Frequently Asked Questions about
The Minimum Wage Ordinance, Cap. 608

Additional remuneration


Q1 :
Can employers deduct the amount of additional remuneration paid from employees’ wages of subsequent wage periods?
A1 :

If wages payable to the employee in respect of the wage period are less than the minimum wage, he is entitled to be paid the difference (i.e. “additional remuneration”). The contract of employment of the employee must be taken to provide that the employee is entitled to additional remuneration in respect of that wage period. The additional remuneration also applies in calculating entitlements under other relevant legislation. Therefore, employers cannot deduct the amount of additional remuneration paid from employees’ wages of subsequent wage periods.

 

Q2 :

If the total wages of an employee fall below the minimum wage in a wage period during which he earns no attendance bonus, does the employer need to pay him additional remuneration?

A2 :

An employee is entitled to be paid wages in respect of any wage period of not less than the minimum wage. The minimum wage for a wage period is the amount derived by multiplying the total number of hours (including any part of an hour) worked by the employee in the wage period by the SMW rate. If wages payable to the employee in respect of the wage period are less than the minimum wage, he is entitled to be paid the difference (i.e. “additional remuneration”).

Therefore, if wages payable to an employee in respect of a wage period are less than the minimum wage because he does not earn any attendance bonus, his employer has to pay him additional remuneration in accordance with the Minimum Wage Ordinance to meet the minimum wage requirement.

《最低工資條例》(第608章)
額外報酬
 
問 1 :
僱主支付額外報酬後,可否在僱員其後的工資期扣減有關款項?
答 1 :

如就工資期須支付予僱員的工資少於最低工資,僱員有權就該工資期獲支付這差額(即「額外報酬」)。該僱員的僱傭合約須視為他有權就該工資期獲得額外報酬,而該額外報酬亦適用於計算根據其他相關法例所應獲得的款項。因此,僱主不可以在僱員其後的工資期扣減有關的額外報酬。

 

問 2 :

僱員在某工資期內因未能領取勤工獎而令整體工資低於最低工資,僱主是否須向他支付額外報酬?

答 2 :

僱員有權就任何工資期,獲支付不少於最低工資的工資。僱員於工資期內的總工作時數(不足一小時亦須計算在內),乘以法定最低工資水平,所得的款額便是該工資期的最低工資。如就工資期須支付予僱員的工資少於最低工資,僱員有權就該工資期獲支付這差額(即「額外報酬」)。

因此,如僱員因未能領取勤工獎而導致他就該工資期須獲支付的工資低於最低工資,僱主須根據《最低工資條例》向僱員支付額外報酬,以符合最低工資的要求。