Frequently Asked Questions about
The Minimum Wage Ordinance, Cap. 608
Wage items and wages payable


Q1 :

In determining whether wages meet the minimum wage requirement, which items are included? What are wages payable to an employee?

A1 :

The definition of wages for SMW is aligned closely with that under the Employment Ordinance. Unless otherwise specified in the Employment Ordinance, “wages” means all remuneration, earnings, allowances (including travelling allowances, attendance allowances, commission, overtime pay), tips and service charges, however designated or calculated, capable of being expressed in terms of money, payable to an employee in respect of work done or to be done, subject to certain exclusions(Note). For example, contractual bonus (not of a gratuitous nature or payable at the discretion of the employer) payable to an employee when certain conditions are met (e.g. sales amount) is part of wages. For detailed definition of wages under the Employment Ordinance, please refer to A Concise Guide to the Employment Ordinance published by the Labour Department.

According to the Minimum Wage Ordinance, since the calculation of minimum wage excludes the time that is not hours worked, payment made to the employee for any time that is not hours worked (e.g. rest day pay, holiday pay, annual leave pay, maternity leave pay, paternity leave pay, sickness allowance, etc.) must not be counted as part of the wages payable to the employee in the calculation of minimum wage. The Minimum Wage Ordinance also sets out whether certain sums should be counted as wages payable to an employee in respect of a wage period in specific situations in order to determine whether the wages meet the minimum wage requirement.

If wages payable to the employee in respect of the wage period are less than the minimum wage, he is entitled to be paid the difference (i.e. “additional remuneration”). The contract of employment of the employee must be taken to provide that the employee is entitled to additional remuneration in respect of that wage period. The additional remuneration also applies in calculating entitlements under other relevant legislation.

Note :
According to the Employment Ordinance, the following items are not wages:
i.
the value of any accommodation, education, food, fuel, water, light or medical care provided by the employer;
ii.
employer’s contribution to any retirement scheme;
iii.
commission, attendance allowance or attendance bonus which is of a gratuitous nature or is payable only at the discretion of the employer;
iv.
non-recurrent travelling allowance or the value of any travelling concession or travelling allowance for actual expenses incurred by the employment;
v.
any sum payable to the employee to defray special expenses incurred by him by the nature of his employment;
vi.
end of year payment, or annual bonus which is of a gratuitous nature or is payable only at the discretion of the employer; and
vii.
gratuity payable on completion or termination of a contract of employment.

 

Q2 :

In determining whether wages meet the minimum wage requirement, is end of year payment included?

A2 :

The definition of wages for SMW is aligned closely with that under the Employment Ordinance.  According to the Employment Ordinance, the definition of wages does not include end of year payment (i.e. any annual payment (including double pay, 13th month payment, end of year bonus, etc.) of a contractual nature, and the contract of employment can be made orally or in writing and can include express or implied terms) and annual bonus which is of a gratuitous nature or is payable only at the discretion of the employer.  Hence, in determining whether wages meet the minimum wage requirement, end of year payment, or annual bonus which is of a gratuitous nature or is payable only at the discretion of the employer, is similarly not included.

 

 

Q3 :

Are rest days of employees paid? Is it required that rest days be remunerated at the SMW rate?

A3 :

Neither the Minimum Wage Ordinance nor the Employment Ordinance prescribes that rest days should be paid.  Whether rest days are with pay or otherwise and the calculation method of rest day pay (including whether rest days are remunerated at the SMW rate) are employment terms in accordance with the employment contract or agreement between employers and employees. Where necessary, employers and employees should seek consensus on the concerned employment terms on lawful, sensible and reasonable grounds through labour-management communication and consultation.

According to the Employment Ordinance, employers should not unilaterally vary the employment terms and conditions of employees. The Labour Department stands ready to assist employers and employees to resolve their problems and reach consensus. If employees suspect that their employment rights have been undermined, they could seek help from the Labour Department. The Labour Department will actively follow up such cases.

