CHAPTER 4
SAFETY AND HEALTH AT WORK

The Programme of Safety and Health at Work

(http://www.labour.gov.hk/eng/osh/content.htm)

   
4.1

The Occupational Safety and Health Branch is responsible for the promotion and regulation of safety and health at work. The objective of the Programme of Safety and Health at Work is to ensure that risks to people's safety and health at work are properly managed and reduced to the minimum by legislation, education and promotion. More specifically, we achieve the objective by:

  • providing a legislative framework to safeguard safety and health at work;
  • ensuring compliance with the Occupational Safety and Health Ordinance (OSHO), the Factories and Industrial Undertakings Ordinance (FIUO), the Boilers and Pressure Vessels Ordinance (BPVO) and their subsidiary regulations by conducting inspections and taking out regulatory actions;
  • investigating accidents and occupational health problems at workplaces;
  • improving the knowledge and understanding of employers, employees and the general public on occupational safety and health by providing them with appropriate information and advice; and
  • organising promotional programmes and training courses to improve safety awareness of the workforce.
   
4.2

The principal legislation for safety and health at work includes the OSHO, the FIUO, and the BPVO.

   
4.3

With few exceptions, the OSHO protects employees' safety and health at work in practically all branches of economic activities. It is basically an enabling legislation that empowers the Commissioner for Labour to make regulations prescribing standards for general working environment as well as specific safety and health aspects at work.

   
4.4

The FIUO regulates safety and health at work in industrial undertakings, which include factories, construction sites, cargo and container handling areas, as well as catering establishments.

   
4.5

The BPVO aims at regulating the standards and operation of equipment such as boilers, pressure vessels, including thermal oil heaters, steam receivers, steam containers, air receivers and pressurised cement tanks mounted on trucks or trailers.

   

Our Work and Achievements in 2005

Work Safety Performance

4.6

Through the concerted efforts of all parties concerned, including employers, employees, contractors, safety practitioners and the Government, Hong Kong's work safety performance has been improving since 1998. The improvement of performance in the construction industry was especially remarkable.

   
4.7

The number of occupational injuries in all workplaces in 2005 stood at 44 267, a slight increase of 0.5 per cent over 44 025 cases in 2004, while the injury rate per thousand employees dropped slightly from 18.1 to 17.8, down by 1.7 per cent.

   
4.8

The work safety performance of the high-risk construction industry continued to improve. However, it still had the highest number of fatalities and accident rate. The number of industrial accidents in the construction industry decreased from 3 833 in 2004 to 3 548 in 2005, down by 7.4 per cent. The accident rate per thousand workers dropped from 60.3 in 2004 to 59.9 in 2005, down by 0.8 per cent.

   
Occupational Diseases
4.9

The number of confirmed occupational disease cases in 2005 stood at 256, similar to the figure of 251 in 2004, and the incidence rate was maintained at 10.3 cases per 100,000 employed workers. Compared to the peak in 1998, there had been a cumulative fall of 73 per cent and 74 per cent in the number and incidence rate of occupational diseases respectively.

   
4.10

For more statistics on occupational safety and health, please visit the following webpage: http://www.labour.gov.hk/eng/osh/content10.htm

   
Key Indicators of Work
4.11

Some key indicators of work of this programme area are shown in Figure 4.1.

   
Legislative Improvements
4.12

In February 2005, amendment has been made to the list of occupational diseases specified in Schedule 2 to the OSHO by adding two notifiable occupational diseases, namely Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome and Avian Influenza A, to better monitor the health of workers who are at risk to occupational diseases. Under the OSHO, medical practitioners are required to notify the Labour Department of cases of the specified occupational diseases that come to their attention.

   
Law Enforcement
4.13

To secure safety and health at work, we inspect workplaces, monitor health hazards, investigate work accidents and occupational diseases, register and inspect boilers and pressure equipment and advise on measures to control hazards or prevent accidents.

   
4.14

A key element in enforcement is to advise on prevention of accidents. We conducted special promotional visits to encourage employers to adopt a self-regulatory approach in managing risks at the workplace. We made regular enforcement inspections to various workplaces to monitor if duty-holders have observed all related statutory requirements stipulated in safety legislation. In addition, we conducted 14 special blitz operations targeting at various high-risk work activities, including working-at-height, scaffolding work, container handing and storage, handling of hazardous chemicals, and use of tower cranes. Some of these blitz operations were conducted not only on normal working days but also at night and during holidays to detect and clamp down on offending contractors. In these 14 operations, a total of 37 678 workplaces were inspected, with 706 prosecutions initiated, 587 improvement notices and 94 suspension notices issued.

