ordinance (MECABO) and the Trade Unions Ordinance (TUO).
  go to top
   
3.3 With the provision of a comprehensive set of employment standards, the EO is the main piece of legislation governing conditions of employment in the non-government sector. The procedures for settling labour disputes in the non-government sector are provided for in the LRO. The MECABO establishes a machinery known as the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board (MECAB) to adjudicate minor employment claims when settlement cannot be achieved by conciliation. For the regulation of trade unions, the TUO provides a statutory framework for trade union registration and administration.
  go to top
   
Our Work and Achievements in 2007
Key Indicators of Work
3.4 Some key indicators of work of the Labour Relations Programme Area are contained in Figure 3.1.
  go to top
   
Amendments to the Employment Ordinance
3.5 In 2007, the EO was amended to adopt a new mode of calculation to ensure that all components of wages as defined under the EO, including contractual commission, were included in the calculation of relevant statutory entitlements.
  go to top
   
Conciliation and Consultation Services
3.6 Our consultation and conciliation services have contributed to the maintenance of industrial peace. In 2007, we handled 85 168 in-person consultations, 124 labour disputes and 21 698 claims. The number of labour disputes and claims handled in 2007 was down by 13 per cent compared with the figure of 25 157 cases in 2006. It was the lowest since 1998. Altogether 71.7 per cent of the cases handled in 2007 were resolved amicably through conciliation, the highest settlement rate since 1994. Three strikes were recorded in 2007. As a result, the number of working days lost per thousand salaried employees and wage earners was 2.62. Though the number of working days lost is higher as compared with previous years due to the strike by bar-benders in the year, the figure is still among the lowest in the world. (Figures 3.2 - 3.7)
  go to top
   
Proactive Efforts to Combat Wage Defaults
3.7 In 2007, the Labour Department maintained its proactive strategy to tackle the problem of non-payment of wages at source. In addition to enhancing publicity and promotion, and stepping up enforcement and prosecution, we made use of the early warning system set up in collaboration with trade unions to gather intelligence on non-payment of wages. The exercise codenamed Operation COMBAT continued to proactively forestall problematic restaurants from evading their liabilities to pay wages and achieved notable results.
  go to top
   
Strengthening Tripartite Co-operation
3.8 To promote tripartite collaboration at the industry level with a view to fostering harmonious labour relations, nine industry-based tripartite committees have been set up in the catering, construction, theatre, logistics, property management, printing, hotel and tourism, cement and concrete as well as retail industries. These tripartite committees provide useful forums for representatives of employers, employees and the Government to discuss issues of common concern in the industries.
  go to top
   
Promotion of Good Employer-Employee Relations
3.9 To promote better public understanding of the EO and good labour management practices, we organised various promotional activities such as seminars, talks and roving exhibitions for employers, employees, human resources professionals and members of the public. A wide range of publications were produced for free distribution to the public, including a booklet introducing in simple terms selected court cases under the EO together with advice on good people management. In connection with the implementation of the Employment (Amendment) Ordinance 2007 (E(A)O), a series of promotional activities were carried out to help various stakeholders understand the provisions. A guide was produced to set out major changes under the E(A)O. Besides, a new booklet with sample wage and employment records was published to help employers comply with the record keeping requirements. Both publications were widely distributed and uploaded onto the department's website for public viewing. Moreover, 55 briefings on the E(A)O were organised for employers, employees, human resources practitioners, trade unions officials, officers of non-governmental organisations and professional bodies. Over 5 500 participants were recorded.
 
