Chapter 6 Employee Rights and Benefits
The Programme of Employee Rights and Benefits
           (www.labour.gov.hk/eng/erb/content.htm)

6.1 The objective of the Employee Rights and Benefits Programme is to improve and safeguard employee rights and benefits in an equitable manner. Our aim is to progressively enhance employment standards in a way which is commensurate with the pace of Hong Kong's economic and social developments and which strikes a reasonable balance between the interests of employers and employees. We achieve this by:
  • setting and refining employment standards in consultation with the Labour Advisory Board;
  • ensuring compliance with statutory and contractual terms and conditions of employment through inspection to workplaces, investigation into suspected breaches of the statutory provisions and prosecution of offenders;
  • processing employees' compensation claims;
  • maintaining close partnership with statutory bodies set up for protecting the rights and benefits of employees; and
  • providing customer-oriented information to ensure that employees and employers know their rights and obligations.
  go to top
   
6.2 The principal legislation administered by this programme area includes the Employees' Compensation Ordinance (ECO), the Pneumoconiosis (Compensation) Ordinance (PCO), the Employment Ordinance (EO) and its subsidiary Employment of Children Regulations and Employment of Young Persons (Industry) Regulations, as well as Part IVB of the Immigration Ordinance.
  go to top
   
6.3 The ECO establishes a no-fault, non-contributory employee compensation system under which individual employers are liable to pay compensation for work-related injuries or fatalities. The ordinance requires all employers to possess valid insurance policies to cover their liabilities under the ordinance and at common law.
  go to top
   
6.4 The PCO provides compensation to persons who suffer from pneumoconiosis. Compensation is paid from the Pneumoconiosis Compensation Fund, which is administered by the Pneumoconiosis Compensation Fund Board.
  go to top
   
6.5 The EO is the main piece of legislation governing conditions of employment in the non-government sector. The Employment of Children Regulations made under the EO prohibit the employment of children below the age of 15 in industrial undertakings and regulate the employment of children who have attained the age of 13 but under 15 in non-industrial establishments. The Employment of Young Persons (Industry) Regulations set out requirements on the working time arrangements for young persons employed in the industrial sector and prohibit their employment in dangerous trades.
  go to top
   
6.6 The Labour Department also administers Part IVB of the Immigration Ordinance to combat illegal employment in order to protect the employment opportunities of local workers.
  go to top
   
Our Work and Achievements in 2007
Key Indicators of Work
6.7 We stepped up our efforts to safeguard the rights and benefits of employees through various activities in 2007. Some key indicators of work of this programme area are shown in Figure 6.1.
  go to top
   
Amendments to the Pneumoconiosis (Compensation) Ordinance
6.8 In 2007, we reviewed the PCO and proposed to extend its coverage to include cancerous mesothelioma. The legislative exercise to implement the proposal was conducted with priority so that eligible mesothelioma sufferers could be accorded with the same compensation and benefits as those for pneumoconiotics as early as possible.
  go to top
   
Stepping Up Enforcement against Wage Offences
6.9 The department takes a serious view on wage default and has put in place effective arrangements to enforce statutory provisions governing payment of wages. In 2007, the department continued to step up prosecution against employers and responsible persons of companies for wage offences. We conducted territory-wide blitz operations and inspections to workplaces to detect wage offences. Labour inspectors actively interviewed employees during territory-wide routine inspections to combat wage offences and conducted investigation speedily into the suspected offences. The Employment Claims Investigation Division also conducted in-depth investigation into suspected wage offences under the EO promptly. Prosecutions were taken out against the employers and the company responsible persons whenever sufficient evidence was available.
  go to top
   
6.10 With the department continuing in stepping up enforcement action in 2007, the number of summonses heard in respect of wage offences rose to 1 225, representing an increase of 17.5 per cent over the figure of 1 043 summonses in 2006. As for summonses convicted, the number was 960 for 2007 as against 785 in 2006, an increase of 22.3 per cent. Five company directors and two other employers were given custodial sentences in 2007 for defaulting wage payments. Community service order was first imposed on two company directors for committing wage offences. On the other hand, an employer was fined $150,000. These sentences should have sent a strong message to employers on the seriousness of wage defaults.
  go to top
   