   
4.15

We continued to put establishments with poor safety performance under close surveillance. Improvement notices or suspension notices were issued when necessary to secure a speedy rectification of irregularities, or to remove imminent risk to lives and limbs. Many of these companies, especially those in the construction industry, have shown significant improvements in their safety performance. In the light of the rising accident trend in container handling and building renovation and maintenance works, we have intensified our enforcement actions on the workplaces of these high risk trades. We have also enhanced the intelligence reporting system on unsafe renovation and maintenance works with the Hong Kong Association of Property Management Companies. In 2005, a total of 421 enquiry/complaint/referral cases were received through the system. As a result of inspections to follow up on these cases, 102 suspension/improvement notices were issued and 88 prosecutions taken out.

   
4.16

With a view to preventing the transmission of infectious diseases at work, we conducted focused inspections of high-risk workplaces including hospitals, clinics and elderly homes to ensure adequate provision of personal protective equipment and proper training in the use of the equipment. Inspection to warehouses was stepped up to ensure adequate protection of warehouse workers from inhalation of excessive exhaust gases and other air impurities. We also enhanced the inspection of offices to tie in with our initiative in preventing musculoskeletal disorders in office workers and hazards associated with the prolonged use of display screen equipment. In the year, 427 warnings and 50 improvement notices were issued.

   
4.17

The Commissioner for Labour, as the Boilers and Pressure Vessels Authority, recognises competent inspection bodies to assess and inspect new pressure equipment during manufacturing. As at the end of 2005, there were 30 appointed examiners and seven recognised inspection bodies. We also conduct examinations, monitor courses for training of competent persons and issue certificates of competency to qualified candidates as competent persons for various types of boilers and steam receivers. In 2005, 477 candidates were examined, of whom 411 were awarded certificates of competency. We also advise the Fire Services Department on approval and preliminary inspections of pressurised cylinders and storage installations for compressed gas.

 
Joint inspection of a boiler by a surveyor and an appointed inspector. Joint inspection of a boiler by a surveyor and an appointed inspector.
   
4.18 As at the end of 2005, a total of 162 345 workplaces, including 15 035 construction sites, were recorded. In the year, 118 907 inspections were conducted under the OSHO and the FIUO, while 4 807 inspections were made under the BPVO. As a result, 34 292 warnings were issued by Occupational Safety Officers while 2 590 warnings were given under the BPVO. Altogether, 1 568 suspension or improvement notices were issued. We also carried out 12 588 and 2 410 investigations on accidents and suspected occupational diseases respectively in the year. Among the suspected occupational diseases, 256 cases were confirmed.
   
Safety Training and Occupational Health Education
4.19

We provide training-related services to help industry reduce occupational injuries. Such services are divided into three broad categories, namely provision of training courses, accreditation of external training providers and registration of safety officers and safety auditors.

   
4.20

In 2005, we conducted 469 training courses on safety legislation for 3 375 participants and 355 tailor-made safety briefing sessions for 10 432 employees. We also accredited seven mandatory basic safety training courses for the construction and container-handling industries. As at year end, more than 768 000 persons have completed the training. We also accredited three confined spaces safety training courses and one loadshifting machinery safety training course.

   
4.21

In 2005, 116 applicants were registered as safety officers while 95 applicants were registered as safety auditors. As at the end of 2005, there were 2 793 persons on the register of safety officers and 801 persons on the register of safety auditors. Furthermore, we started to accept applications for renewal of registration as safety officers with effect from 7 September 2005. A total of 153 applicants were approved for renewal of their registrations as at the end of 2005.

   
4.22

Occupational health education is an important strategy for the control of occupational health hazards and prevention of occupational diseases. Apart from the conventional way of organising health talks at our own premises, we have also developed outreaching services for occupational health education by delivering talks at the venues of individual companies or organisations. In 2005, we delivered a total of 1 701 health talks.