Roving exhibitions organised to promote better public understanding of the Employment Ordinance and good people management practices.
Roving exhibitions organised to promote better public understanding of the Employment Ordinance and good people management practices.
  go to top
   
3.10 We organised experience-sharing sessions and briefings for human resources practitioners through our network of 18 Human Resources Managers' Clubs.
  go to top
   
Adjudication of Minor Employment Claims
3.11 The Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board provides a speedy, informal and inexpensive adjudication service to members of the public. It is empowered to determine employment claims involving not more than 10 claimants for a sum not exceeding $8,000 per claimant.
  go to top
   
3.12 In 2007, the board recorded 2 142 claims amounting to $8,644,084 and concluded 2 276 claims with a total award of $4,789,350.
  go to top
   
Regulation of Trade Unions
3.13 The Registry of Trade Unions is responsible for the promotion of sound and responsible trade union administration, and is entrusted with the statutory duty to register trade unions, process and register their rules, and examine their annual audited statements of account to ensure that trade unions comply with the TUO.
  go to top
   
3.14 In 2007, 18 new trade unions were registered, making up a cumulative total of three registered trade union federations and 775 registered trade unions (comprising 731 employee unions, 21 employer unions and 23 mixed organisations of employees and employers). Please refer to the following webpage for the key trade union statistics: www.labour.gov.hk/eng/labour/content3.htm
  go to top
   
3.15 In the year, the Registry of Trade Unions examined 676 statements of account and conducted 370 inspection visits to trade unions to ensure that their administration and financial management were in compliance with the TUO. To facilitate trade union officers in acquiring knowledge of union law and management, the Registry organised three courses on trade union bookkeeping, auditing and provisions of the TUO.

第三章 勞資關係
勞資關係綱領
         (www.labour.gov.hk/tc/labour/content.htm)

3.1 在香港,僱主與僱員的關係主要是建基於勞資雙方自行議定的僱傭條款及條件。本港的僱主和僱員可自由組織職工會及參加職工會活動。勞資關係綱領的宗旨,是維繫並促進非政府機構和諧的勞資關係。我們透過以下方式達致這個目標:
  • 就有關僱傭條件、《僱傭條例》條文、良好人事管理措施等事宜提供意見;
  • 提供自願性質的調解服務,協助僱主和僱員解決申索聲請和勞資糾紛;
  • 提高公眾對勞工法例的認識,並鼓勵僱主採取良好的勞資管理措施;
  • 透過小額薪酬索償仲裁處迅速仲裁小額薪酬申索聲請;以及
  • 為職工會進行登記及作出規管,以促進完善及負責任的職工會管理。
  返回頁首
   
3.2 勞工處在這綱領下執行的主要法例,包括《僱傭條例》、《勞資關係條例》、《小額薪酬索償仲裁處條例》及《職工會條例》。
  返回頁首
   
3.3 《僱傭條例》提供一套僱傭標準,其覆蓋範圍廣泛,是規管非政府機構的僱傭條件的主要法例。《勞資關係條例》訂定了調解非政府機構的勞資糾紛的程序,而《小額薪酬索償仲裁處條例》則確立了一個名為小額薪酬索償仲裁處的機制,就未能以調解方式解決的小額薪酬索償個案進行仲裁。在規管職工會方面,《職工會條例》為職工會的登記及管理提供了法定架構。
  返回頁首
   
二零零七年的工作概況和成績
主要的工作表現指標
3.4 本綱領的主要工作表現指標載於圖三‧一
  返回頁首
   
修訂《僱傭條例》
3.5 在二零零七年,政府修訂了《僱傭條例》,採用新的計算方法,以確保《僱傭條例》界定為工資的所有組成部分,包括根據合約需要支付的佣金,均被納入在有關法定權益的計算之內。
  返回頁首
   
調解及諮詢服務
3.6 勞工處的諮詢及調解服務有助勞資雙方維持和諧的關係。年內,我們共處理85 168宗市民親身到本處諮詢的個案、124宗勞資糾紛及21 698宗申索聲請。我們於二零零七年處理的勞資糾紛和申索個案比二零零六年的25 157宗減少了13%,是自一九九八年以來的最低數字。經調解而獲圓滿解決個案的比率為71.7%,是為一九九四年以來最高的調解成功率。年內,勞工處錄得三宗罷工個案,在每1 000名受薪僱員中,因勞資糾紛而損失的工作天平均有2.62日。雖然在年內發生的一宗紮鐵工人罷工糾紛,使工作日數的損失高於往年,但香港的數字仍是全球最低之一。(圖三‧二 至 圖三‧七)
  返回頁首
   
