Labour Advisory Board Report 2009-2010Chapter 3. Activities during the 2009-2010 Term

3.1 Introduction
  The Labour Advisory Board (LAB) met 10 times during the period from 1 January 2009 to 31 December 2010. The Chairman of LAB consulted members on labour legislation, administrative and enforcement measures on labour matters as well as other issues.

3.2 Consultation on Labour Legislation
  LAB discussed four items of labour legislation relating to the welfare of Hong Kong workers. Details of the items and their position as at 31 December 2010 are listed below:

Employment Ordinance
  • To enhance the enforcement of Labour Tribunal / Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board awards.
    • LAB first endorsed the proposal on 10 December 2008. LAB held discussion again on 12 January 2010 upon gazettal of the Employment (Amendment) Bill 2009 and subsequent deliberations at the Legislative Council (LegCo) Bills Committee.
    • The Employment (Amendment) Bill 2009 was passed by LegCo on 28 April 2010 and became the Employment (Amendment) Ordinance 2010 which has come into operation with effect from 29 October 2010.
Protection of Wages on Insolvency Ordinance
  • To expand the scope of the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund to cover pay for untaken annual leave and statutory holidays under the Employment Ordinance.
    • LAB endorsed the proposal to cover pay for untaken annual leave on 25 May 2009 and the revised proposal to further cover pay for untaken statutory holidays on 22 March 2010.
Employees' Compensation Ordinance & Pneumoconiosis and Mesothelioma (Compensation) Ordinance
  • To increase the amounts of five compensation items under the Employees' Compensation Ordinance (ECO) by 2.34%, in accordance with the review findings of the cumulative growth in the Nominal Wage Index, and to maintain the existing levels of compensation for other items under ECO and the various compensation items under the Pneumoconiosis and Mesothelioma (Compensation) Ordinance that should be revised downwards according to the review findings.
    • LAB endorsed the proposal on 12 January 2010.
    • The amendment resolution made under section 48A of ECO was passed by LegCo on 30 June 2010. The new levels of compensation have come into operation with effect from 1 August 2010.
Minimum Wage Ordinance
  • To introduce legislation on a statutory minimum wage (SMW).
    • LAB discussed a series of practical issues relevant to the introduction of SMW including the views of stakeholders on the special arrangement for persons with disabilities, coverage of employees and exemption of employees on student internship under the SMW legislation. LAB visited workplaces of persons with disabilities in February 2009 to enhance understanding on the working situation of different categories of persons with disabilities and the difference in their productivity.
    • LAB supported the proposal regarding the criteria for approved assessors and methods of assessment in relation to the productivity assessment of persons with disabilities on 6 December 2010.
    • The Minimum Wage Ordinance was passed by LegCo on 17 July 2010. The initial SMW rate would come into force on 1 May 2011.

3.3 Consultation on Administrative / Enforcement Measures on Labour Matters
  LAB was consulted on the following administrative / enforcement measures on labour matters:
  • LAB noted and gave views on the measures adopted by the Labour Department (LD) in tackling false self-employment and the protection for employees so engaged.
  • LAB noted the results of the Thematic Survey on Importance of Age Factor in Employment conducted by the Census and Statistics Department (C&SD).
  • LAB noted the major findings of the 2009 Annual Earnings and Hours Survey conducted by C&SD. The survey supported the implementation of SMW and provided detailed statistical data on wage, employment and demographic profiles of employees in Hong Kong.
  • LAB noted and gave views on the draft reference guidelines on SMW for employers and employees drawn up by LD.