   

Safety and Health Promotion

4.23 To inculcate a safety culture and enhance safety awareness, we organised a series of promotional activities in 2005, some in conjunction with other organisations such as the Occupational Safety and Health Council, trade associations, workers' unions and other government departments.
   
4.24

Under the Customer Service Teams Project, volunteers visited over 15 000 small and medium-sized enterprises to introduce the OSHO and promote the safety management concept to employers and employees.

   
4.25 The well-received Catering Industry Safety Award Scheme and the Construction Industry Safety Award Scheme were organised again in the year. Campaigns were also launched to promote and publicise the safety of working-at-height and scaffolding work in construction sites, the safety in renovation and maintenance of buildings, and the safety at work in the container handling and storage sector.
 
Occupational safety and health seminar cum briefing session of the Catering Industry Safety Award Scheme. Occupational safety and health seminar cum briefing session of the Catering Industry Safety Award Scheme.
 
Roving exhibition to promote safety in the catering industry. Roving exhibition to promote safety in the catering industry.
   
4.26 With the joint efforts of the Occupational Safety and Health Council, trade associations and workers' unions, seminars and large-scale promotional activities were organised to promote the work safety of truss-out scaffold which is commonly used in building renovation and maintenance work.
 
Opening ceremony of the truss-out scaffold safety seminar. Opening ceremony of the truss-out scaffold safety seminar.
 
Truss-out scaffold work safety exhibition. Truss-out scaffold work safety exhibition.
   
4.27 A sponsorship scheme was jointly launched with the Occupational Safety and Health Council to provide financial assistance to small and medium-sized enterprises to purchase fall protection equipment and anchor device for use in work involving truss-out scaffold.
   
4.28 The Occupational Safety Charter was jointly launched with the Occupational Safety and Health Council in 1996 to promote the spirit of "shared responsibility" in workplace safety and health, as well as setting out a safety management framework for employers and employees to work together to create a safe and healthy working environment. By the end of 2005, 823 organisations, including public utilities companies, industrial and non-industrial establishments, banks, construction companies, unions and associations, had subscribed to the Occupational Safety Charter.
 
PCCW subscribes to the Occupational Safety Charter. PCCW subscribes to the Occupational Safety Charter.
   
4.29 As work-related musculoskeletal disorders had become an increasingly important occupational health problem in recent years, we strengthened our publicity efforts to promote the prevention of these diseases in office workers. This was achieved through different means including announcements in the public interest on the radio and television, mobile advertising media, newspaper articles, occupational health talks, exhibitions, posters and booklets.
   
4.30 In 2005, 14 new occupational safety and health publications were published, including a code of practice for the safe use of excavators, guidance notes on chemical safety in the printing industry, and safety and health at work for use and maintenance of rechargeable battery; other safety guides on safety at work in cleaning buildings, safety hints on demolition of unauthorised building works, and work-related disease series - lower limb varicose vein; guide to legislation on the provisions for safe places of work under Part VA of the Construction Sites (Safety) Regulations, occupational safety and health statistics bulletin issue No.5 (July 2005), and a booklet on work stress.
 
Publications on occupational safety and health.
 
Publications on occupational safety and health. Publications on occupational safety and health.
   
4.31 The Occupational Safety and Health Centre provides one-stop information and advisory services to workers and employers. In 2005, we handled 17 534 enquiries, advising on various occupational safety and health matters.
   
Medical and Clinical Services
4.32 Our medical and nursing staff at the Occupational Health Clinic provides clinical consultations, medical treatment as well as occupational health education and counselling services for workers suffering from work-related diseases. The workplaces of the patients are inspected if necessary to identify and evaluate occupational health hazards in the work environment. We also assess the medical fitness for work of radiation workers, aviation personnel and government employees exposed to specific occupational health hazards.
   
4.33 In 2005, 9 395 clinical consultations were rendered, and 2 570 medical examinations and assessments conducted. Five patient support groups were organised to promote patients' treatment compliance and sustainability in good work practices through health talks, experience sharing and peer support.
 
Occupational health counselling. Occupational health counselling.
 
Occupational health talk. Occupational health talk.

