Employees' Rights and Benefits
The Programme of Employees' Rights and Benefits
(www.labour.gov.hk/eng/erb/content.htm)

   6.1    The objective of the Employees' Rights and Benefits Programme is to improve and safeguard employees' rights and benefits in an equitable manner. Our aim is to progressively enhance employment standards in a way which is commensurate with the pace of Hong Kong's economic and social developments and which strikes a reasonable balance between the interests of employers and employees. We achieve this by:
  • setting and refining employment standards in consultation with the Labour Advisory Board;

  • ensuring compliance with statutory and contractual terms and conditions of employment through inspection to workplaces, investigation into suspected breaches of the statutory provisions and prosecution of offenders;

  • processing employees' compensation claims;

  • maintaining close partnership with statutory bodies set up for protecting the rights and benefits of employees; and

  • providing customer-oriented information service to ensure that employees and employers know their rights and obligations.

   6.2    The principal legislation administered by this programme area includes the Employees' Compensation Ordinance (ECO), the Pneumoconiosis (Compensation) Ordinance (PCO), the Employment Ordinance (EO) and its subsidiary Employment of Children Regulations and Employment of Young Persons (Industry) Regulations, as well as Part IVB of the Immigration Ordinance.

   6.3    The ECO establishes a no-fault, non-contributory employee compensation system under which individual employers are liable to pay compensation for work-related injuries or fatalities. The ordinance requires all employers to possess valid insurance policies to cover their liabilities under the ordinance and at common law.

   6.4    The PCO provides compensation to persons who suffer from pneumoconiosis. Compensation is paid from the Pneumoconiosis Compensation Fund, which is administered by the Pneumoconiosis Compensation Fund Board.

   6.5    The EO is the main piece of legislation governing conditions of employment in the non-government sector. The Employment of Children Regulations made under the EO prohibit the employment of children below the age of 15 in industrial undertakings and regulate the employment of children who have attained the age of 13 but under 15 in non-industrial establishments. The Employment of Young Persons (Industry) Regulations set out requirements on the working time arrangements for young persons employed in the industrial sector and prohibit their employment in dangerous trades.

   6.6    The Labour Department also administers Part IVB of the Immigration Ordinance to combat illegal employment in order to protect the employment opportunities of local workers.

Our Work and Achievements in 2006

   Key Indicators of Work
6.7    We stepped up our efforts to safeguard the rights and benefits of employees through various activities in 2006. Some key indicators of work of this programme area are shown in Figure 6.1.

   Stepping Up Enforcement Against Wage Offences
6.8    The department takes a serious view on wage default and has put in place effective arrangements to enforce statutory provisions governing payment of wages. In 2006, the department continued to step up prosecution against employers and responsible persons of companies for wage offences. We conducted territory-wide blitz operations and inspections to workplaces to detect wage offences. Labour inspectors actively interviewed employees during territory-wide routine inspections to combat wage offences and conducted investigation speedily into the suspected offences. The Employment Claims Investigation Division also conducted in-depth investigation into suspected wage offences under the EO promptly. Prosecutions are taken out against the employers and the responsible persons once sufficient evidence is available.

   6.9    With the department continuing in stepping up enforcement action in 2006, the number of summonses heard in respect of wage offences rose to 1 043, representing an increase of 14.9 per cent over the figure of 908 summonses in 2005. As for summonses convicted, the number was 785 for 2006 as against 587 in 2005, an increase of 33.7 per cent. Two company directors and one other employer were given custodial sentences in 2006 for defaulting wage payments. On the other hand, an employer was fined $114,000. These sentences should have sent a strong message to employers on the seriousness of wage defaults.

   Vigorous Enforcement Against Illegal Employment
6.10    We continued our vigorous enforcement efforts to ensure that the statutory rights of employees under labour legislation are well protected.

   6.11    In 2006, labour inspectors carried out 128 590 workplace inspections to establishments in different trades, among which 127 871 inspections were also conducted to combat illegal employment. (Figure 6.2) We strengthened the collection and analysis of intelligence on illegal employment activities, and organised more joint operations with the Police and the Immigration Department. A total of 502 illegal workers and 231 employers suspected of employing illegal workers were arrested in the year. We also widely publicised our complaint telephone hotline (2815 2200) through newspaper advertisements, press releases, leaflets and bus advertisements and distribution of souvenirs etc. to encourage members of the public to provide intelligence on illegal employment activities.

