Labour Relations
The Programme of Labour Relations
(www.labour.gov.hk/eng/labour/content.htm)

   3.1    In Hong Kong, employer and employee relations are largely premised on the freely negotiated terms and conditions of employment entered into between the two parties. Employers and employees in Hong Kong are free to form trade unions and participate in union activities. Trade unions are required to be registered under the Trade Unions Ordinance. The objective of the Labour Relations Programme is to maintain and promote harmonious labour relations in the non-government sector. We achieve this by:
  • giving advice on matters relating to conditions of employment, provisions of the Employment Ordinance and good people management practices;

  • providing voluntary conciliation service to help employers and employees resolve their employment claims and disputes;

  • promoting understanding of labour laws and encouraging good labour management practices;

  • adjudicating minor employment claims speedily through the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board; and

  • registering and regulating trade unions to bring about sound and responsible trade union administration.

   3.2    The principal legislation administered by this programme area includes the Employment Ordinance (EO), the Labour Relations Ordinance, the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board Ordinance and the Trade Unions Ordinance (TUO).

   3.3    With the provision of a comprehensive set of employment standards, the EO is the main piece of legislation governing conditions of employment in the non-government sector. The procedures for settling labour disputes in the non-government sector are provided in the Labour Relations Ordinance. The Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board Ordinance establishes a machinery known as the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board (MECAB) to adjudicate minor employment claims when settlement cannot be achieved by conciliation. For the regulation of trade unions, the TUO provides a statutory framework for trade union registration and administration.

Our Work and Achievements in 2006

   Key Indicators of Work
3.4    Some key indicators of work of the Labour Relations Programme Area are contained in Figure 3.1.

   Amendments to the Employment Ordinance
3.5    In 2006, the EO was amended to raise the maximum penalty for wage offences to a fine of $350,000 and imprisonment for three years so as to enhance its deterrent effect. Amendments were also made to the EO to recognise the medical treatment, examination and certification given by registered Chinese medicine practitioners for the purpose of employees' entitlement to benefits under the EO.

   3.6    In December, we introduced an amendment bill into the Legislative Council to modify the existing mode of calculation of statutory entitlements under the EO in order to ensure that all components of wages as defined under the Ordinance (including commission and allowance, etc) are included in the calculation of relevant statutory entitlements.

   Conciliation and Consultation Services
3.7    Our consultation and conciliation services have contributed to the maintenance of industrial peace. In 2006, we handled 101 516 in-person consultations, 199 labour disputes and 24 958 claims. The number of labour disputes and claims handled in 2006 was down by 4 per cent compared with the figure of 26 189 cases in 2005. It was the lowest since 1998. Altogether 70.7 per cent of the cases handled in 2006 were resolved amicably through conciliation, the highest settlement rate since 1994. Three strikes were recorded in 2006. As a result, the number of working days lost per thousand salaried employees and wage earners was 0.02, among the lowest in the world. (Figures 3.2 - 3.7)

   Proactive Efforts to Combat Wage Defaults
3.8    In 2006, the Labour Department maintained its proactive strategy to tackle the problem of non-payment of wages at source. In addition to enhancing publicity and promotion, and stepping up enforcement and prosecution, we made use of the early warning system set up in collaboration with trade unions to gather intelligence on non-payment of wages. The Operation COMBAT continued to proactively forestall problematic restaurants from evading their liabilities to pay wages. The exercise achieved notable results. To enhance the deterrent effect of the EO on wage offences, the maximum penalty for wage offences had been raised from a fine of $200,000 and imprisonment for one year to a fine of $350,000 and imprisonment for three years with effect from March 30, 2006.

   Strengthening Tripartite Co-operation
3.9    To promote tripartite collaboration at the industry level with a view to fostering harmonious labour relations, nine industry-based tripartite committees have been set up in the catering, construction, theatre, logistics, property management, printing, hotel and tourism, cement and concrete as well as retail industries. These tripartite committees provide useful forums for representatives of employers, employees and the Government to discuss issues of common concern in these industries. In the year, exemplary employers were invited to attend meetings of the tripartite committees regularly to introduce to the members their commendable human resources management practices. Members of the committees also participated in large-scale seminars featuring labour-management co-operation and exchanged their experience with other participants. In addition, in collaboration with the tripartite committees for the retail industry and the hotel and tourism industry, we have produced leaflets highlighting good labour management practices for reference of practitioners in the industries.