第四章
工作安全與健康

工作安全與健康綱領

(http://www.labour.gov.hk/tc/osh/content.htm)

   
4.1

職業安全及健康部負責促進和規管工作安全與健康。工作安全與健康綱領的主要宗旨,是透過立法、教育和推廣,確保能妥善控制和盡量減少各項危害在職人士安全及健康的因素。具體來說,我們透過以下方式達致這個目標:

  • 訂立保障工作安全及健康的法律架構;
  • 進行視察和定期採取行動,確保僱主和僱員遵守《職業安全及健康條例》、《工廠及工業經營條例》、《鍋爐及壓力容器條例》及其附屬規例;
  • 調查在工作場所發生的意外及危害職業健康的問題;
  • 向僱主、僱員及公眾人士提供有關資訊及意見,以促進他們對工作安全及健康的認識;以及
  • 籌辦推廣活動和舉辦訓練課程,藉此提高工作人士的安全意識。
   
4.2

規管工作安全及健康的主要法例,包括《職業安全及健康條例》、《工廠及工業經營條例》及《鍋爐及壓力容器條例》。

   
4.3

除極少數的例外情況外,《職業安全及健康條例》適用於各行各業,以保障其僱員的工作安全及健康。基本上,該條例是一條賦權法例,賦予勞工處處長訂立規例的權力,就一般的工作環境及特別的工作安全與健康事宜訂明標準。

   
4.4

《工廠及工業經營條例》是本港規管工業經營(包括工廠、建築地盤、貨物和貨櫃裝卸區及食肆)的工作安全及健康的主要法例。

   
4.5

《鍋爐及壓力容器條例》旨在對鍋爐、壓力容器等器具的標準及操作加以規管。鍋爐及壓力容器包括熱油式加熱器、蒸汽容器、蒸汽甑、空氣容器,以及貨車或拖車上的加壓水泥缸。

   

二零零五年的工作概況和成績

職業安全表現

4.6

在僱主、僱員、承建商、安全從業員和政府各方面通力合作下,自一九九八年以來,香港的職安表現持續改善,其中尤以建造業安全表現的改善情況最為顯著。

   
4.7

在二零零五年,所有工作地點的職業傷亡個案數字為44 267宗,較二零零四年的44 025宗微升了0.5%;但每千名僱員的傷亡率則由18.1下降至17.8,跌幅為1.7%。

   
4.8

屬高危行業的建造業的職業安全表現持續改善,但這行業仍是死亡個案數字及意外率最高的行業。建造業的工業意外數字由二零零四年的3 833宗減少至二零零五年的3 548宗,減幅為7.4%;而每千名工人的意外率亦由二零零四年的60.3下跌至二零零五年的59.9,跌幅為0.8%。

   
職業病
4.9

在二零零五年,經證實為職業病的個案有256宗,與二零零四年的251宗相若;至於發病率則維持在每十萬名受僱工人的10.3宗。與一九九八年最高峰時比較,職業病的個案數字及發病率,已分別累積下降73%及74%。

   
4.10

有關職業安全及健康的統計詳情,請參閱以下網頁: http://www.labour.gov.hk/tc/osh/content10.htm

   
主要的工作表現指標
4.11

本綱領下的主要工作表現指標載於 圖四‧一

   
法例方面的改善
4.12

在二零零五年二月,職業安全及健康條例的附表2增加了兩種須予呈報的職業病,即「嚴重急性呼吸系統綜合症」和「甲型禽流感」,使勞工處能更有效監察受職業病威脅的僱員的健康。根據該條例,醫生須向勞工處呈報他們得悉的指定職業病個案。

   
執行法例
4.13

為了確保工作安全及健康,我們視察工作場地、監察健康危害、調查工作意外及職業病、登記和檢驗鍋爐及壓力器具,並就如何控制危害及防止意外提供意見。

   
4.14

提供有關防止意外的意見,是執法的重要一環。為此我們進行特別宣傳探訪,鼓勵僱主採用自我規管方式在工作場所進行風險管理。我們定期到不同的工作場所進行執法視察,以監控負責人遵從安全法例訂明的所有相關要求。年內,我們共進行了14次針對高危工作活動的突擊檢查行動,包括高空工作、棚架工作、貨櫃處理及貯存、危險化學品處理,以及使用塔式起重機的安全。我們不僅在正常工作時段進行突擊檢查行動,還會在夜間及假日期間出動,務求找出及嚴打違規的承建商。在這14次突擊檢查行動中,我們共視察了37 678處工作場所,向負責人發出了94份暫時停工通知書及587份敦促改善通知書,並就706項違例事項作出檢控。