Labour Inspectors and the Police detecting suspected illegal workers in a joint operation.
Labour Inspectors and the Police detecting suspected illegal workers in a joint operation.

   6.12    We conducted routine inspections and trade-targeted operations to enforce the compulsory requirement of taking out employees' compensation insurance policy under the Employees' Compensation Ordinance. In the year, a total of 64 151 inspections were conducted to enforce the statutory requirement. Employers failing to comply with the requirement were prosecuted.

   6.13    In the year, we continued to work closely with government departments in monitoring their service contractors to ensure that non-skilled employees of the contractors enjoyed their statutory rights and benefits. A total of 659 inspections were conducted to the workplaces of such workers. 2 369 workers were interviewed. Contractors found to have breached labour legislation were prosecuted. Offence records and suspected breaches of contract terms were sent to concerned departments for administrative sanctions wherever appropriate.

   6.14    To ensure compliance with the required conditions under the Supplementary Labour Scheme, we investigated 41 complaints and cases on suspected irregularities such as allegations of improper deployment, long working hours and underpayment of wages of imported workers.

   Improvement to the Employees' Compensation Insurance System
6.15    During the year, the Labour Department and the Insurance Authority worked in close collaboration with the Hong Kong Federation of Insurers to map out the scope, basic structure and mode of operation of an Employees' Compensation Insurance Residual Scheme. The scheme was initiated by the Federation as a market of last resort to assist employers, in particular those in the high risk groups, who have difficulties finding employees' compensation insurance cover. The scheme is expected to be launched in 2007.

   Processing Employees' Compensation Cases
6.16    Under the current no-fault employees' compensation system, compensation is payable to injured employees or family members of deceased employees for any work-related injuries or deaths. Claims for compensation involving fatality are determined by the courts or the Commissioner for Labour under the improved settlement mechanism introduced in August 2000.

   6.17    Information on employees' compensation cases reported is shown in Figures 6.3 and 6.4. We processed and settled 35 863 non-fatal cases involving sick leave exceeding three days which were reported in 2006. These included 12 712 cases settled directly between employers and employees. Compensation amounting to $8.6 million and $232 million respectively was payable to the injured employees in minor cases and in cases involving sick leave exceeding three days.

   6.18    For the 47 478 employees' compensation cases reported in 2005, 44 350 non-fatal cases with sick leave exceeding three days and 130 fatal cases were settled as at the end of 2006. A sum of $597 million was payable as compensation to the injured employees or family members of deceased employees. The number of working days lost was 1 152 037. (Figure 6.5)

   6.19    The Loan Scheme for Employees Injured at Work and Dependants of Deceased Employees provides temporary relief to victims of work accidents. Under the scheme, an interest-free loan up to $15,000 in each case will be made to eligible applicants. In 2006, a total loan of $155,000 was approved in 12 applications.

   Processing SARS-related Claims
6.20    As at the end of 2006, the Labour Department arranged a total of 371 employees infected with SARS to receive assessments by the Employees' Compensation Assessment Board in respect of respiratory impairment. Since some of the SARS employees had other complications and had received treatment from other specialties, such as orthopaedic, psychiatry and endocrine, the department also arranged assessments for these employees by the relevant specialties. As a result of the department's active follow-up action, the statutory compensation claims in seven fatal cases and 282 non-fatal cases were resolved upon the issue of certificates of compensation assessment by the department as at year-end.

   Briefings and Promotional Campaigns
6.21    In 2006, we arranged four briefings for government departments and 37 briefings for imported workers to publicise the rights and obligations of the parties concerned.

   6.22    Extensive publicity campaigns were launched to warn against illegal employment.

A bus advertisement to remind employers not to employ illegal workers.
A bus advertisement to remind employers not to employ illegal workers.

Distributing souvenirs carved with the Complaint Hotline to encourage reporting of suspected offences.
Distributing souvenirs carved with the Complaint Hotline to encourage reporting of suspected offences.

