CHAPTER 3
LABOUR RELATIONS

The Programme of Labour Relations

(http://www.labour.gov.hk/eng/labour/content.htm)

   
3.1

In Hong Kong, employer and employee relations are largely premised on the freely negotiated terms and conditions of employment entered into between the two parties. Employers and employees in Hong Kong are free to form trade unions and participate in union activities. Trade unions are required to be registered under the Trade Unions Ordinance. The objective of the Labour Relations Programme is to maintain and promote harmonious labour relations in the non-government sector. We achieve this by:

  • giving advice on matters relating to conditions of employment, provisions of the Employment Ordinance and good people management practices;
  • providing voluntary conciliation service to help employers and employees resolve their employment claims and disputes;
  • promoting understanding of labour laws and encouraging good labour management practices;
  • adjudicating minor employment claims speedily through the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board; and
  • registering and regulating trade unions to bring about sound and responsible trade union administration.
   
3.2 The principal legislation administered by this programme area includes the Employment Ordinance (EO), the Labour Relations Ordinance, the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board Ordinance and the Trade Unions Ordinance (TUO).
 
The Labour Department produces a brief guide on the main provisions of the Employment Ordinance. The Labour Department produces a brief guide on the main provisions of the Employment Ordinance.
   
3.3 With the provision of a comprehensive set of employment standards, the EO is the main piece of legislation governing conditions of employment in the non-government sector. The procedures for settling labour disputes in the non-government sector are provided in the Labour Relations Ordinance. The Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board Ordinance establishes a machinery known as the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board (MECAB) to adjudicate minor employment claims when settlement cannot be achieved by conciliation. For the regulation of trade unions, the TUO provides a statutory framework for trade union registration and administration.
   

Our Work and Achievements in 2005

Key Indicators of Work

   
3.4

Some key indicators of work of the Labour Relations Programme Area are contained in Figure 3.1.

   

Conciliation and Consultation Services

3.5

Our consultation and conciliation services have contributed to the maintenance of industrial peace. In 2005, we handled 109 959 in-person consultations, 237 labour disputes and 25 952 claims. The number of labour disputes and claims handled in 2005 was down by nine percentage points on the figure of 28 666 cases in 2004. It was the lowest since 1998. Altogether 69.8 per cent of the cases handled in 2005 were resolved amicably through conciliation, the highest settlement rate since 1994. Only one strike was recorded in 2005. As a result, the number of working days lost per thousand salaried employees and wage earners was 0.03, which is among the lowest in the world. (Figures 3.2-3.7)

   
Proactive Efforts to Combat Wage Defaults
3.6 In 2005, the Labour Department adopted a proactive strategy to tackle the problem of non-payment of wages at source. In addition to enhancing publicity and promotion, and stepping up enforcement and prosecution, an early warning system was set up in collaboration with trade unions to gather intelligence on non-payment of wages. A pilot exercise codenamed Operation COMBAT was launched to proactively forestall problematic restaurants from evading their liabilities to pay wages. The exercise achieved notable results. To enhance the deterrent effect of the EO on wage offences, a bill was introduced into the Legislative Council in December, 2005 to raise the maximum penalty for wage offences from a fine of $200,000 and imprisonment for one year to a fine of $350,000 and imprisonment for three years. The new penalty will take effect from 30 March, 2006.
   
Strengthening Tripartite Cooperation
3.7 To promote tripartite collaboration at the industry level with a view to fostering harmonious labour relations, nine industry-based tripartite committees have been set up in the catering, construction, theatre, logistics, property management, printing, hotel and tourism, cement and concrete as well as retail industries. These tripartite committees provide useful forums for representatives of employers, employees and the Government to discuss issues of common concern in these industries. In 2005, we focused our efforts on promoting industry-specific good people management practices in collaboration with the tripartite committees. To this end, we have prepared guidebooks highlighting good human resources management practices for specific industries. In November, a large-scale seminar was organised for the catering industry to promote good people management among traders.
 
Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour), Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, speaks at a large-scale seminar organised for the catering industry. Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour), Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, speaks at a large-scale seminar organised for the catering industry.
   

