Frequently Asked Questions about
The Employees' Compensation Ordinance, Cap. 282

Notification of Accident
Q1. How should a work injury or prescribed occupational disease be reported to the Commissioner for Labour?
A1. Responsibility of the employee

An employee should notify the employer when he sustains a work injury or when he is confirmed that he has contracted an occupational disease specified by the Employees' Compensation Ordinance as soon as possible. Failure to give prompt notice may jeopardize and delay the claim of employees’ compensation. Notice may be given orally or in writing to the employer or to the employee’s supervisor. The employer is presumed to have had notice of an accident if the employee dies on the employer’s premises.

Responsibility of the employer

According to section 15 of the Ordinance, an employer must notify the Commissioner for Labour of any work accident or prescribed occupational disease by Form 2, Form 2A or Form 2B, as the case may be, irrespective of whether the accident or the occupational disease gives rise to any liability to pay compensation. Work injury cases in general should be reported in 14 days' time while the fatal cases in 7 days' time.

If the employer is not aware of the happening of the accident within the respective periods, he must notify the Commissioner for Labour within 7 or 14 days, as the case may be, after the accident came to his knowledge.

Any employer who, without reasonable excuse, delays or fails to give notice of an accident or makes or furnishes any false or misleading statement to the Commissioner for Labour is liable to prosecution and, upon conviction, to a maximum fine of $50,000.

If the injured employee has doubt as to whether his employer has reported the work injury or the prescribed occupational disease to the Commissioner for Labour, he could notify the Employees’ Compensation Division (Operations) of the Labour Department at its Central Processing Team office or a nearby office. The office, upon receipt of the notification of the employee, will ask the employer in writing to report the work injury or the prescribed occupational disease according to the requirement of the Ordinance, if the notification from the employer has not yet been received.

香港法例第 282章 《僱員補償條例》

呈報工傷意外事故
   
問1. 僱員若遭遇工傷意外或患上《僱員補償條例》指明的職業病,應怎樣向勞工處處長呈報?
答1.

僱員責任
僱員若不幸遭遇工傷意外或被證實患上《僱員補償條例》指明的職業病,應盡快向僱主報告,以免妨礙及延誤僱員補償事宜。報告可以口頭方式或以書面向僱主或主管提交。若意外引致僱員死亡,而死亡地點是在僱主的處所,則僱主將被視為已接獲通知。

僱主責任
《僱員補償條例》第15條規定,僱主在工傷意外或僱員患上該條例指明的職業病後,不論該意外或職業病是否引起任何支付補償的法律責任,僱主必須以表格2、2A或2B向勞工處處長呈報。工傷個案須於14天內呈報,死亡個案須於7天內呈報。

若僱主並非在上述期限內獲悉有關事件,則須於知悉事件後7天或14天內(視乎上述情況而定),向勞工處處長呈報。

僱主如沒有合理原因而逾期或未有向勞工處處長呈報僱員工傷事件,或提供虛假或具誤導性的資料,即屬違例,最高可被判罰款五萬元。

僱員若懷疑僱主並沒有就其工傷意外或指明職業病向勞工處處長呈報,可按發生工傷意外地點所屬地區直接通知有關的勞工處僱員補償科分區辦事處,如屬指明職業病,則按僱傭地點。辦事處在收到僱員的通知後,若確定還未收到僱主的呈報,會以書面要求僱主按《僱員補償條例》的規定,呈報有關工傷意外或指明職業病個案。