   6.23    We strengthened promotion on timely reporting of work accidents by employers and publicity on employers' statutory obligation to take out insurance policies to cover their liabilities for injuries at work in respect of their employees through TV and radio announcements, leaflets, posters, newspapers, departmental homepage and seminars on the Employees' Compensation Ordinance.

Strengthening promotion on timely reporting of work accidents by employers and their statutory obligation to take out insurance policies to cover liabilities for injuries of their employees at work  through leaflets and posters.
Strengthening promotion on timely reporting of work accidents by employers and their statutory obligation to take out insurance policies to cover liabilities for injuries of their employees at work through leaflets and posters.

   6.24    We actively educated employers and employees about their rights and obligations under the Employees' Compensation Ordinance. In the year, we held 21 talks on Employees' Compensation Ordinance, and published six articles on the handling of employees' compensation cases in the press.

Snapshot of a large scale seminar on the Employees' Compensation Ordinance.
Snapshot of a large scale seminar on the Employees' Compensation Ordinance.

   Partnership with Statutory Bodies
6.25    We maintain close partnership with various statutory bodies that are set up for implementing the different schemes for the protection of the rights and benefits of employees.

   Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund Board
6.26    The Protection of Wages on Insolvency Ordinance (PWIO) provides for the establishment of the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund (the Fund) and its administration by a board. Under the PWIO, employees who are owed wages, wages in lieu of notice and severance payment by their insolvent employers may apply to the Fund for ex gratia payment within six months after their last day of service.

   6.27    We provide administrative support to the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund Board, verify applications and approve payment from the Fund. In 2006, we received 7 532 applications, a substantial drop of 24 per cent as compared with 9 967 in 2005. This is an all-time low since 1996. A breakdown of applicants classified by economic sector was shown in Figure 6.6. During the year, we processed 8 096 applications, leading to payment of $143 million. The financial position of the Fund also improved continuously and recorded a surplus of $345 million for 2006.

   6.28    By providing a safety net for employees affected by business closures, the Fund plays an important role in maintaining harmonious labour relations and social stability. Both the department and the Fund Board attach great importance to protecting the Fund from abuse. To this end, stringent vetting procedures are in place to process all applications. An inter-departmental task force has been formed by representatives of the Labour Department, Official Receiver's Office, Commercial Crime Bureau of the Police Force and Legal Aid Department to take concerted actions against suspected fraudulent cases.

   Pneumoconiosis Compensation Fund Board
6.29    The Pneumoconiosis Compensation Fund Board (PCFB) is established under the Pneumoconiosis (Compensation) Ordinance (PCO) to provide compensation to persons suffering from pneumoconiosis. The Board is financed by a levy collected from the construction and quarrying industries. Under the PCO, the Labour Department is responsible for determining whether an applicant is entitled to compensation. As at the end of 2006, 1 958 eligible persons were receiving compensation in the form of monthly payments from the PCFB. In the year, the Board made a total compensation payment of $158 million.

   Employees Compensation Assistance Fund Board
6.30    The Employees Compensation Assistance Fund Board (ECAFB) is set up under the Employees Compensation Assistance Ordinance (ECAO). The ECAFB is responsible for running the Employees Compensation Assistance Scheme which provides payment to injured employees who are unable to receive their entitlements for employment-related injuries from their employers or insurers. In 2006, the Board approved 80 applications, leading to payment of $62.2 million. With effect from 1 April 2004, the Employees Compensation Insurer Insolvency Bureau established by the insurance industry has taken over from the ECAFB the responsibility of meeting the liabilities arising from employees' compensation insurance policies in the event of the insolvency of the relevant insurers.

   Occupational Deafness Compensation Board
6.31    The Occupational Deafness Compensation Board is established under the Occupational Deafness (Compensation) Ordinance to provide compensation and reimbursement of expenses incurred in purchasing, repairing and replacing hearing assistive devices to those persons who suffered from noise-induced deafness due to employment in specified noisy occupations. The Board also has an important role in providing educational and publicity programmes for the prevention of occupational deafness, and providing rehabilitation programmes for those suffering from noise induced-deafness by reason of employment. In 2006, the Board received 123 applications for compensation and approved 51 applications with a total compensation payout at $6.11 million. The Board also received 300 applications in relation to the payment of expenses on hearing assistive devices and approved 298 applications. The total approved amount was $760,000.