Promotion of Good Employer-Employee Relations

3.8

To promote better public understanding of the EO and good labour management practices, various promotional activities such as briefings and seminars were organised for employers, employees and human resources professionals. A wide range of publications was produced for free distribution to the public, including a question-and-answer booklet on major provisions of the EO that was designed in a lively fashion to attract readership. Publicity information was also disseminated through the mass media.

   
3.9

We had established a network of 18 Human Resources Managers' Clubs and organised experience-sharing sessions and briefings for human resources practitioners.

   

Adjudication of Minor Employment Claims

3.10

The Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board provides a speedy, informal and inexpensive adjudication service to members of the public. It is empowered to determine employment claims involving not more than 10 claimants for a sum not exceeding $8,000 per claimant.

   
3.11

In 2005, the board recorded 2 522 claims amounting to $10,278,461 and concluded 2 539 claims with a total award of $5,886,713.

   

Regulation of Trade Unions

3.12

The Registry of Trade Unions is responsible for the promotion of sound and responsible trade union administration, and is entrusted with the statutory duty to register trade unions, process and register their rules, and examine their annual audited statements of account to ensure that trade unions comply with the TUO.

   
3.13

In 2005, 28 new trade unions were registered while three trade unions were deregistered, making up a cumulative total of three registered trade union federations and 729 registered trade unions (comprising 686 employee unions, 21 employer unions and 22 mixed organisations of employees and employers). Please refer to the following webpage for the key trade union statistics: http://www.labour.gov.hk/eng/labour/content3.htm.

   
3.14

In the year, the Registry of Trade Unions examined 657 statements of account and conducted 366 inspection visits to trade unions to ensure that their administration and financial management were in compliance with the TUO. To facilitate trade union officers in acquiring knowledge of union law and management, the Registry organised four courses on trade union bookkeeping, auditing and provisions of the TUO.

第三章
勞資關係

勞資關係綱領

(http://www.labour.gov.hk/tc/labour/content.htm)

   
3.1

在香港,僱主與僱員的關係主要是建基於勞資雙方自行議定的僱傭條款及條件。本港的僱主和僱員可自由組織職工會及參加職工會活動,而這些職工會須按照《職工會條例》的規定登記。勞資關係綱領的主要宗旨,是維繫並促進非政府機構和諧的勞資關係。我們透過以下方式達致這個目標:

  • 就有關僱傭條件、《僱傭條例》條文、良好人事管理措施等事宜提供意見;
  • 提供自願性質的調解服務,協助僱主和僱員解決申索聲請和勞資糾紛;
  • 提高公眾對勞工法例的認識,並鼓勵僱主採取良好的勞資管理措施;
  • 透過小額薪酬索償仲裁處迅速仲裁小額薪酬申索聲請;以及
  • 為職工會進行登記及作出規管,以促進完善及負責任的職工會管理。
   
3.2 本處在這綱領下執行的主要法例,包括《僱傭條例》、《勞資關係條例》、《小額薪酬索償仲裁處條例》及《職工會條例》。
 
勞工處印製指南,簡述僱傭條例的主要條文。 勞工處印製指南,簡述僱傭條例的主要條文。
   
3.3 《僱傭條例》提供一套僱傭標準,其覆蓋範圍廣泛,是規管非政府機構的僱傭條件的主要法例。《勞資關係條例》訂定了調解非政府機構的勞資糾紛的程序,而《小額薪酬索償仲裁處條例》則確立了一個名為小額薪酬索償仲裁處的機制,就未能以調解方式解決的小額薪酬索償個案進行仲裁。在規管職工會方面,《職工會條例》為職工會的登記及管理提供了法定架構。
   

二零零五年的工作概況和成績

主要的工作表現指標

   
3.4

本綱領的主要工作表現指標載於 圖三‧一

   

調解及諮詢服務

3.5

勞工處的諮詢及調解服務有助勞資雙方維持和諧的關係。年內,本處共處理109 959宗市民親身到本處尋求諮詢的個案、237宗勞資糾紛及25 952宗申索聲請。二零零五年處理的勞資糾紛和申索個案比二零零四年的28 666宗減少9%,是自一九九八年以來的最低水平。經調解而獲圓滿解決個案的比率為69.8%,是一九九四年以來最高的調解成功率。年內,本處僅錄得一宗罷工個案,在每1 000名受薪僱員中,因勞資糾紛而損失的工作天平均只有0.03日,是全球最低數字之一。(圖三‧二至三‧七)