Vigorous Enforcement to Protect Employee Rights and Benefits
6.11 We continued our vigorous enforcement efforts to ensure that the statutory rights of employees under labour legislation are well protected.
  go to top
   
6.12 In 2007, labour inspectors carried out 131 818 workplace inspections to establishments in different trades to enforce labour laws and in 131 224 of such inspections, they also checked the employees' proof of identity and the employee records kept by employers to deter illegal employment. (Figure 6.2) We strengthened the collection and analysis of intelligence on illegal employment activities, and organised 170 operations with the Police and the Immigration Department.
  go to top
   
6.13 We conducted routine inspections and trade-targeted operations to enforce the compulsory requirement of taking out employees' compensation insurance policy under the Employees' Compensation Ordinance. In the year, a total of 63 595 inspections were conducted to enforce the statutory requirement. Employers failing to comply with the requirement were prosecuted.
  go to top
   
6.14 In the year, we continued to work closely with government departments in monitoring their service contractors to ensure that non-skilled employees of the contractors enjoyed their statutory rights and benefits. A total of 685 inspections were conducted to the workplaces of such workers and 2 055 workers were interviewed to check contractors' compliance with labour laws.
  go to top
   
6.15 To ensure compliance with the required conditions under the Supplementary Labour Scheme, we investigated 61 complaints and cases on suspected irregularities involving imported workers such as allegations of deprivation of statutory holidays or rest days, late payment / underpayment of wages.
  go to top
   
Improvement to the Employees' Compensation Insurance System
6.16 In consultation with the Labour Department and the Insurance Authority, the Hong Kong Federation of Insurers launched the Employees' Compensation Insurance Residual Scheme on May 1, 2007. The scheme serves as a market of last resort to assist employers, in particular those in the high risk groups, who have difficulties finding employees' compensation insurance cover.
  go to top
   
Processing Employees' Compensation Cases
6.17 Under the current no-fault employees' compensation system, compensation is payable to injured employees or family members of deceased employees for any work-related injuries or deaths. Claims for compensation involving fatality are determined by the courts or the Commissioner for Labour under the improved settlement mechanism introduced in August 2000.
  go to top
   
6.18 Information on employees' compensation cases reported is shown in Figures 6.3 and 6.4. We processed and settled 31 834 non-fatal cases involving sick leave exceeding three days which were reported in 2007. These included 12 238 cases settled directly between employers and employees. Compensation amounting to $9.3 million and $220 million respectively was payable to the injured employees in minor cases and in cases involving sick leave exceeding three days.
  go to top
   
6.19 For the 50 235 employees' compensation cases reported in 2006, 46 913 non-fatal cases with sick leave exceeding three days and 157 fatal cases were settled as at the end of 2007. A sum of $631 million was payable as compensation to the injured employees or family members of deceased employees. The number of working days lost was 1 211 650.5. (Figure 6.5)
  go to top
   
6.20 The Loan Scheme for Employees Injured at Work and Dependants of Deceased Employees provides temporary relief to victims of work accidents. Under the scheme, an interest-free loan up to $15,000 in each case will be made to eligible applicants. In 2007, a total loan of $105,000 was approved in seven applications.
  go to top
   
Processing Claims Related to Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS)
6.21 As at the end of 2007, the Labour Department arranged a total of 371 employees infected with SARS to receive assessments by the Employees' Compensation Assessment Board in respect of respiratory impairment. Since some of the SARS employees had other complications and had received treatment from other specialties, such as orthopaedic, psychiatry and endocrine, the department also arranged assessments for these employees by the relevant specialties. As a result of the department's active follow-up action, the statutory compensation claims in seven fatal cases and 283 non-fatal cases were resolved upon the issue of certificates of compensation assessment by the department as at year-end.
  go to top
   
Briefings and Promotional Campaigns
6.22 In 2007, we arranged eight briefings for government departments and 44 briefings for imported workers, to publicise the rights and obligations of the parties concerned.
  go to top
   
6.23 Extensive publicity campaigns were launched to warn against illegal employment. We widely publicised our complaint telephone hotline (2815 2200) through press releases, posters, advertisements on tram body and inside train compartments, as well as distribution of souvenirs etc. to encourage members of the public to provide intelligence on illegal employment activities.
 