致力打擊違例欠薪
3.7 在二零零七年,勞工處繼續以積極進取的策略,從源頭解決欠薪的問題。除了加強宣傳和推廣工作,以及加強執法和檢控外,我們利用與工會建立的預警機制,收集有關拖欠工資的情報。我們亦繼續透過「堅壁行動」,以「提早介入,主動出擊」的策略,積極防範有問題的食肆僱主逃避支付工資的責任。有關行動的成效顯著。
  返回頁首
   
加強三方合作
3.8 為了推廣行業層面的三方合作以促進和諧的勞資關係,我們在飲食業、建造業、戲院業、物流業、物業管理業、印刷業、酒店及旅遊業、水泥及混凝土業,以及零售業共九個行業,均設有三方小組。這些三方小組為僱主、僱員及政府代表提供有效的途徑,讓他們商討業內共同關注的問題。
  返回頁首
   
推廣良好的勞資關係
3.9 為了提高公眾人士對《僱傭條例》和良好人事管理的認識,勞工處為僱主、僱員、人力資源管理專業人士和市民大眾舉辦多項推廣活動,包括研討會、講座及巡迴展覽。我們亦出版多類型的刊物,免費派發給市民,其中包括一本法庭個案選輯,以淺白易明的文字介紹與《僱傭條例》有關的個案及建議一些良好人事管理措施。為配合《2007年僱傭(修訂)條例》(下稱「修訂條例」)的實施,我們推行了一連串宣傳工作,包括製作指南簡述修訂條例的主要條文,以協助不同持份者了解有關條文。此外,我們亦印製了新的小冊子,提供紀錄樣本,以協助僱主遵守有關備存工資及僱傭紀錄的法定要求。兩份刊物均已廣為派發,並上載至勞工處的網頁供大眾瀏覽。另外,我們為僱主、僱員、人力資源從業員、工會職員、非政府機構職員及專業團體的會員舉行了55場簡介會,解釋修訂條例的規定,累算出席人數超過5 500。
 
透過巡迴展覽提高公眾人士對《僱傭條例》和良好人事管理措施的認識。
透過巡迴展覽提高公眾人士對《僱傭條例》和良好人事管理措施的認識。
  返回頁首
   
3.10 我們透過由18個人力資源經理會組成的網絡,為人力資源從業員舉辦經驗分享會。
  返回頁首
   
小額薪酬申索聲請的仲裁
3.11 小額薪酬索償仲裁處為市民提供快捷、不拘形式而廉宜的仲裁服務。仲裁處獲授權裁決申索人數目不超過十名、而每人申索的款額不超過8,000元的僱傭申索個案。
  返回頁首
   
3.12 在二零零七年,在仲裁處登記的申索個案達2 142宗,申索款額共8,644,084元。年內共審結2 276宗申索個案,裁定的款額共4,789,350元。
  返回頁首
   
職工會的規管
3.13 職工會登記局負責推廣完善及負責任的職工會管理,並有法定責任為所有職工會登記、審理並登記職工會章程,以及審查職工會周年核訖帳表,以確保他們符合《職工會條例》的規定。
  返回頁首
   
3.14 在二零零七年,新登記的職工會有18個。綜合來說,已登記的職工會聯會共有三個,而已登記的職工會則有775個(包括731個僱員工會、21個僱主工會及23個僱員及僱主混合工會)。主要的職工會統計數字載於以下網頁:http://www.labour.gov.hk/tc/labour/content3.htm
  返回頁首
   
3.15 年內,職工會登記局審查了676份帳目,並到不同的職工會視察共370次,以確保職工會的行政及財務管理符合《職工會條例》的規定。為協助職工會理事掌握有關工會法例及管理的知識,職工會登記局開辦了三個有關職工會簿記、審計及《職工會條例》條文的課程。