   
致力打擊違例欠薪
3.6 在二零零五年,勞工處採取積極進取的策略,從源頭解決欠薪的問題。除了加強宣傳和推廣工作,以及加強執法和檢控外,我們與工會攜手建立預警機制,收集有關拖欠工資的情報。我們亦推出一項代號為「堅壁行動」的試驗計劃,以「提早介入,主動出擊」的策略,積極防範有問題的食肆僱主逃避支付工資的責任,有關行動取得顯著成果。為確保《僱傭條例》能更有效遏止欠薪罪行,勞工處在二零零五年十二月向立法會提交草案,建議提高欠薪罪行的最高罰則,由罰款20萬元及監禁一年,提高至罰款35萬元及監禁三年,新刑罰由二零零六年三月三十日起生效。
   
加強三方合作
3.7 為了推廣行業層面的三方合作以促進和諧的勞資關係,本處在飲食業、建造業、戲院業、物流業、物業管理業、印刷業、酒店及旅遊業、水泥及混凝土業,以及零售業共九個行業,均設有三方小組。這些三方小組為僱主、僱員及政府代表提供有效的途徑,讓他們商討業內共同關注的問題。年內,我們與三方小組合作,向個別行業推廣良好人事管理措施。就此,我們因應各行業不同的需要而度身制訂良好人事管理措施指南。在十一月,我們為飲食業舉辦大型研討會,向業內人士推廣良好人事管理措施。
 
經濟發展及勞工局常任秘書長(勞工)張建宗在為飲食業舉辦的大型研討會上發言。 經濟發展及勞工局常任秘書長(勞工)
張建宗在為飲食業舉辦的大型研討會上發言。
   

推廣良好的勞資關係

3.8

為了提高公眾人士對《僱傭條例》和良好人事管理的認識,本處為僱主、僱員和人力資源管理專業人士舉辦多項推廣活動,包括簡介會及研討會。我們亦出版多類型的刊物,免費派發給市民。此外,我們製作了一套名為「輕鬆看僱傭 ─ 問答篇」的小冊子,透過輕鬆活潑的手法,介紹《僱傭條例》的主要條文,以增加刊物的吸引力及趣味。我們並透過大眾傳播媒界宣傳有關訊息。

   
3.9

我們成立了一個由18個人力資源經理會組成的網絡,並為人力資源從業員舉辦經驗分享會。

   

小額薪酬申索聲請的仲裁

3.10

小額薪酬索償仲裁處為市民提供快捷、不拘形式而廉宜的仲裁服務。仲裁處獲授權裁決申索人的數目不超過十名、而每人申索的款額不超過8,000元的僱傭申索個案。

   
3.11

在二零零五年,在仲裁處登記的申索個案達2 522宗,申索款額共10,278,461元。年內共審結2 539宗申索個案,裁定的款額共5,886,713元。

   

職工會的規管

3.12

職工會登記局負責推廣完善及負責任的職工會管理,並有法定責任為所有職工會登記,審理並登記職工會章程,以及審查職工會周年核訖帳表,以確保他們符合《職工會條例》的規定。

   
3.13

在二零零五年,新登記的職工會有28個,而撤銷登記的職工會則有三個。綜合來說,已登記的職工會聯會共有三個,而已登記的職工會則有729個(包括686個僱員工會、21個僱主工會及22個僱員及僱主混合工會)。主要的職工會統計數字載於以下網頁: http://www.labour.gov.hk/tc/labour/content3.htm.

   
3.14

年內,職工會登記局審查了657份帳目,並到不同的職工會視察共366次,以確保職工會的行政及財務管理符合《職工會條例》的規定。為協助職工會理事掌握有關工會法例及管理的知識,職工會登記局開辦了四個有關職工會簿記、審計及《職工會條例》條文的課程。