Regular meetings held to enhance tripartite communication at industry level.
Regular meetings held to enhance tripartite communication at industry level.

   Promotion of Good Employer-Employee Relations
3.10    To promote better public understanding of the EO and good labour management practices, various promotional activities such as talks and roving exhibitions were organised for employers, employees and human resources professionals. A wide range of publications was produced for free distribution to the public. Publicity information was also disseminated through the mass media. In 2006, we organised a number of large-scale seminars for employers and human resources practitioners to facilitate experience sharing and discussion on topics such as good labour relations and enlightened people management practices. In connection with the recognition of registered Chinese medicine practitioners under the EO, two briefings, altogether attracting some 1 000 human resources professionals, were organised to enhance their understanding of the new provisions.

Publications promoting good labour management practices.
Publications promoting good labour management practices.

   3.11    We had established a network of 18 Human Resources Managers' Clubs and organised experience-sharing sessions and briefings for human resources practitioners.

   Adjudication of Minor Employment Claims
3.12    The Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board provides a speedy, informal and inexpensive adjudication service to members of the public. It is empowered to determine employment claims involving not more than 10 claimants for a sum not exceeding $8,000 per claimant.

   3.13    In 2006, the Board recorded 2 510 claims amounting to $10,315,453 and concluded 2 483 claims with a total award of $6,029,109.

   Regulation of Trade Unions
3.14    The Registry of Trade Unions is responsible for the promotion of sound and responsible trade union administration, and is entrusted with the statutory duty to register trade unions, process and register their rules, and examine their annual audited statements of account to ensure that trade unions comply with the TUO.

   3.15    In 2006, 32 new trade unions were registered while four trade unions were deregistered, making up a cumulative total of three registered trade union federations and 757 registered trade unions (comprising 715 employee unions, 21 employer unions and 21 mixed organisations of employees and employers). Please refer to the following webpage for the key trade union statistics: www.labour.gov.hk/eng/labour/content3.htm

   3.16    In the year, the Registry of Trade Unions examined 626 statements of account and conducted 366 inspection visits to trade unions to ensure that their administration and financial management were in compliance with the TUO. To facilitate trade union officers in acquiring knowledge of union law and management, the Registry organised three courses on trade union bookkeeping, auditing and provisions of the TUO.

第三章 劳资关系
劳资关系纲领
(www.labour.gov.hk/labour/content.htm)

   3.1    在香港,雇主与雇员的关系主要是建基于劳资双方自行议定的雇佣条款及条件。本港的雇主和雇员可自由组织职工会及参加职工会活动,而这些职工会须按照《职工会条例》的规定登记。劳资关系纲领的主要宗旨,是维系并促进非政府机构和谐的劳资关系。我们透过以下方式达致这个目标:
  • 就有关雇佣条件、《雇佣条例》条文、良好人事管理措施等事宜提供意见;

  • 提供自愿性质的调解服务,协助雇主和雇员解决申索声请和劳资纠纷;

  • 提高公众对劳工法例的认识,并鼓励雇主采取良好的劳资管理措施;

  • 透过小额薪酬索偿仲裁处迅速仲裁小额薪酬申索声请;以及

  • 为职工会进行登记及作出规管,以促进完善及负责任的职工会管理。

   3.2    本处在这纲领下执行的主要法例,包括《雇佣条例》、《劳资关系条例》、《小额薪酬索偿仲裁处条例》及《职工会条例》。

   3.3    《雇佣条例》提供一套雇佣标准,其复盖范围广泛,是规管非政府机构的雇佣条件的主要法例。《劳资关系条例》订定了调解非政府机构的劳资纠纷的程序,而《小额薪酬索偿仲裁处条例》则确立了一个名为小额薪酬索偿仲裁处的机制,就未能以调解方式解决的小额薪酬索偿个案进行仲裁。在规管职工会方面,《职工会条例》为职工会的登记及管理提供了法定架构。

二零零六年的工作概况和成绩

   主要的工作表现指标
3.4    本纲领的主要工作表现指标载于 图三‧一

   修订《雇佣条例》
3.5    在二零零六年,劳工处就《雇佣条例》作出两项修订,将欠薪的最高刑罚提高至罚款35万元及监禁三年,以更有效遏止欠薪罪行; 我们亦就雇员在条例下有权享有的权益,承认注册中医所进行的医治、身体检查和所发出的核证。

   3.6    于十二月,我们向立法会提交条例草案,建议就《雇佣条例》下法定权益的计算方法作出修订, 以确保在计算雇员的有关法定权益, 条例界定为「工资」的所有组成部份 (包括佣金及津贴等)均被包括在内。