第六章 僱員權益及福利
僱員權益及福利綱領
(www.labour.gov.hk/erb/content.htm)

   6.1    僱員權益及福利綱領的主要宗旨,是以公平方式,改善和保障僱員的權益及福利。我們的目標是逐步提高僱傭標準,以配合香港經濟和社會的發展步伐,從而在勞資雙方的利益之間取得合理平衡。我們透過以下方式達致這個目標:
  • 訂定和修訂僱傭標準,並就此徵詢勞工顧問委員會;

  • 透過視察工作場所、調查涉嫌違反法定條款的個案和檢控違法僱主,以確保僱主遵守有關的法定及合約僱傭條件;

  • 處理僱員的工傷補償聲請;

  • 與各個為保障僱員權益而設立的法定機構保持緊密合作;以及

  • 為僱員和僱主提供以客為本的資訊服務,確保他們認識本身的權利和責任。

   6.2    在本綱領下執行的主要法例,包括《僱員補償條例》、《肺塵埃沉着病(補償)條例》、《僱傭條例》及附屬的《僱用兒童規例》和《僱用青年(工業)規例》,以及《入境條例》第IVB部的條文。

   6.3    《僱員補償條例》設立了一個不論過失及毋須供款的僱員補償制度,在這制度下,個別僱主需負責就因工傷亡的個案支付補償。該條例規定所有僱主必須持有有效的保險單,以便他們能負起在《僱員補償條例》及普通法下所應承擔的責任。

   6.4    《肺塵埃沉着病(補償)條例》規定發放補償予患上肺塵埃沉着病的人士。補償款項來自肺塵埃沉着病補償基金,而該基金由肺塵埃沉着病補償基金委員會管理。

   6.5    《僱傭條例》是規管非政府機構的僱傭條件的主要法例,其附屬的《僱用兒童規例》禁止僱主僱用15歲以下的兒童在工業機構內工作,並對非工業機構僱用年滿13歲但未足15歲的兒童作出規管;而《僱用青年(工業)規例》則規定受僱於工業機構的青年的工作時間安排;以及禁止青年受僱於危險行業。

   6.6    此外,勞工處亦負責執行《入境條例》第IVB部的條文,以遏止僱用非法勞工,從而保障本地工人的就業機會。

二零零六年的工作概況和成績

   主要的工作表現指標
6.7    本處在二零零六年進行了多項工作,加強保障僱員的權益和福利。這綱領下的主要工作表現指標載於 圖六‧一

   加強對欠薪個案的執法行動
6.8    勞工處非常關注僱主拖欠僱員工資的情況,並採取有效的措施,以執行有關支付工資的法例。在二零零六年,部門繼續加強檢控違例欠薪的僱主和公司負責人。我們到全港各區的工作場所進行突擊檢查和視察,以查看是否有僱主違例欠薪。勞工督察在全港的工作場所進行例行巡查時,主動與僱員面談,以查探是否有欠薪個案。如發現違例個案,勞工督察會即時作出調查。僱傭申索調查科亦會就涉嫌違反《僱傭條例》的欠薪罪行迅速地作出深入調查。如有足夠證據,我們會立即檢控僱主和公司負責人。

   6.9    由於勞工處在二零零六年繼續加強執法,就僱主違例欠薪發出並由法院審結的傳票增加至1 043張,較二零零五年的908張上升了14.9%。在二零零六年,因欠薪而被定罪的傳票共有785張,較二零零五年的587張上升了33.7%。年內,兩名公司董事及一名僱主因欠薪而被判處監禁刑罰,而另一名僱主被罰款11.4萬元。上述裁決對僱主發出了強烈的信息,令他們明白到拖欠工資的嚴重性。

