Frequently Asked Questions on Occupational Safety and Health
Scaffolds

Q1.

What qualifications are required to become a competent person for metal scaffolds?Answer 

Q2. What qualifications are required to become a competent person for bamboo scaffolds?Answer

 
Content
 
Q1. What qualifications are required to become a competent person for metal scaffolds?
A1.

A competent person for metal scaffolds shall be, by reason of substantial training and practical experience, competent to perform his/her duty. The "Code of Practice for Metal Scaffolding Safety" issued by the Commissioner for Labour provides a general guidance that 'substantial training and practical experience" of a competent person refers to a person:

  1. who has satisfactorily completed a full-time formal training in metal scaffolding work organized by the Construction Industry Council Training Academy(CICTA), former Construction Industry Training Authority, or other similar metal scaffolding training courses/programmes and has possessed an experience of 4 years or more in scaffolding work (inclusive of experience under any formal training period); or
  2. who has at least possessed a higher certificate in civil or structural engineering and has satisfactorily completed a metal scaffolding training course/programme organized by the CICTA or other similar metal scaffolding training courses/programmes and has possessed an experience of 1 year or more in scaffolding work (inclusive of experience under any formal training period); or
  3. who has satisfactorily passed the Trade Test on Metal Scaffolding of the CICTA and has possessed an experience of 4 years or more in scaffolding work (inclusive of experience under any formal training period),

AND

has the ability to read and understand the scaffolding plan, design drawings, specifications and method statement of the scaffolding work in order to competently supervise the scaffolding work and certify that the scaffolding is in safe working order. He/She should also be capable of identifying existing and predictable hazards in the surroundings or working conditions that are unsanitary or hazardous to employees.

Back to question

 

Q2. What qualifications are required to become a competent person for bamboo scaffolds?
A2.

A competent person for bamboo scaffolds shall be, by reason of substantial training and practical experience, competent to perform his/her duty. The "Code of Practice for Bamboo Scaffolding Safety" issued by the Commissioner for Labour provides a general guidance that 'substantial training and practical experience" of a competent person refers to a person:

  1. who has satisfactorily completed a formal training in bamboo scaffolding works such as an apprenticeship in the trade of bamboo scaffolder under section 28 of the Apprenticeship Ordinance (Cap. 47) or 1-year full-time basic craft course on construction scaffolding works of the Construction Industry Council Training Academy (CICTA), former Construction Industry Training Authority, or other similar bamboo scaffolding training courses/programmes, or has satisfactorily passed the trade test for bamboo scaffolder of the CICTA;
  2. who possesses an experience of 10 years or more in bamboo scaffolding works (inclusive of experience under the formal training period); and
  3. who has the ability to read and understand the scaffolding plan, design drawings, specifications and method statement of the scaffolding work in order to competently supervise the scaffolding work and certify that the scaffolding is in safe working order. He should also be capable of identifying existing and predictable hazards in the surroundings or working conditions that are unsanitary or hazardous to employees.

職業安全及健康
棚架
問1. 金屬棚架「合資格的人」須具備甚麽資格? 答 案
問2. 竹棚架「合資格的人」須具備甚麽資格?答 案

 
問答全文
 
問1. 金屬棚架「合資格的人」須具備甚麽資格?
   
答1.

金屬棚架「合資格的人」,須因其所受的實質訓練及實際經驗,有足夠能力執行其職責。勞工處處長發出的《金屬棚架工作安全守則》對「合資格的人」須曾受「實質訓練及實際經驗」提供指引,是指該人:

  1. 已完成建造業議會訓練學院(前建造業訓練局)舉辦的金屬棚架工作全日制正式訓練或其他類似的金屬棚架訓練課程/計劃,並具備四年或以上的金屬棚架工作經驗(包括任何在正式訓練期間取得的經驗)﹔或
  2. 最少具備土木或結構工程高級證書及已完成建造業議會訓練學院舉辦的金屬棚架訓練課程/計劃,或其他類似的金屬棚架訓練課程/計劃,並具備一年或以上的金屬棚架工作經驗(包括任何在正式訓練期間取得的經驗)﹔或
  3. 已在建造業議會訓練學院舉辦的金屬棚工藝技能測試中取得合格的成績,並具備四年或以上的金屬棚架工作經驗(包括任何在正式訓練期間取得的經驗),

以及
能閱讀理解棚架計劃書、設計圖、規格及棚架施工方法說明書,使其能有足夠能力監督棚架工程及證實棚架的安全性。他/她亦應能找出在周圍現存及可預見的潛在危險或能影響僱員衛生或危害僱員的工作環境。

回到問題

 

問2. 竹棚架「合資格的人」須具備甚麽資格?
 
答2.

竹棚架「合資格的人」,須因其所受的實質訓練及實際經驗,有足夠能力執行其職責。勞工處處長發出的《竹棚架工作安全守則》對「合資格的人」須曾受「實質訓練及實際經驗」提供指引,是指該人:

  1. 已圓滿地完成正式的竹棚工作訓練,例如根據第47章《學徒制度條例》第28條所規定的竹棚工學徒訓練,或建造業議會訓練學院 (前建造業訓練局)舉辦的一年全日制建造棚架科基本工藝課程,或其他類似的竹棚訓練課程/計劃,或已在建造業議會訓練學院舉辦的竹棚工技能測試中取得合格的成績。
  2. 具備十年或以上的竹棚架工作經驗(包括在正式訓練期間所取得的經驗);及
  3. 能閱讀理解棚架計劃書、設計圖、規格及棚架施工方法說明書,使其能有足夠能力監督棚架工程及證實棚架的安全性。他亦應能找出在周圍現存及可預見的潛在危險或能影響僱員衛生或危害僱員的工作環境。

回到問題