   调解及谘询服务
3.7    劳工处的谘询及调解服务有助劳资双方维持和谐的关系。年内,本处共处理101 516宗市民亲身到本处寻求谘询的个案、199宗劳资纠纷及24 958宗申索声请。二零零六年处理的劳资纠纷和申索个案比二零零五年的26 189宗减少4%,是自一九九八年以来的最低数字。经调解而获圆满解决个案的比率为70.7%,是一九九四年以来最高的调解成功率。年内,本处录得三宗罢工个案,在每1 000名受薪雇员中,因劳资纠纷而损失的工作天平均只有0.02日,是全球最低数字之一。(图三‧二 至 图三‧七)

   致力打击违例欠薪
3.8    在二零零六年,劳工处继续以积极进取的策略,从源头解决欠薪的问题。除了加强宣传和推广工作,以及加强执法和检控外,我们利用与工会建立的预警机制,收集有关拖欠工资的情报。我们亦继续透过「坚壁行动」,以「提早介入,主动出击」的策略,积极防范有问题的食肆雇主逃避支付工资的责任。有关行动的成效显著。为确保《雇佣条例》能更有效遏止欠薪罪行,自二零零六年三月三十日起,欠薪罪行的最高罚则已由罚款20万元及监禁一年,提高至罚款35万元及监禁三年。

   加强三方合作
3.9    为了推广行业层面的三方合作以促进和谐的劳资关系,本处在饮食业、建造业、戏院业、物流业、物业管理业、印刷业、酒店及旅游业、水泥及混凝土业,以及零售业共九个行业,均设有三方小组。这些三方小组为雇主、雇员及政府代表提供有效的途径,让他们商讨业内共同关注的问题。年内,我们定期邀请模范雇主出席三方小组会议,向成员介绍他们的良好人事管理措施。小组成员亦参加了以劳资协作为题的大型研讨会,与其他出席人士交流经验。此外,我们与零售业和酒店及旅游业的三方小组合作,制作关于良好人事管理措施的小册子供业界参考。

定期举行三方会议,促进行业沟通。
定期举行三方会议,促进行业沟通。

   推广良好的劳资关系
3.10    为了提高公众人士对《雇佣条例》和良好人事管理的认识,本处为雇主、雇员和人力资源管理专业人士举办多项推广活动,包括讲座及巡回展览。我们亦出版多类型的刊物,免费派发给市民。我们并透过大众传播媒界宣传有关讯息。劳工处在2006年筹办了多个大型研讨会,与雇主及人力资源管理人员分享及探讨良好劳资关系及开明人事管理措施等课题。我们亦就《雇佣条例》下承认注册中医的事宜,安排了两个研讨会予约1 000名的人力资源管理专业人士,以加强他们对修订条文的认识。

制作刊物,推广良好人事管理措施。
制作刊物,推广良好人事管理措施。

   3.11    我们成立了一个由18个人力资源经理会组成的网络,并为人力资源从业员举办经验分享会。

   小额薪酬申索声请的仲裁
3.12    小额薪酬索偿仲裁处为市民提供快捷、不拘形式而廉宜的仲裁服务。仲裁处获授权裁决申索人的数目不超过十名、而每人申索的款额不超过8,000元的雇佣申索个案。

   3.13    在二零零六年,在仲裁处登记的申索个案达2 510宗,申索款额共10,315,453元。年内共审结2 483宗申索个案,裁定的款额共6,029,109元。

   职工会的规管
3.14    职工会登记局负责推广完善及负责任的职工会管理,并有法定责任为所有职工会登记、审理并登记职工会章程,以及审查职工会周年核讫帐表,以确保他们符合《职工会条例》的规定。

   3.15    在二零零六年,新登记的职工会有32个,而撤销登记的职工会则有四个。综合来说,已登记的职工会联会共有三个,而已登记的职工会则有757个(包括715个雇员工会、21个雇主工会及21个雇员及雇主混合工会)。主要的职工会统计数字载于以下网页: www.labour.gov.hk/labour/content3.htm

   3.16    年内,职工会登记局审查了626份帐目,并到不同的职工会视察共366次,以确保职工会的行政及财务管理符合《职工会条例》的规定。为协助职工会理事掌握有关工会法例及管理的知识,职工会登记局开办了三个有关职工会簿记、审计及《职工会条例》条文的课程。