3.4 Consultation on Other Legislation / Measures
  LAB was briefed or consulted on other legislation or measures of relevance to labour matters, as given below:
  • LAB gave its views on the public consultation paper for the Review of Corporate Rescue Procedure Legislative Proposals, launched by the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau (FSTB), in respect of, inter alia, provisional supervision and the options on the handling of employees' outstanding entitlements.
  • LAB gave its views on the public consultation paper for the Companies Ordinance Rewrite *Draft Companies Bill First Phase Consultation, launched by FSTB, in respect of, inter alia, the headcount test, disclosure of directors' residential addresses and the identification numbers of directors and company secretaries.
  • LAB gave its views on the public consultation document for the Revised Code of Practice on Employment under the Disability Discrimination Ordinance published by the Equal Opportunities Commission.
  • LAB gave its views on the review findings of the minimum and maximum relevant income levels for Mandatory Provident Fund Contributions conducted by the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority.

3.5 Monitoring the Supplementary Labour Scheme
  LAB is responsible for monitoring the Supplementary Labour Scheme (SLS) and vetting applications for importation of labour submitted thereunder. Operating on the principle of according priority of employment to local workers, SLS allows the entry of imported workers at technician level or below to take up jobs which cannot be filled locally. During the 2009-2010 term, LAB vetted some 1 100 applications.

Since August 1996, a working group on SLS has been formed under LAB to consider the vetting guidelines for processing applications under SLS and to discuss the applications for which LAB members have differing views during vetting.

To ensure the effective attainment of the policy objective of SLS, the Government, in consultation with LAB, regularly reviews the operation of SLS.

The terms of reference, composition and membership of the working group are at Appendix VI.

3.6 Participating in the International Labour Conference
  Apart from advising the Commissioner for Labour on labour matters, LAB members also attend the annual International Labour Conference in Geneva, Switzerland as part of the Chinese delegation.

The Conference provides a valuable forum for LAB members to meet with delegates from different member States of the International Labour Organisation (ILO) so as to exchange views, share experience and establish contacts, thereby enhancing their exposure to and understanding of international labour issues.

The 98th Session of the International Labour Conference

The 98th Session of the International Labour Conference was held from 3 to 19 June 2009. The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) sent a tripartite team to the Conference as part of the Chinese delegation. Members of the team were:

Government
Representatives
  Employer
Representatives
  Employee
Representatives
Mr Alan Wong Kwok Lun, JP
Deputy Commissioner for Labour
(Labour Administration)
  Mr Ho Sai Chu, GBS, JP   Ms Ng Wai Yee, MH
Mrs Tonia Leung So Suk Ching, JP
Assistant Commissioner for Labour
  Mr Stanley Lau Chin Ho, BBS, MH, JP   Mr Tsui Sai Cheung
Mr Raymond Leung Kwok Kee
Senior Labour Officer
  Mr Cheung Sing Hung, BBS   Mr Cheng Kai Ming
Mr David Tam Siu Mun
Labour Officer
       
Miss Gloria Kam Wing Yin
Labour Officer
       


Representatives of the HKSAR attend the 98th Session of the International Labour Conference.
Representatives of the HKSAR attend the 98th Session of the International Labour Conference.

Representatives of the HKSAR attend the plenary session of the International Labour Conference together with the tripartite members of the Chinese delegation, including the Vice Minister of the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security, Mr Wang Xiaochu (2nd from right in first row), Vice Chairman of All China Federation of Trade Unions, Mr Xu Zhenhuan (2nd from left in the first row), and Vice President of China Enterprise Confederation, Mr Chen Lantong (1st from left in front row).
Representatives of the HKSAR attend the plenary session of the International Labour Conference together with the tripartite members of the Chinese delegation, including the Vice Minister of the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security, Mr Wang Xiaochu (2nd from right in first row), Vice Chairman of All China Federation of Trade Unions, Mr Xu Zhenhuan (2nd from left in the first row), and Vice President of China Enterprise Confederation, Mr Chen Lantong (1st from left in front row).

The Conference was attended by more than 4 000 government, employer and employee delegates and advisers from 183 member States of ILO. The HKSAR representatives attended the ILO Summit of the Global Jobs Crisis, the plenary sessions of the Conference and meetings of the Committee on the Application of Standards, Committee on HIV/AIDS, Committee on Gender Equality and Committee of the Whole on Crisis Responses.