A tram advertisement to remind employers not to employ illegal workers.
A tram advertisement to remind employers not to employ illegal workers.
  go to top
   
6.24 We strengthened promotion on timely reporting of work accidents by employers and publicity on employers' statutory obligation to take out insurance policies to cover their liabilities for injuries at work sustained by their employees through TV and radio announcements, leaflets, posters, newspapers, departmental homepage and seminars on the ECO.
 
Snapshot of a seminar on the Employees' Compensation Ordinance.
Snapshot of a seminar on the Employees' Compensation Ordinance.
  go to top
   
6.25 We actively educated employers and employees about their rights and obligations under the ECO. In the year, we held 15 talks on ECO, and published eight articles on the handling of employees' compensation cases in the press.
  go to top
   
Partnership with Statutory Bodies
6.26 We maintain close partnership with various statutory bodies that are set up for implementing the different schemes for the protection of the rights and benefits of employees.
  go to top
   
Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund Board
6.27 The Protection of Wages on Insolvency Ordinance (PWIO) provides for the establishment of the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund and its administration by a board. Under the PWIO, employees who are owed wages, wages in lieu of notice and severance payment by their insolvent employers may apply to the fund for ex gratia payment within six months after their last day of service.
  go to top
   
6.28 We provide administrative support to the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund Board, verify applications and approve payment from the fund. In 2007, we received 4 836 applications, a substantial drop of 36 per cent as compared with 7 532 in 2006. This is an all-time low since 1990. A breakdown of applicants classified by economic sector is shown in Figure 6.6. During the year, we processed 5 789 applications, leading to payment of $95 million. The financial position of the fund also improved continuously and recorded a surplus of $442 million for 2007.
  go to top
   
6.29 By providing a safety net for employees affected by business closures, the fund plays an important role in maintaining harmonious labour relations and social stability. Both the department and the fund board attach great importance to protecting the fund from abuse. To this end, stringent vetting procedures are in place to process all applications. An inter-departmental task force has been formed by representatives of the Labour Department, Official Receiver's Office, Commercial Crime Bureau of the Police Force and Legal Aid Department to take concerted actions against suspected fraudulent cases.
  go to top
   
Pneumoconiosis Compensation Fund Board
6.30 The Pneumoconiosis Compensation Fund Board (PCFB) is established under the PCO to provide compensation to persons suffering from pneumoconiosis. The board is financed by a levy collected from the construction and quarrying industries. Under the PCO, the Labour Department is responsible for determining whether an applicant is entitled to compensation. As at the end of 2007, 1 910 eligible persons were receiving compensation in the form of monthly payments from the PCFB. In the year, the board made a total compensation payment of $149 million.
  go to top
   
Employees Compensation Assistance Fund Board
6.31 The Employees Compensation Assistance Fund Board (ECAFB) is set up under the Employees Compensation Assistance Ordinance (ECAO). The ECAFB is responsible for running the Employees Compensation Assistance Scheme which provides payment to injured employees who are unable to receive their entitlements for employment-related injuries from their employers or insurers. In 2007, the board approved 68 applications, leading to payment of $59.6 million. With effect from April 1, 2004, the Employees Compensation Insurer Insolvency Bureau established by the insurance industry has taken over from the ECAFB the responsibility of meeting the liabilities arising from employees' compensation insurance policies in the event of the insolvency of the relevant insurers.
  go to top
   
Occupational Deafness Compensation Board
6.32 The Occupational Deafness Compensation Board is established under the Occupational Deafness (Compensation) Ordinance to provide compensation and reimbursement of expenses incurred in purchasing, repairing and replacing hearing assistive devices to those persons who suffered from noise-induced deafness due to employment in specified noisy occupations. The board also has an important role in providing educational and publicity programmes for the prevention of occupational deafness, and providing rehabilitation programmes for those suffering from noise induced-deafness by reason of employment. During the year, the board approved 47 applications for compensation with a total compensation payout at $4.6 million and 289 applications for payment of expenses on hearing assistive devices with a total payout at $710,000. The board also provided 321 rehabilitation programmes for people having occupational deafness.