   
4.15

我們繼續把安全表現欠佳的機構列為受嚴密監察的目標。如有不合規格的情況,我們會發出敦促改善通知書,要求負責人迅速作出糾正;或發出暫時停工通知書,促請有關人士消除對工人生命或肢體構成的即時危險。在受監察的公司中,大多都在安全表現方面有顯著改善,尤以建築公司為然。鑑於涉及貨櫃處理和樓宇翻新及維修工程的意外有上升的趨勢,我們已加強對這類高危行業的工作場所的執法行動。我們亦加強與香港物業管理公司協會對樓宇翻新及維修的不安全項目的通報機制。在二零零五年,勞工處經由通報機制共接獲421宗查詢/投訴/轉介的個案。經過職業安全主任對各個案作跟進視察後,共發出102份暫時停工通知書/敦促改善通知書,並對88項違例事項作出檢控。

   
4.16

為了預防傳染病在工作間傳播,我們對高危工作場所,包括醫院、診所和護老院,作出針對性巡查,確保這些機構提供足夠的個人防護裝備及充分提供有關使用這些裝備的訓練。我們亦到不同倉庫進行特別視察,確保有足夠的措施防止倉庫工人吸入過量廢氣及其他空氣雜質。同時,為了預防辦公室員工患上肌骨骼疾病及受到長期使用顯示屏幕設備的危害,我們加强了對辦公室的職安健巡查。年內,共發出了427封警告信及50張敦促改善通知書。

   
4.17

勞工處處長作為鍋爐及壓力容器監督,獲授權對一些合資格的檢驗機構作出認可,准許這些機構評核和檢驗新壓力器具的製造。截至二零零五年年底,全港共有 30名委任檢驗師及七所認可檢驗機構。我們亦舉辦考試,監察為訓練合資格人員而設的課程,並頒發合格證書予合資格考生,使他們成為監察使用各類鍋爐及蒸汽容器的合格人員。在二零零五年,共有477人應考,其中 411人獲頒發合格證書。此外,我們向消防處提供意見,以便該處進行有關壓力容器及壓縮氣體貯存裝置的審核和初步視察工作。

 
檢驗主任與委任檢驗師一起檢驗鍋爐。 檢驗主任與委任檢驗師一起檢驗鍋爐。
   
4.18 截至二零零五年年底,全港共有162 345個工作場所,其中包括15 035個建築地盤。年內,我們根據《職業安全及健康條例》及《工廠及工業經營條例》進行118 907次視察,並根據《鍋爐及壓力容器條例》進行4 807次檢驗。職業安全主任發出34 292次警告,另有2 590次警告是根據《鍋爐及壓力容器條例》發出的。此外,我們共發出1 568份暫時停工通知書及敦促改善通知書,並就意外及懷疑職業病個案分別作出12 588次及2 410次調查,經證實為職業病的個案有256宗。
   
安全訓練及職業健康教育
4.19 我們提供與訓練有關的服務,以減少職業傷亡。這些服務可分為三大類:舉辦訓練課程、評審外間提供訓練課程的機構及為安全主任和安全審核員註冊。

   
4.20

在二零零五年,我們舉辦了469個有關安全法例的訓練課程,共有3 375人參加。我們也舉辦355個特別為某些行業或機構而設的安全講座,共有10 432名僱員參加。此外,我們認可了七個建造業及貨櫃處理業強制性基本安全訓練課程。截至年底,超過768 000人完成這項訓練課程。我們亦認可了三個密閉空間安全訓練課程和一個負荷物移動機械安全訓練課程。

   
4.21

在二零零五年,共有116名安全主任及95名安全審核員獲得註冊。截至年底,安全主任登記冊記錄了2 793名安全主任,而安全審核員登記冊則有801名安全審核員。此外,從二零零五年九月七日起,我們開始接受註冊安全主任的註冊續期申請。截至年底,共有153名註冊安全主任獲得批准將他們的註冊續期。

   
4.22

職業健康教育是控制職業健康危害和預防職業病的重要策略。我們除了一如以往在本處辦事處舉辦職業健康講座外,還設立一項職業健康教育外展服務,到個別的公司和機構舉辦職業健康講座。在二零零五年,我們共舉辦了1 701次健康講座。

