Chapter 1 Highlights of the Year 2006
   1.1    Employment remains a subject of public concern despite continued improvement in the labour market, with the unemployment rate coming down from 8.5 per cent in mid-2003 to 4.4 per cent at the end of 2006. In the year, we had adopted new measures to better help the less-educated secure work and launched the Wage Protection Movement. Taking a proactive and pragmatic approach with united efforts, the Labour Department had again achieved notable results in various programme areas in 2006.
Employment Services

   Enhanced Employment Services
1.2    Upholding a proactive, innovative, flexible and cost-effective approach in further strengthening our employment service to help the unemployed re-enter the labour market and meet the recruitment needs of employers, we held 15 large-scale job bazaars and 65 district-based job fairs in the year to assist job-seekers in finding jobs and employers in recruiting staff. A record high of 118 937 placements were secured through the Labour Department in 2006. The number of vacancies obtained from the private and public sectors, at 486 134, had also broken past records. Meanwhile, the Interactive Employment Services (iES) website (www.jobs.gov.hk) recorded a historic high of 947 million page views in 2006 and continued to be the most heavily visited government website.

   New Job Centres set up in Yuen Long and North District
1.3    To strengthen the employment service for job-seekers residing in remote areas, the Labour Department set up a new job centre each in Yuen Long and North District in September, bringing the total number of job centres to 12. The new job centres provide a full range of employment services including disseminating up-to-date vacancy information; providing job-search facilities; as well as arranging job referrals, job matching, employment briefings, and district-based job fairs, etc.

The Secretary for Economic Development and Labour, Mr Stephen Ip, officiates at the opening of the Yuen Long Job Centre.
The Secretary for Economic Development and Labour, Mr Stephen Ip, officiates at the opening of the Yuen Long Job Centre.

   Youth Work Experience and Training Scheme (YWETS)
1.4    To recognise the continuous support of employers for YWETS, a presentation ceremony to acknowledge 22 enterprises as "Youth Employment Home Base" - an honourable title for socially responsible employers supporting youth employment - was organised in November for the first time. These employers have, over the years, provided a large number of on-the-job training places to YWETS and offered sustainable employment opportunities to trainees upon completion of the training.

Employers of the "Youth Employment Home Base" with the Secretary for Economic Development and Labour, Mr Stephen Ip (front row, sixth from left), and the Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour), Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung (front row, sixth from right).
Employers of the "Youth Employment Home Base" with the Secretary for Economic Development and Labour, Mr Stephen Ip (front row, sixth from left), and the Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour), Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung (front row, sixth from right).

   Youth Pre-employment Training Programme (YPTP)
1.5    In August, we organised the Prize Presentation Ceremony for the "Most Improved Trainees" of YPTP to present awards to trainees achieving significant improvements in self-development, leadership, as well as social and community services, and to commend the caring efforts of training bodies. The striving stories of trainees had provided the best encouragement to their counterparts and solidly exemplified the achievements of training bodies, employers and the Government in nurturing the development of the young generation.

The 10 "Most Improved Trainees" of YPTP 2005/06.
The 10 "Most Improved Trainees" of YPTP 2005/06.

   Outstanding Disabled Employees Award and Enlightened Employers Award
1.6    These awards are presented to employees with disabilities for their outstanding performance at work and employers for their efforts in providing employment opportunities for people with disabilities. In 2006, 12 disabled employees and 10 employers won the awards.

Winners of the Outstanding Disabled Employees Award 2006 with the Hon Ronald Arculli (sixth from left), Member of the Executive Council, and Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung (fifth from left), the Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour).
Winners of the Outstanding Disabled Employees Award 2006 with the Hon Ronald Arculli (sixth from left), Member of the Executive Council, and Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung (fifth from left), the Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour).

Labour Relations

   Record High Settlement Rate
1.7    The number of working days lost as a result of labour disputes in Hong Kong is among the lowest in the world. Of the 199 labour disputes and 24 958 claims handled in the year, 70.7 per cent were resolved by our conciliation efforts, a record high since 1994. The waiting time for conciliation meetings was further shortened from 2.4 weeks in 2005 to 2.3 weeks in 2006.

   Stepping Up Enforcement Against Wage Offences
1.8    In 2006, the Labour Department sustained its all-out efforts to combat wage offences. Territory-wide inspection campaigns targeted at offence-prone trades were launched. We collected intelligence on non-payment of wages through an early warning system in collaboration with trade unions and continued to tackle wage default problems in the catering industry through the exercise codenamed Operation COMBAT.

