Sound Trade Union Management

Establishment of a Management System

Sound trade union management is built on a good management system. A trade union should establish an institutional and systematic management framework for its affairs to be developed and conducted effectively.

Apart from complying with the Trade Unions Ordinance (TUO), the rules of a trade union should also set adequate boundaries for the administration and management of the trade union. In addition, a trade union may need to make various rules such as standing orders in conducting meetings, election models, complaint procedures and so on, as appropriate, for its Executive Committees to follow when handling union affairs and developing the union.

Elements of Sound Trade Union Management

Being elected by members and hence entrusted to handle routine union affairs, trade unions officers should endeavour to carry out their duties faithfully for their trade unions to develop. Sound trade union management carries the following elements:

  • Knowledge of relevant legislation - Trade union officers should have a good grasp of legislation relating to union operation, such as the TUO, so that their unions are managed without infringing the law.
  • Abide by the rules - Trade union officers should familiarize themselves with the rules of their unions to ensure that union affairs are conducted according to what have been stipulated.
  • Fairness – Trade union members should have the rights and obligations accorded to them by the rules.
  • Transparency - The management of a trade union should be highly transparent so that members may keep track of the union’s development and monitor its operation.
  • Open-mindedness – Trade unions should have good communication channels in place to enable members to express their views. An Executive Committee should adopt an open-mind in listening to the views of the members and offer responses actively. Good interaction with members provides for effective union management.
  • Sound financial management - A good financial management system enables the Executive Committee to have a better grasp of the financial position of the trade union. It also facilitates the officers responsible for managing financial matters in compiling the annual accounts at the end of each financial year for the auditing by the auditor and endorsement at the general meeting.
  • Regular review - Trade unions should regularly review their union rules and evaluate the operation of union affairs with a view to making timely improvements, so that the rules are able to deal with the development of the union and facilitate its smooth operation.
  • Autonomy - Trade unions are autonomous bodies. Employees unions should not be subject to any interference from employers in their establishment, functioning or administration, and vice versa for employers trade unions. In particular, employers should not attempt to promote the establishment of employees unions under their domination, or to support employees unions by financial or other means, with the object of placing such organisations under their control.

To help trade union officers acquire knowledge of trade union legislation and fundamental account management, the Registry of Trade Unions conducts from time to time various kinds of courses. The timetables of these courses are distributed to all registered trade unions so that those who are interested may enroll.

健全職工會管理

建立系統化的管理

健全的職工會管理建基於完善的管理制度。因此,各職工會應按其需要,建立制度化及系統化的管理架構,以發展及執行會務。

職工會的規則除必須符合《職工會條例》的規定外,亦需就職工會的行政管理作出足夠的規範。除此以外,職工會可按其需要制訂各種的規則,例如會議常規、選舉方法或投訴程序等,讓理事會能依循有關的規定,處理會務及拓展工會的工作。

健全職工會管理的元素

作為由會員推選出來負責處理日常會務的代理人,職工會的職員應竭盡所能及忠誠地執行其職責以促進職工會的發展。健全的職工會管理包含以下的一些元素:

  • 認識相關的法例 - 職工會職員應對與其會務運作有關的法例,包括《職工會條例》等,有良好的掌握,以確保職工會的管理符合法例的規定。
  • 遵守規則 - 職工會職員應清晰明瞭工會所訂立的規則,以確保會務按規則的規定展開。
  • 公平 - 職工會會員享有按規則所訂定的權利與義務。
  • 公開 - 職工會的管理應具高度透明度,讓會員明瞭會務的發展及監察會務的運作。
  • 開明 - 職工會應建立良好的溝通機制,讓會員表達意見。理事會應持開放態度聆聽會員的意見,並積極作出回應,務求在與會員互動下使職工會的管理更見成效。
  • 良好的財務管理 - 良好的財政管理制度可以讓理事會易於掌握職工會的收支狀況,亦方便負責財務管理的職員於財政年度完結時編制周年帳目表,供核數師審核及會員大會表決通過。
  • 定期檢討 - 職工會應定期檢討規則及會務運作,適時作出改進,讓規則能與職工會的發展互相配合,以確保會務可以順利進行。
  • 自主:職工會是一獨立自主的組織。僱員職工會不應在建立、運作和管理等方面受到僱主的干預;反之對僱主工會來說亦然。此外,僱主亦不應透過財政或其他方式,以建立僱員職工會及支配或控制僱員職工會的管理和運作。

職工會登記局不時舉辦各類型的課程,讓有需要的職工會職員可掌握《職工會條例》的要點,及有關的基礎帳目管理知識。各類課程的時間表會發送予各已登記的職工會,歡迎有興趣的職工會職員報讀。