第六章 雇员权益及福利
雇员权益及福利纲领
         (www.labour.gov.hk/erb/content.htm)

6.1 雇员权益及福利纲领的宗旨,是以公平方式,改善和保障雇员的权益及福利。我们的目标是逐步提高雇佣标准,以配合香港经济和社会的发展步伐,从而在劳资双方的利益之间取得合理平衡。我们透过以下方式达致这个目标:
  • 订定和修订雇佣标准,并就此征询劳工顾问委员会;
  • 透过视察工作场所、调查涉嫌违反法定条款的个案和检控违法雇主,以确保雇主遵守有关的法定及合约雇佣条件;
  • 处理雇员的工伤补偿声请;
  • 与各个为保障雇员权益而设立的法定机构保持紧密合作;以及
  • 为雇员和雇主提供以客为本的资讯,确保他们认识本身的权利和责任。
  返回页首
   
6.2 在本纲领下执行的主要法例包括《雇员补偿条例》、《肺尘埃沉着病(补偿)条例》、《雇佣条例》及附属的《雇用儿童规例》和《雇用青年(工业)规例》,以及《入境条例》第IVB部的条文。
  返回页首
   
6.3 《雇员补偿条例》设立了一个不论过失及毋须供款的雇员补偿制度,在这制度下,个别雇主需负责就因工伤亡的个案支付补偿。该条例规定所有雇主必须持有有效的保险单,以便他们能负起在《雇员补偿条例》及普通法下所应承担的责任。
  返回页首
   
6.4 《肺尘埃沉着病(补偿)条例》规定发放补偿予患上肺尘埃沉着病的人士。补偿款项来自肺尘埃沉着病补偿基金,而该基金由肺尘埃沉着病补偿基金委员会管理。
  返回页首
   
6.5 《雇佣条例》是规管非政府机构的雇佣条件的主要法例,其附属的《雇用儿童规例》禁止雇主雇用15岁以下的儿童在工业机构内工作,并对非工业机构雇用年满13岁但未足15岁的儿童作出规管;而《雇用青年(工业)规例》则规定受雇于工业机构的青年的工作时间安排;以及禁止青年受雇于危险行业。
  返回页首
   
6.6 此外,劳工处亦负责执行《入境条例》第IVB部的条文,以遏止雇用非法劳工,从而保障本地工人的就业机会。
  返回页首
   
二零零七年的工作概况和成绩
主要的工作表现指标
6.7 劳工处在二零零七年进行了多项工作,加强保障雇员的权益和福利。这纲领下的主要工作表现指标载于图六‧一
  返回页首
   
《肺尘埃沉着病(补偿)条例》的修订
6.8 在二零零七年,我们检讨了《肺尘埃沉着病(补偿)条例》,并建议扩阔其保障范围至包括癌症间皮瘤。我们正优先处理实施有关建议的立法工作,以期合资格的间皮瘤患者能尽快获得与肺尘埃沉着病患者相同的补偿和福利。
  返回页首
   
加强对欠薪个案的执法行动
6.9 劳工处非常关注雇主拖欠雇员工资的情况,并采取有效的措施,以执行有关支付工资的法例。在二零零七年,部门继续加强检控违例欠薪的雇主和公司负责人。我们到全港各区的工作场所进行突击检查和视察,以查看是否有雇主违例欠薪。劳工督察在全港的工作场所进行例行巡查时,主动与雇员面谈,以查探是否有欠薪个案。如发现违例个案,劳工督察会即时作出调查。雇佣申索调查科亦就涉嫌违反《雇佣条例》的欠薪罪行迅速地作出深入调查。如有足够证据,我们会立即检控雇主和公司负责人。
  返回页首
   
6.10 由于劳工处在二零零七年加强执法,就雇主违例欠薪发出并由法院审结的传票增加至1 225张,较二零零六年的1 043张上升了17.5%。在二零零七年,因欠薪而被定罪的传票共有960张,较二零零六年的785张上升了22.3%。年内,五名公司董事及两名雇主因欠薪而被判处监禁刑罚。此外,首次有两名公司董事因违反欠薪罪行被判处社会服务令,并有另一名雇主被罚款15万元。上述裁决对雇主发出了强烈的信息,令他们明白到拖欠工资的严重性。
  返回页首
   