   加強打擊非法僱傭活動
6.10    我們繼續嚴厲的執法工作,確保勞工法例下僱員的法定權益得到充分保障。

   6.11    在二零零六年,勞工督察對不同行業的機構進行了128 590次巡查,並於其中127 871次行動同時打擊僱用非法勞工。 (圖六‧二) 我們加強收集及分析非法僱傭活動的情報,並聯同警方及入境事務處進行更多聯合行動,成功拘捕502名懷疑非法勞工及231名涉嫌僱用非法勞工的僱主。我們亦透過報章廣告、新聞稿、宣傳單張、巴士廣告、派發紀念品等廣泛宣傳勞工處的投訴熱線(2815 2200),以鼓勵市民提供非法僱傭活動的情報。

勞工督察與警方在一次聯合行動中,查獲懷疑非法勞工。
勞工督察與警方在一次聯合行動中,查獲懷疑非法勞工。

   6.12    我們透過例行巡查及對特定行業機構進行特別視察行動,執行《僱員補償條例》下強制購買工傷補償保險的規定。年內,我們進行了64 151次巡查以執行有關規定,並檢控違反規定的僱主。

   6.13    在二零零六年,勞工處繼續與有外判服務的政府部門保持緊密合作,監察僱用非技術工人的承辦商,以保障僱員的權益。年內,我們共進行659次有關工作地點的巡查,與2 369名工人進行面談,並對觸犯勞工法例的承辦商提出檢控,以及向外判服務的部門提供定罪個案及涉嫌違反合約條款的承辦商資料,以便部門對有關承辦商採取適當的行政制裁。

   6.14    為確保僱主遵守「補充勞工計劃」的規定,我們調查了41宗投訴和涉嫌違規個案,調查事項包括指稱僱主不當調配外地勞工、要求外地勞工長時間工作及短付工資。

   改善僱員補償保險制度
6.15    年內,勞工處及保險業監督與香港保險業聯會緊密聯繫,制定僱員補償聯保計劃的適用範圍、基本架構及運作模式。此計劃由香港保險業聯會策劃,為在投購僱員補償保險時遇到困難的僱主(特別是高風險行業的僱主)提供後援市場。計劃將於二零零七年開始運作。

   處理僱員補償個案
6.16    根據現時不論過失的僱員補償制度,如僱員因工傷亡,該受傷僱員或身故僱員的家庭成員可獲補償。涉及死亡個案的索償由法院裁決,或根據在二零零零年八月推行的改良機制,由勞工處處長裁定。

   6.17    本處接獲僱員補償個案的資料載列於 圖六‧三圖六‧四。年內,我們處理了所呈報涉及病假超過三天的受傷個案共35 863宗,包括12 712宗由僱主與僱員直接解決的個案。支付給輕傷個案及病假超過三天個案的受傷僱員的補償金額分別是860萬元及2.32億元。

   6.18    在二零零五年呈報的47 478宗僱員補償個案中,截至二零零六年年底已處理44 350宗病假超過三天的受傷個案及130宗死亡個案,支付給受傷僱員或身故僱員的家庭成員的補償金額約5.97億元,所損失的工作日數為1 152 037日。(圖六‧五)

   6.19    工傷貸款計劃為工傷意外的受傷僱員及因工死亡僱員的家人提供臨時援助。根據該計劃,每宗個案的合資格申請人最多可獲免息貸款15,000元。在二零零六年,經批核的申請有12宗,貸款總額為15.5萬元。

   處理與「沙士」有關的索償
6.20    截至二零零六年年底,勞工處已安排371名感染「沙士」的僱員接受「僱員補償評估委員會」有關呼吸系統方面的判傷。由於部分僱員有其他後遺症,並曾接受有關的專科如骨科、精神科、內分泌科的治療,勞工處亦為這些僱員安排有關的專科評估。在本處的積極跟進下,截至年底,分別有七宗死亡個案及282 宗受傷個案的法定補償申索,經勞工處簽發評定補償金額的證明書而獲得解決。

   簡報會及宣傳活動
6.21    年內,我們為政府部門舉辦四次簡報會,並為外地勞工舉辦37次簡介會,向有關人士講述他們的權利和責任。

   6.22    我們進行廣泛宣傳,警惕僱主切勿聘用非法勞工。

透過巴士車身廣告,提醒僱主切勿僱用非法勞工。
透過巴士車身廣告,提醒僱主切勿僱用非法勞工。

派發刻有舉報熱線的紀念品,呼籲市民舉報。
派發刻有舉報熱線的紀念品,呼籲市民舉報。

   6.23    我們加強宣傳僱主須依法呈報工傷及為其僱員投購工傷補償保險的法定要求。推廣工作包括在電視、電台播放宣傳短片及聲帶,派發單張和張貼海報,並在報章、勞工處網頁及《僱員補償條例》研討會作宣傳。