   

推廣安全健康

4.23 為培養安全文化及提高安全意識,我們在二零零五年舉辦多項推廣活動,並與職業安全健康局、商會、工會和其他政府部門合辦其中一些活動。
   
4.24

在職業安全及健康推廣計劃下,義工隊進行超過15 000次探訪,向中小型企業的僱主和僱員介紹《職業安全及健康條例》和安全管理概念。

   
4.25 本處的飲食業安全獎勵計劃及建造業安全獎勵計劃一向深受業界歡迎。年內,我們再次舉辦這兩項計劃,並推出多項活動推廣和宣傳有關建築地盤的高空工作和棚架工作、樓宇維修和保養工程與貨櫃處理及倉庫業的工作安全。
 
飲食業安全及健康講座暨獎勵計劃簡報會。 飲食業安全及健康講座暨獎勵計劃簡報會。
 
推廣飲食業工作安全的巡迴展覽。 推廣飲食業工作安全的巡迴展覽。
   
4.26 本處聯同職業安全健康局、業界商會和工會等,舉辦多個研討會及大型裝修及維修高空工作安全推廣活動,廣泛宣傳涉及樓宇裝修及維修工程常用的吊棚的工作安全。
 
吊棚工作安全研討會開幕儀式。 吊棚工作安全研討會開幕儀式。
 
吊棚工作安全展覽。 吊棚工作安全展覽。
   
4.27 本處並與職業安全健康局合作推出「裝修及維修業中小企高空工作防墮繫穩裝置資助計劃」,協助小型承辦商添置防墮設施和繫穩裝置,以改善高空工作安全。
   
4.28 在一九九六年,本處與職業安全健康局推出《職業安全約章》,以宣揚為職安健「共同承擔責任」的精神,並勾劃出安全管理架構,讓僱主和僱員一起締造安全及健康的工作環境。截至二零零五年年底,共有823間機構簽署了《職業安全約章》,包括公用事業機構、工業和非工業機構、銀行、建築公司、職工會和商會。
 
電訊盈科參與《職業安全約章》的簽署儀式。 電訊盈科參與《職業安全約章》的簽署儀式。
   
4.29 近年由於與工作有關的肌骨骼疾病,成為日趨重要的職業健康問題,我們加強了宣傳工作,透過不同方法,包括電台宣傳聲帶、電視宣傳短片、流動宣傳媒體、報章撰文、職業健康講座、展覽、海報及小冊子,向辦公室員工推廣預防肌骨骼疾病的方法。
   
4.30 在二零零五年,本處出版14本新的職安健刊物,包括安全使用挖土機工作守則;有關印刷業的化學安全,和充電電池的使用及維修的安全指引;其他安全簡介,例如樓宇清潔業工作安全簡介、清拆違例建築工程工作安全須知,以及與工作有關的疾病系列 ─ 下肢靜脈曲張;有關建築地盤(安全)規例VA部有關安全工作地方的法例條文簡介,職業安全及健康統計數字簡報第5期(2005年7月),以及有關工作壓力的小冊子等。
 
有關職業安全及健康的刊物。
 
有關職業安全及健康的刊物。 有關職業安全及健康的刊物。
   
4.31 職業安全健康中心負責向僱主及僱員提供一站式的資訊及諮詢服務。在二零零五年,我們處理共17 534個查詢,並就各項職安健問題提供意見。
   
治療及診症服務
4.32 職業健康診所的醫護人員為患有職業病的工人,提供診症、醫療及職業健康教育和輔導服務。在有需要時,我們會到病人的工作場所視察,以找出及評估工作環境中的職業健康危害。我們更為從事輻射工作的工人、航空人員及暴露於特別職業危害的政府僱員進行身體檢查,確定他們是否適宜工作。
   
4.33 在二零零五年,我們提供9 395次診症服務,並進行2 570次身體檢查及評估。我們也為病人成立五個病人互助小組,透過健康講座、經驗分享和組員間的互相扶持,鼓勵病人遵從醫生的指示接受治療及貫徹採用良好的工作方法。
 
職業健康輔導。 職業健康輔導。
 
職業健康講座。 職業健康講座。