严厉执法‧保障雇员权益
6.11 我们继续严厉的执法工作,确保劳工法例下雇员的法定权益得到充分保障。
  返回页首
   
6.12 在二零零七年,劳工督察对不同行业的机构进行了131 818次巡查执行劳工法例,并于其中131 224次行动同时查核雇员的身分证明文件及雇主备存的雇员纪录,以打击雇用非法劳工。 (图六‧二) 我们加强收集及分析非法雇佣活动的情报,并联同警方及入境事务处进行170次联合行动。
  返回页首
   
6.13 我们透过例行巡查及对特定行业机构进行特别视察行动,执行《雇员补偿条例》下强制购买工伤补偿保险的规定。年内,我们进行了63 595次巡查以执行有关规定,并检控违反规定的雇主。
  返回页首
   
6.14 在二零零七年,劳工处继续与有外判服务的政府部门保持紧密合作,监察雇用非技术工人的承办商,以保障雇员的权益。年内,我们共进行685次有关工作地点的巡查,与2 055名工人进行面谈,以查核承办商有否遵守劳工法例。
  返回页首
   
6.15 为确保雇主遵守「补充劳工计划」的规定,我们调查了61宗投诉和涉嫌违规个案,调查事项包括指称雇主不给予输入劳工法定假日、迟付 / 短付工资。
  返回页首
   
改善雇员补偿保险制度
6.16 经与劳工处及保险业监督商讨后,香港保险业联会于二零零七年五月一日推行「雇员补偿联保计划」,为在投购雇员补偿保险时遇到困难的雇主(特别是高风险行业的雇主)提供后援市场。
  返回页首
   
处理雇员补偿个案
6.17 根据现时不论过失的雇员补偿制度,如雇员因工伤亡,该受伤雇员或身故雇员的家庭成员可获补偿。涉及死亡个案的索偿由法院裁决,或根据在二零零零年八月推行的改良机制,由劳工处处长裁定。
  返回页首
   
6.18 劳工处接获雇员补偿个案的资料载列于 图六‧三图六‧四。年内,我们处理了共31 834宗所呈报涉及病假超过三天的受伤个案,当中包括12 238宗由雇主与雇员直接解决的个案。支付给轻伤个案及病假超过三天个案的受伤雇员的补偿金额分别是930万元及2.20亿元。
  返回页首
   
6.19 在二零零六年呈报的50 235宗雇员补偿个案中,截至二零零七年年底,我们已处理46 913宗病假超过三天的受伤个案及157宗死亡个案,应支付给受伤雇员或身故雇员的家庭成员的补偿金额约6.31亿元,涉及的损失工作日数为1,211,650.5日。(图六‧五)
  返回页首
   
6.20 工伤贷款计划为工伤意外的受伤雇员及因工死亡雇员的家人提供临时援助。根据该计划,每宗个案的合资格申请人最多可获免息贷款15,000元。在二零零七年,经批核的申请有七宗,贷款总额为10.50万元。
  返回页首
   
处理与严重急性呼吸系统综合症(简称「沙士」)有关的索偿
6.21 截至二零零七年年底,劳工处已安排371名感染「沙士」的雇员接受「雇员补偿评估委员会」有关呼吸系统方面的判伤。由于部分雇员有其他后遗症,并曾接受有关的专科如骨科、精神科、内分泌科的治疗,劳工处亦为这些雇员安排有关的专科评估。经积极跟进,截至年底,分别有七宗死亡个案及283 宗受伤个案的法定补偿申索,透过劳工处签发评定补偿金额的证明书而获得解决。
  返回页首
   
简报会及宣传活动
6.22 年内,我们为政府部门举办八次简报会,并为外地劳工举办44次简介会,向有关人士讲述他们的权利和责任。
  返回页首
   
6.23 我们进行广泛宣传,警惕雇主切勿聘用非法劳工。我们透过新闻稿、宣传海报、电车车身广告、在地铁列车内张贴宣传海报、派发纪念品等广泛宣传劳工处的投诉热线(2815 2200),以鼓励市民提供非法雇佣活动的情报。
 