The 99th Session of the International Labour Conference

The 99th Session of the International Labour Conference was held from 2 to 18 June 2010. The HKSAR also sent a tripartite team to the Conference as part of the Chinese delegation. Members of the team were:

Government
Representatives
Employer
Representatives
Employee
Representatives
Mrs Cherry Tse Ling Kit Ching, JP
Commissioner for Labour
  Mr Ho Sai Chu, GBS, JP   Mr Leung Chau Ting
Mr Byron Ng Kwok Keung, JP
Assistant Commissioner for Labour
  Mr Stanley Hui Hon Chung, JP   Mr Chung Kwok Sing
Miss Drew Lai Sai Ming
Senior Administrative Officer
  Mr Irons Sze, JP   Mr Lee Tak Ming
Mr Raymond Leung Kwok Kee
Senior Labour Officer
       
Mr David Tam Siu Mun
Labour Officer
       


Representatives of the HKSAR attend the 99th Session of the International Labour Conference.
Representatives of the HKSAR attend the 99th Session of the International Labour Conference.

Over 5 000 government, employer and employee delegates and advisers from 183 member States of ILO participated in the Conference. The HKSAR representatives attended the plenary sessions of the Conference and meetings of the Committee on the Application of Standards, Committee on Domestic Workers, Committee on HIV/AIDS, Committee for the Recurrent Discussion on Employment and Committee on the 1998 Declaration.

3.7 Contacts with ILO
  LAB also maintained liaison and interflow with ILO officials.

September 2010

Visit by ILO officials

The Regional Director of ILO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific, Dr Sachiko Yamamoto, and the Director of ILO Country Office for China and Mongolia, Ms Ann Herbert, visited the HKSAR and shared with LAB members on regional priorities and challenges of the labour scene.

Commissioner for Labour, Mrs Cherry Tse Ling Kit Ching (6th from right), and LAB Members meet the Regional Director of ILO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific, Dr Sachiko Yamamoto (5th from right), and the Director of ILO Country Office for China and Mongolia, Ms Ann Herbert (6th from left).
Commissioner for Labour, Mrs Cherry Tse Ling Kit Ching (6th from right), and LAB Members meet the Regional Director of ILO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific, Dr Sachiko Yamamoto (5th from right), and the Director of ILO Country Office for China and Mongolia, Ms Ann Herbert (6th from left).

勞工顧問委員會報告 2009-2010第三章 2009-2010年度的活動
3.1 引言
  勞工顧問委員會(勞顧會)在2009年1月1日至2010年12月31日期間舉行了10次會議。透過這些會議,勞顧會主席就勞工法例、勞工行政事宜和執行措施,以及其他事項諮詢委員的意見。

3.2 勞工法例的諮詢
  勞顧會討論了四個有關香港僱員福利的勞工法例項目,有關項目及其截至2010年12月31日的進度載列如下:

《僱傭條例》
  • 改善對勞資審裁處/小額薪酬索償仲裁處的裁斷的執行。
    • 勞顧會於2008年12月10日通過有關建議。在《2009年僱傭(修訂)條例草案》刊登憲報及其後立法會法案委員會的討論後,勞顧會於2010年1月12日再次討論有關建議。
    • 《2009年僱傭(修訂)條例草案》於2010年4月28日獲立法會通過,其後成為《2010年僱傭(修訂)條例》,並由2010年10月29日起生效。
《破產欠薪保障條例》
  • 擴大破產欠薪保障基金的保障範圍,以涵蓋根據《僱傭條例》可享有而未放取的年假及法定假日薪酬。
    • 勞顧會於2009年5月25日通過建議以涵蓋未放取的年假薪酬,並於2010年3月22日通過修訂建議,以進一步涵蓋未放取的法定假日薪酬。
《僱員補償條例》及《肺塵埃沉着病及間皮瘤(補償)條例》
  • 按照檢討所得的名義工資指數的累積增長,提高《僱員補償條例》下五個補償項目的金額2.34%。至於金額按照檢討結果應予以下調的其他《僱員補償條例》項目及各個《肺塵埃沉着病及間皮瘤(補償)條例》的補償項目,則將補償金額維持在現有水平。
    • 勞顧會於2010年1月12日通過有關建議。
    • 根據《僱員補償條例》第48A條提出的修訂議案於2010年6月30日獲立法會通過。新的補償金額已由2010年8月1日起生效。
《最低工資條例》
  • 立法制定最低工資。
    • 勞顧會討論了一連串有關立法落實法定最低工資的務實課題,包括相關人士對為殘疾人士作特別安排的意見、受法定最低工資涵蓋的僱員及為進行學員實習的僱員提供的豁免安排。勞顧會於2009年2月到訪殘疾人士工作地點,以增加對不同類別殘疾人士的工作情況及其生產能力的差異的了解。
    • 勞顧會於2010年12月6日支持有關認可評估員的資格及評估方法的建議。
    • 《最低工資條例》於2010年7月17日獲立法會通過。首個法定最低工資水平定於2011年5月1日實施。

3.3 勞工行政事宜/執行措施的諮詢
  當局曾就下列勞工行政事宜/執行措施諮詢勞顧會:
  • 勞顧會察悉勞工處在處理假自僱問題上所採取的措施及為假自僱人士提供的保障,並提供意見。
  • 勞顧會察悉由政府統計處進行有關年齡因素在就業方面的重要性的統計調查結果。
  • 勞顧會察悉由政府統計處進行的「2009年收入及工時按年統計調查」的主要結果。該調查是為配合法定最低工資的實施而進行,提供全港僱員的詳細資料、就業及人口特徵等統計數據。
  • 勞顧會察悉勞工處為僱主和僱員制訂的法定最低工資參考指引擬稿,並提供意見。

3.4 其他法例/措施的諮詢
  當局曾通報或諮詢勞顧會下列有關勞工事宜的其他法例及措施:
  • 勞顧會對財經事務及庫務局就「檢討企業拯救程序立法建議」的公眾諮詢文件,有關「臨時監管」及處理「未償付的僱員應得款項」的方案,發表意見。
  • 勞顧會對財經事務及庫務局就「重寫《公司條例》-《公司條例草案》擬稿第一期諮詢」的公眾諮詢文件,有關人數驗證、披露董事住址及董事和公司秘書的身份證明文件號碼等,發表意見。
  • 勞顧會對平等機會委員會就《殘疾歧視條例僱傭實務守則》修訂版的公眾諮詢文件,發表意見。
  • 勞顧會對強制性公積金計劃管理局就有關強制性公積金供款的最低及最高有關入息水平的檢討結果,發表意見。

3.5 監察「補充勞工計劃」
  勞顧會負責監察「補充勞工計劃」,以及審核該計劃下的輸入勞工申請。根據本地工人優先就業的原則,「補充勞工計劃」只在僱主無法覓得本地工人填補職位空缺的情況下,才容許僱主輸入屬技術員級別或以下的勞工。勞顧會在2009-2010年度共審核了約1 100宗輸入勞工的申請。

勞顧會自1996年8月成立了補充勞工計劃工作小組,研究就處理該計劃下輸入勞工申請所訂的審批指引,以及討論在審核時勞顧會委員意見相異的申請個案。

為確保「補充勞工計劃」有效地達致其政策目標,政府定期就該計劃的運作進行檢討,並諮詢勞顧會的意見。

工作小組的職權範圍、成員組織及名單載於附錄VI

3.6 參加國際勞工大會
  除向勞工處處長就勞工事宜提供意見外,勞顧會委員亦以中國代表團成員的身份,出席一年一度在瑞士日內瓦舉行的國際勞工大會。

國際勞工大會提供了一個寶貴的場合,讓勞顧會委員能夠與國際勞工組織各成員國的代表會面,交換意見,分享經驗及建立關係,從而加深委員對國際勞工事務的接觸及了解。

第98屆國際勞工大會

第98屆國際勞工大會於2009年6月3日至19日舉行。香港特別行政區(香港特區)派出三方代表,以中國代表團成員的身份出席大會。三方代表的成員如下:

