Frequently Asked Questions about
The Minimum Wage Ordinance, Cap. 608

Hours worked


Q1 : What should be counted as hours worked for computing the minimum wage?
A1 :

According to the Minimum Wage Ordinance, for the purpose of computing the minimum wage, hours worked (including any part of an hour) include any time when the employee is, in accordance with the contract of employment or with the agreement or at the direction of the employer:

* in attendance at a place of employment, irrespective of whether he is provided with work or training at that time; or
* travelling in connection with his employment, excluding travelling (in either direction) between his place of residence and his place of employment (other than a place of employment that is outside Hong Kong and is not his usual place of employment).

A place of employment means any place at which the employee is, in accordance with the contract of employment or with the agreement or at the direction of the employer, in attendance for the purpose of doing work or receiving training.

Apart from the provisions of the Minimum Wage Ordinance, if the time in question is regarded as hours worked by the employee under the employment contract or agreement with the employer, such time should be included in computing the minimum wage.

 

Q2 :

Is it required that any part of an hour be rounded up to one whole hour in counting hours worked for computing the minimum wage?

A2 :

The Minimum Wage Ordinance does not require that any part of an hour be rounded up to one whole hour in counting hours worked for computing the minimum wage. The Ordinance only provides that any part of an hour should be included in the hours worked for the SMW computation. Therefore, if the hour worked is less than one whole hour, the minimum wage should be computed based on the actual period of time worked.

Example:

The total number of hours worked by an employee in a wage period, including overtime work of eight hours and 45 minutes, is 208 hours and 45 minutes (i.e. 208.75 hours). The SMW rate is $34.5 per hour (with effect from 1 May 2017). The minimum wage of the employee according to the total number of hours worked for that wage period shall be:

208.75 hours (total number of hours worked) × $34.5 (SMW rate) = $7,201.9 (minimum wage)

 

Q3 :

Are meal break of employees counted as hours worked for computing the minimum wage?

A3 :

When an employee during his meal break also falls under the circumstances of hours worked as specified in the Minimum Wage Ordinance, such meal break is hours worked for computing the minimum wage. Hence, if an employee is, during his meal break, in accordance with the employment contract or with the agreement or at the direction of the employer, in attendance at a place of employment, irrespective of whether he is provided with work or not, such time should be included in the hours worked for computing the minimum wage. On the contrary, meal break falling outside the provisions on hours worked under the Minimum Wage Ordinance is not included in the hours worked for computing the minimum wage.

Besides, if meal break is regarded as hours worked by the employee according to his employment contract or agreement with the employer, such time must also be taken into account in computing the minimum wage. Although the Employment Ordinance does not provide specific regulation for meal break, after an employer and his employee have included meal break as hours worked by the employee in accordance with their employment contract or agreement, the employer shall not unilaterally vary or remove such contractual terms or agreement concerning hours worked. The Employment Ordinance already accords protection to employees in this respect.

《最低工資條例》(第608章)
工作時數
 
問 1 :

哪些時間屬計算最低工資的工作時數?

答 1 :

根據《最低工資條例》,用以計算最低工資的工作時數(不足一小時亦須計算在內),包括僱員按照僱傭合約、在僱主同意下或根據僱主的指示:

*留駐僱傭地點當值的時間,而不論當時有否獲派工作或獲提供培訓;或
*在關乎受僱工作的情況下用於交通的時間,但不包括用於往來居住地方及僱傭地點(位於香港以外的非慣常僱傭地點除外)的交通時間。

僱傭地點是指僱員按照僱傭合約、在僱主同意下或根據僱主的指示,為執行工作或接受培訓而留駐該地點當值的任何地點。

除《最低工資條例》列明外,如按照僱傭合約或僱傭雙方的協議,有關時間被視為僱員的工作時數,則在計算最低工資時,該段時間也應包括在內。

 

問 2 :

在計算最低工資時,不足一小時的工作時數是否也要算作一小時?

答 2 :

在計算最低工資時,《最低工資條例》沒有規定不足一小時的工作時數要以一小時計算,法例只是規定不足一小時的工作時數亦須計算在內。因此,不足一小時的工作時數亦須按實際工作的時間計算。

例子:

僱員在某一工資期內包括超時工作8小時45分鐘在內的總工作時數為208小時45分鐘(即208.75小時),法定最低工資水平為每小時34.5元(由2017年5月1日起),僱員於該工資期按總工作時數計算的最低工資應為:

208.75小時(總工作時數)× 34.5元(法定最低工資水平)= 7,201.9元(最低工資)

 

 

問 3 :
僱員的用膳時間是否屬於計算最低工資的工作時數?
答 3 :

如僱員在用膳時間也同時處於《最低工資條例》工作時數所指的情況,該用膳時間便屬於計算最低工資的工作時數。因此,如僱員在用膳時間是按照僱傭合約、或在僱主同意或指示下而留駐僱傭地點當值,則不論該僱員當時有否獲派工作,該段時間應包括在計算最低工資的工作時數內。相反,如僱員在用膳時間不是《最低工資條例》工作時數所指的情況,該用膳時間便不屬於計算最低工資的工作時數。

此外,如按照僱傭合約或勞資雙方的協議,用膳時間是屬於僱員的工作時數,計算最低工資時亦須包括這些用膳時間。雖然《僱傭條例》沒有就用膳時間作出硬性規定,但如勞資雙方經已按照僱傭合約或協議,將用膳時間計算入僱員的工作時數內,則僱主不可以單方面更改或取消有關工作時數的合約條款或協議,《僱傭條例》已就這方面為僱員提供保障。