透过电车车身广告,提醒雇主切勿雇用非法劳工。
透过电车车身广告,提醒雇主切勿雇用非法劳工。
  返回页首
   
6.24 我们加强宣传雇主须依法呈报工伤及为其雇员投购工伤补偿保险的法定要求。推广工作包括在电视、电台播放宣传短片及声带,派发单张和张贴海报,并在报章、劳工处网页及《雇员补偿条例》研讨会作宣传。
 
雇员补偿条例研讨会剪影。
雇员补偿条例研讨会剪影。
  返回页首
   
6.25 我们积极向雇主及雇员推广他们在《雇员补偿条例》下的权利和责任。年内,我们举行了15场有关《雇员补偿条例》的讲座,及在报章刊登八篇有关处理雇员补偿个案的文章。
  返回页首
   
与法定机构合作
6.26 我们与多个法定机构保持紧密合作。这些法定机构按法规成立,以推行各项保障雇员权益的计划。
  返回页首
   
破产欠薪保障基金委员会
6.27 《破产欠薪保障条例》设立破产欠薪保障基金(下称「基金」),而该基金由一个委员会负责管理。根据《破产欠薪保障条例》,雇员如因雇主无力偿债而被拖欠工资、代通知金及遣散费,可向该基金申请特惠款项。有关的申请须在雇员最后一个工作天后六个月内提出。
  返回页首
   
6.28 劳工处为破产欠薪保障基金委员会(下称「破欠基金委员会」)提供行政支援,并查核基金接获的申请及批核特惠款项。在二零零七年,我们共接获4 836宗申请,较二零零六年的7 532宗,大幅下调36%,亦是自一九九零年以来的最低水平。按经济行业划分的申请人数载列于(图六‧六) 。年内,我们共处理5 789宗申请,发放的款项达9,500万元。基金的财政状况亦持续改善,在二零零七年录得4.42亿元盈余。
  返回页首
   
6.29 基金为因公司倒闭而受影响的雇员提供安全网,在维持良好的劳资关系和社会稳定方面,担当重要的角色。本处与破欠基金委员会对防止基金被滥用极为关注。为此,我们订有严格的审查机制处理所有申请,并设有一个「跨部门专责小组」,成员包括劳工处、破产管理署、警务处商业罪案调查科及法律援助署的代表,就怀疑欺诈个案作出联合的打击行动。
  返回页首
   
肺尘埃沉着病补偿基金委员会
6.30 肺尘埃沉着病补偿基金委员会是根据《肺尘埃沉着病(补偿)条例》成立,以便为肺尘埃沉着病患者提供补偿金。该委员会的经费来自向建造业及石矿业收取的征款。根据《肺尘埃沉着病(补偿)条例》,劳工处负责评定申请人是否有资格获得补偿。在二零零七年年底,共有1 910 名合资格人士按月获基金委员会发放补偿金。年内,委员会发出的补偿款项共1.49亿元。
  返回页首
   
雇员补偿援助基金管理局
6.31 雇员补偿援助基金管理局是根据《雇员补偿援助条例》成立。该局负责管理雇员补偿援助计划,为因工受伤而未能向雇主或其承保人取得应得补偿的雇员提供援助。在二零零七年,管理局共批准68宗申请,发放款项达5,960万元。由二零零四年四月一日起,保险业成立的保险公司(雇员补偿)无力偿债管理局,在雇员补偿保险人无力偿债的情况下,替代雇员补偿援助基金管理局,履行保险公司在雇员补偿保险单下的赔偿责任。
  返回页首
   
职业性失聪补偿管理局
6.32 职业性失聪补偿管理局是根据《职业性失聪(补偿)条例》成立,为因受雇从事指定高噪音工作而罹患噪音所致失聪的雇员提供补偿金,以及付还购买、维修和更换听力辅助器具的开支。管理局的另一重要工作是教育及宣传防止职业性失聪,及为因工作噪音而失聪的人士提供复康服务。年内,管理局共批准47宗补偿申请,发放补偿款项达460万元。此外,管理局批准289宗有关支付听力辅助器具开支的申请,共支付71万元。管理局亦为因工作噪音而失聪的人士提供了共321项复康活动。