政府代表   僱主代表   僱員代表
勞工處副處長(勞工事務行政)
黃國倫先生,JP
  何世柱先生,GBS,JP
 
  吳慧儀女士,MH
勞工處助理處長
梁蘇淑貞女士,JP
  劉展灝先生,BBS,MH,JP   崔世昌先生
高級勞工事務主任
梁國基先生
  張成雄先生,BBS   鄭啟明先生
勞工事務主任
談小敏先生
       
勞工事務主任
甘詠賢小姐
       


出席第98屆國際勞工大會的香港特區全體代表。
出席第98屆國際勞工大會的香港特區全體代表。

香港特區代表與中國代表團的三方成員,包括人力資源和社會保障部副部長王曉初(前排右二)、全國總工會副主席徐振寰(前排左二)及中國企業聯合會執行副會長兼理事長陳蘭通(前排左一),一同出席國際勞工大會的全體會議。
香港特區代表與中國代表團的三方成員,包括人力資源和社會保障部副部長王曉初(前排右二)、全國總工會副主席徐振寰(前排左二)及中國企業聯合會執行副會長兼理事長陳蘭通(前排左一),一同出席國際勞工大會的全體會議。

這次會議有超過4 000名來自國際勞工組織183個成員國的政府、僱主和僱員代表及顧問參加。香港特區代表出席全球就業危機高峰會和大會的全體會議,並參與標準實施委員會、愛滋病毒/愛滋病委員會、性別平等委員會及應對危機全體委員會的會議。

第99屆國際勞工大會

第99屆國際勞工大會於2010年6月2日至18日舉行。香港特區亦派出三方代表,以中國代表團成員的身份出席大會。三方代表的成員如下:

政府代表 僱主代表 僱員代表
勞工處處長
謝凌潔貞女士,JP
  何世柱先生,GBS,JP   梁籌庭先生
勞工處助理處長
吳國强先生,JP
  許漢忠先生,JP   鍾國星先生
高級政務主任
黎細明小姐
  施榮懷先生,JP   李德明先生
高級勞工事務主任
梁國基先生
       
勞工事務主任
談小敏先生
       


出席第99屆國際勞工大會的香港特區全體代表。
出席第99屆國際勞工大會的香港特區全體代表。

超過5 000名來自國際勞工組織183個成員國的政府、僱主和僱員代表及顧問參加這次會議。香港特區代表出席大會的全體會議,並參與標準實施委員會、家庭工人委員會、愛滋病毒/愛滋病委員會、有關就業的周期性討論委員會及1998年宣言委員會的會議。

3.7 與國際勞工組織的聯繫
  勞顧會亦與國際勞工組織的官員保持聯繫和交流。

2010年9月

國際勞工組織官員訪港

國際勞工組織亞洲及太平洋地區局局長山本幸子博士和中國及蒙古局局長霍百安女士與勞顧會委員會面,分享亞太區在勞工事務方面的首要工作重點及面對的挑戰。

勞工處處長謝凌潔貞(右六)及勞顧會委員與國際勞工組織亞洲及太平洋地區局局長山本幸子(右五)和中國及蒙古局局長     霍百安(左六)會面。
勞工處處長謝凌潔貞(右六)及勞顧會委員與國際勞工組織亞洲及太平洋地區局局長山本幸子(右五)和中國及蒙古局局長霍百安(左六)會面。