Note: Employees are entitled to paid statutory holidays and paid annual leave if they meet the relevant requirements of the Employment Ordinance.  For details, please refer to A Concise Guide to the Employment Ordinance published by the Labour Department.

《最低工資條例》(第608章)
工資項目及須支付工資
 
問 1 :

在判斷工資是否已符合最低工資的要求時,哪些項目包括在內?何謂須支付予僱員的工資?

答 1 :

法定最低工資緊貼《僱傭條例》工資的定義。除《僱傭條例》另有規定外,工資是指僱主以金錢形式支付僱員作為其所做或將要做的工作的所有報酬、收入、津貼(包括交通津貼、勤工津貼、佣金、超時工作薪酬)、小費及服務費,不論其名稱或計算方法,但不包括若干項目(註)。舉例說,僱員因符合某項準則(例如營業額)而根據僱傭合約獲支付的非賞贈性或非由僱主酌情發給的獎金,屬工資的一部分。有關《僱傭條例》就工資的詳細定義,請參閱勞工處印備的《僱傭條例簡明指南》。

根據《最低工資條例》,非工作時數的時間,不會用於計算最低工資。因此,在計算最低工資時,就非工作時數而支付予僱員的款項(例如休息日薪酬、假日薪酬、年假薪酬、產假薪酬、侍產假薪酬、疾病津貼等),同樣算作須就工資期支付予僱員的工資的一部分。《最低工資條例》因應不同情況列明一些款項是否屬於須就工資期支付予僱員的工資,以判斷僱員的工資是否已符合最低工資的要求。

如就工資期須支付予僱員的工資少於最低工資,僱員有權就該工資期獲支付這差額(即「額外報酬」)。該僱員的僱傭合約須視為他有權就該工資期獲得額外報酬,而該額外報酬亦適用於計算根據其他相關法例所應獲得的款項。

註: 根據《僱傭條例》,以下項目不屬於工資:

  1. 僱主提供的居所、教育、食物、燃料、水電或醫療的價值;

  2. 僱主為僱員退休計劃的供款;

  3. 屬於賞贈性質或由僱主酌情發給的佣金、勤工津貼或勤工花紅;

  4. 非經常性的交通津貼、任何交通特惠的價值或僱員因工作引致的交通費用的實際開銷;

  5. 僱員支付因工作性質引致的特別開銷而須付給僱員的款項;

  6. 年終酬金或屬於賞贈性質或由僱主酌情發給的每年花紅;及

  7. 完成或終止僱傭合約時所付的酬金。


 

問 2 :

在判斷工資是否已符合最低工資的要求時,年終酬金是否包括在內?

答 2 :

法定最低工資緊貼《僱傭條例》工資的定義。根據《僱傭條例》,工資的定義不包括年終酬金(即按僱傭合約(包括口頭或書面、明言或暗示)訂明每年發放的酬金,包括雙糧、第13個月糧、年尾花紅等)或屬於賞贈性質或由僱主酌情發給的每年花紅。因此,在判斷僱員的工資是否已符合最低工資的要求時,亦同樣不包括年終酬金或屬於賞贈性質或由僱主酌情發給的每年花紅。

 

問 3 :

僱員的休息日是否有薪?是否須用法定最低工資水平計算休息日薪酬?

答 3 :

《最低工資條例》和《僱傭條例》均沒有規定休息日必須為有薪。休息日有薪與否及休息日薪酬的計算方法(包括是否按法定最低工資水平計算),屬僱傭服務條件,是按照僱傭合約或勞資雙方的協議而定。勞資雙方如有需要,應透過溝通和協商,在合法、合情和合理的基礎上就僱傭合約的有關條款尋求共識。

根據《僱傭條例》,僱主不可以單方面更改僱傭合約的條款。勞工處會積極協助勞資雙方解決問題,以取得共識。僱員如懷疑其僱傭權益受損,可向勞工處求助,勞工處會積極跟進有關個案。

註:如僱員符合《僱傭條例》的規定,可享有有薪的法定假日(俗稱勞工假或節假)及有薪年假,詳情請參閱勞工處印備的《僱傭條例簡明指南》。