A Guide to the Factories and Industrial Undertakings 
(Safety Management) Regulation

2. Duty of proprietor and contractor

2.2  Prepare, revise, etc. safety policy

A proprietor or contractor specified in Appendix I should ?

  • prepare and revise when necessary a written policy statement in relation to the safety policy of his industrial undertaking;

    There is no rule about the appropriate length of a written policy statement. One possible approach is to set out the safety policy in the written policy statement in a fairly general terms, and to refer the readers to other documents for full details, such as in-house safety rules, safety checklist, safety training programmes, and emergency instructions. The written policy statement (including its revisions), should be signed by top management (e.g. the managing director) and dated.

  • bring such statement and its revision to the notice of all workers;

    The policy statement and its revisions can be posted on notice boards or by internal circulation down to all workers.

  • keep a copy of the statement;
  • make a copy of the statement available for inspection upon request by an occupational safety officer;
  • review the safety policy -
  1. at least once in every two years;
  2. as soon as is practicable after the policy statement is altered.
To maintain an effective safety management system which has the mechanism of self-regulating and self-improving, the safety policy should be reviewed from time to time with performance measurement and safety audits.  When there is a change of particulars in the policy statement, including its core elements such as change in organisational structure, the safety policy has also to be reviewed accordingly.  A review may also be prompted by changes of particulars due to internal or external factors such as changes in technology, legislation or standards.

A written policy statement should have "the core elements" of -

  •  a statement of the proprietor's or contractor's general policy setting down in clear and unambiguous terms the management's approach and commitment to safety and health at work; 

    The safety policy should be specific and relevant to the nature of the work undertaken at the undertaking.  It should be able to convey the general intentions, approach and objectives of the undertaking as well as the criteria and principles on which its actions and responses are based. 

  • the system of allocation of responsibilities for the carrying out of the policy; and

    Whilst the overall responsibility for safety and health rests at the highest management level, that is, the proprietor or the contractor of the undertaking, many of the duties arising from that responsibility may be delegated to managers and supervisors.  In fact, all individuals at every level will have to accept certain degrees of responsibility for carrying out the policy.  Whenever possible, key individuals should be named and their responsibilities defined.

  • the arrangements as to how the responsibilities are to be executed.

    It is important that employees of all levels in the undertaking should be able to see from the statement how they fit into the system, and, for example, what their own duties and whom they should go, to report an accident or a hazard, or to obtain first aid or other help. 


 
Contents
1. Introduction
2. Duty of proprietor and contractor
3. Duty of registered safety auditor, safety review officer and scheme operator 
4. Penalty
5. Related occupational safety and health publications published by the Labour Department 
6. Useful information
Appendix

工厂及工业经营(安全管理)规例指南

2. 东主及承建商的责任

2.2 拟备及修改安全政策及有关事宜

附录I指明的东主或承建商应─

  • 就其工业经营的安全政策拟备一份政策说明书,并在有需要时修改该说明书;

    政策说明书的适当长度并无准则,其中一个可行方法,是在说明书内列明一些比较概括性的措辞,而阅读者可另行参阅全面的详细资料,例如内部安全规则、安全事项核对表、安全训练计划及紧急程序。政策说明书(包括其更新版本)应由高层管理职员签署(例如董事总经理)及写上日期。

  • 将该说明书及其更新版本通知所有工人;

    政策说明书及其更新版本可以张贴在布告板上或内部传阅至所有工人。

  • 备存该说明书的文本一份;
  • 在职业安全主任索阅时,提供该说明书的文本一份供其查阅;
  • 检讨安全政策─
    • 每2年内进行至少一次;
    • 于更改政策说明书后,在切实可行的情况下尽快进行。

    应以表现标准及安全审核的结果,以作定期检讨安全政策,这是维持一个有自我监管及自我改善机制的有效安全管理制度。当政策内的事项有改变,包括核心元素(例如:机构的架构改变),应检讨安全政策。此外,内部或外间的因素改变,例如:技术、法例或标准的改变,也可促使安全政策作出检讨。

政策说明书应包括以下的「核心元素」─

  • 东主或承建商的一般政策的说明,当中列明一个清晰及绝不含糊的工作安全与健康管理方法及承诺;

    安全政策应该是特定及与该工业经营的工作相关的。同时,政策应可以表达工业经营的整体意向、方法及目标,与及行动和反应所依据的标准和原则。

  • 为实行该政策而订定的责任分配制度;及

    尽管安全与健康的整体责任在于最高管理阶层,即是工业经营的东主或承建商,但很多上述的责任都可授权给经理及管工。事实上,各阶层员工对推行政策均应负上若干程度上的责任。应尽可能列出各主要人士的姓名/职位,及订明他们的责任。

  • 关于如何执行该等责任的安排。

    说明书应该可让工业经营的各阶层员工知道他们在这制度上的编配情况。例如:他们的职责是什么?他们寻求意见时、报告意外时或发生危险时、或是寻求急救或其他帮助时应联络何人?


 
 
[目录 [1. 引言]
[2. 东主及承建商的责任]  [3. 注册安全审核员、安全查核员及计划营办人的责任]
[4. 罚则] [5. 劳工处出版的相关职安健刊物]
[6. 资料查询] [附录]