POLICY STUDY ON STANDARD WORKING HOURS

The Labour Department has completed the policy study on standard working hours (SWH). The study aims to provide a solid and objective basis for an informed and in-depth discussion on the important subject of SWH, and stimulate the exchange of views among people from different sectors for reference and follow-up by the Standard Working Hours Committee.

   

 The policy study covers the following three major areas:

the regimes and experience of other places in regulating working hours;

the latest working hours situation of employees in various sectors of Hong Kong; and

assessment of the possible impact of introducing SWH in Hong Kong.

The report, executive summary and overview of the policy study on SWH are given below:

Report of the
Policy Study on
Standard Working Hours
(pdf)

 

Report of the
Policy Study on
Standard Working Hours –
Executive Summary
(pdf)

 

Policy Study on
Standard Working Hours –
Overview
(pdf)

Working hours policy is a highly complex and contentious subject which involves a myriad of interrelated social and economic issues. Given the widespread and far-reaching implications that it will bring to our labour market and economy, it is necessary for the community to examine and discuss these issues thoroughly before coming to a view on the matter.

The Government has set up the Standard Working Hours Committee comprising members drawn from the labour sector, business sector, academia, community and government which serves as a good platform to follow up on the policy study on SWH and to gauge the views of the community.

標準工時政策研究

勞工處已完成標準工時的政策研究。研究的目的是要提供一個堅實及客觀的基礎,從而推動社會各界就標準工時這重要的議題作出知情及深入的討論,並鼓勵各界人士提出意見,讓標準工時委員會參考和跟進。

   
 政策研究包括以下三個主要部分︰

其他地方在規管工時方面的制度和經驗;

有關香港各行各業僱員最新工時情況的統計數據;以及

評估在本港設立標準工時的影響。

標準工時政策研究的報告、摘要及概覽載列如下︰

標準工時
政策研究報告
(pdf)

 

標準工時
政策研究報告摘要
(pdf)

 

標準工時
政策研究概覽
(pdf)

工時政策是極其複雜而又備受爭議的課題,涉及林林總總的社會和經濟問題,對勞工市場以至香港經濟帶來廣泛而深遠的影響。在有所定論之前,社會人士必須先對這些事項詳加研究及討論。

政府已成立標準工時委員會(「委員會」),包括來自勞工界、工商界、學術界、社會各界和政府的委員。委員會提供一個良好的平台,跟進標準工時政策研究,並了解各界人士的意見。