透過單張和海報加強宣傳僱主須依法呈報工傷及為其僱員投購工傷補償保險的法定要求。
透過單張和海報加強宣傳僱主須依法呈報工傷及為其僱員投購工傷補償保險的法定要求。

   6.24    我們積極向僱主及僱員推廣他們在《僱員補償條例》下的權利和責任。年內,我們舉行了21場有關《僱員補償條例》的講座,及在報章刊登六篇有關處理僱員補償個案的文章。

大型僱員補償條例研討會剪影。
大型僱員補償條例研討會剪影。

   與法定機構合作
6.25    我們與多個法定機構保持緊密合作。這些法定機構按法規成立,以推行各項保障僱員權益的計劃。

   破產欠薪保障基金委員會
6.26    《破產欠薪保障條例》設立破產欠薪保障基金(下稱基金),而該基金由一個委員會負責管理。根據《破產欠薪保障條例》,僱員如因僱主無力償債而被拖欠工資、代通知金及遣散費,可向該基金申請特惠款項。有關的申請須在僱員最後一個工作天後六個月內提出。

   6.27    勞工處為破產欠薪保障基金委員會(下稱破欠基金委員會)提供行政支援,並查核基金接獲的申請及批核特惠款項。在二零零六年,我們共接獲7 532宗申請,較二零零五年的9 967宗,大幅下調24%,亦是自一九九六年以來的最低水平。按經濟行業劃分的申請人數載列於圖六‧六。年內,我們共處理8 096宗申請,發放的款項達1.43億元。基金的財政狀況亦持續改善,在二零零六年錄得3.45億元盈餘。

   6.28    基金為因公司倒閉而受影響的僱員提供安全網,在維持良好的勞資關係和社會穩定方面,擔當重要的角色。本處與破欠基金委員會對防止基金被濫用極為關注。為此,我們訂有嚴格的審查機制處理所有申請,並設有一個「跨部門專責小組」,成員包括勞工處、破產管理署、警務處商業罪案調查科及法律援助署的代表,就懷疑欺詐個案作出聯合的打擊行動。

   肺塵埃沉着病補償基金委員會
6.29    肺塵埃沉着病補償基金委員會是根據《肺塵埃沉着病(補償)條例》成立,以便為肺塵埃沉着病患者提供補償金。該委員會的經費來自向建造業及石礦業收取的徵款。根據《肺塵埃沉着病(補償)條例》,勞工處負責評定申請人是否有資格獲得補償。在二零零五年年底,共有1 958 名合資格人士按月獲基金委員會發放補償金。年內,委員會發出的補償款項共1.58億元。

   僱員補償援助基金管理局
6.30    僱員補償援助基金管理局是根據《僱員補償援助條例》成立。該局負責管理僱員補償援助計劃,為因工受傷而未能向僱主或其承保人取得應得補償的僱員提供援助。在二零零六年,管理局共批准80宗申請,發放款項達6,220萬元。由二零零四年四月一日起,保險業成立的保險公司(僱員補償)無力償債管理局,在僱員補償保險人無力償債的情況下,替代僱員補償援助基金管理局,履行保險公司在僱員補償保險單下的賠償責任。

   職業性失聰補償管理局
6.31    職業性失聰補償管理局是根據《職業性失聰(補償)條例》成立,以便為因受僱從事指定高噪音工作而罹患噪音所致失聰的僱員提供補償金,以及付還購買、維修和更換聽力輔助器具的開支。管理局的另一重要工作是提供防止職業性失聰的教育及宣傳計劃,及為因工作噪音而失聰的人士而設的復康計劃。年內,管理局共接獲123宗補償申請,並批准51宗申請,發放補償款項達611萬元。此外,管理局收到300宗有關支付聽力輔助器具開支的申請,批准298宗申請,共支付76萬元。