During the year, the Employment Ordinance was amended to raise the maximum penalty for wage offences to a fine of $350,000 and imprisonment for three years. The Employment Claims Investigation Division continued to conduct in-depth investigation into suspected wage offences, and to employ former veteran police officers to strengthen the investigative work and collection of intelligence in order to take out speedy prosecution. The department adjusted its enforcement strategy so that prosecution would also be taken out against responsible persons of companies for wage offences.

The department had also stepped up its educational and promotional efforts to remind employers of their statutory obligation to pay wages on time and to encourage employees to lodge claims promptly and come forward as prosecution witnesses.

With rigorous enforcement efforts, a total of 785 convicted summonses on wage offences were secured in 2006; an all-time high and up 33.7 per cent over that of 587 summonses in 2005. Two company directors and one other employer were given custodial sentences for defaulting wage payments. In addition, an employer was fined $114,000 for committing wage offences.

   Enhancing Labour Management Cooperation and Tripartite Dialogue
1.9    To promote harmonious labour relations, a "Workshop on Labour Management Co-operation" was organised in March for employers and trade union representatives. Experts of the International Labour Organization were invited to share with participants the global trends and overseas experience in implementing staff consultation and labour management co-operation practices. In November, a large-scale seminar on tripartite co-operation was staged to promote tripartite communication among the Government, employers and employees. Feature topics including tripartite communication, labour management collaboration and staff communication were well received by the participants.

Employees' Rights and Benefits

   Vigorous Enforcement against Illegal Employment
1.10 In 2006, the Labour Department mounted more intelligence-led operations with the Police and the Immigration Department to clamp down on illegal employment activities. The number of such operations reached 189, up 7 per cent as compared to 176 in 2005. A total of 502 suspected illegal workers and 231 employers suspected of employing illegal workers were arrested in the joint operations.

In the year, we widely publicised the complaint hotline (2815 2200) to encourage the public to report illegal employment activities. A new leaflet was produced and circulated to over two million households as an enclosure in water bills during the billing cycle from July to October 2006 to remind the public not to employ illegal workers.

   Wage Protection Movement for Cleaning Workers and Security Guards (WPM)
1.11 The Chief Executive announced in his 2006 Policy Address that the Government would join hands with the business community and labour sector to launch the WPM. Entities participating in the WPM should pay their cleaning workers and security guards wages not lower than the relevant average market rates, and enter into written employment contracts with these workers. If the workers have to work beyond contractual hours, they should also be suitably compensated.

The Labour Department will continue implementing the WPM through a multi-pronged strategy of promotion, public education, contractual regulation, conciliation and enforcement. A dedicated webpage (www.labour.gov.hk/eng/service/protection/index.htm) and a hotline (2852 3815) have been set up to provide information on the movement and handle enquiries.

Companies participating in the WPM will be awarded a logo as commendation.
Companies participating in the WPM will be awarded a logo as commendation.

   Safeguarding the Rights of Employees of Government Service Contractors
1.12 We continued to conduct vigorous inspections to workplaces of non-skilled workers employed by government service contractors in order to protect their statutory rights and benefits under labour laws. In the year, a total of 659 inspections were conducted. We took out resolute prosecution against contractors who breached the laws. A total of 12 contractors were convicted on 62 summonses.

   Drop in Applications for Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund
1.13 The Labour Department continued its all-out efforts in clamping down at source on employers evading their wage liabilities, thus preventing wage defaults from developing into claims on the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund. The number of applications for the Fund decreased from 9 967 in 2005 to 7 532 in 2006, a record low since 1996. The Fund registered a surplus of $345 million for 2006, the third year that the Fund recorded a surplus since the Asian financial crisis in 1997.

Safety and Health at Work

   New Occupational Health Clinic
1.14 The Kwun Tong Occupational Health Clinic of the Labour Department has been providing clinical occupational health service for workers in Hong Kong since its establishment in 1993. In view of the growing demand, the Labour Department set up the new Fanling Occupational Health Clinic in June 2006 to strengthen its clinical service in the New Territories.

Opening ceremony of the Fanling Occupational Health Clinic.
Opening ceremony of the Fanling Occupational Health Clinic.

   Safety of Renovation and Maintenance Works
1.15 To enhance the safety performance of renovation and maintenance works, the Labour Department continued to intensify enforcement actions to clamp down on offending contractors by further stepping up point-to-point inspections on normal working days, at night and during holidays. Territory-wide blitz operations were also launched resulting in 121 suspension/improvement notices issued and 81 prosecutions taken out. On the educational and promotional front, we held safety talks and seminars as well as staged large-scale promotional campaigns to enhance the safety awareness of people in the trade. We also jointly launched with the Occupational Safety and Health Council a Small and Medium Enterprise Subsidy Scheme to financially assist contractors and employers in need to purchase suitable fall protection equipment to improve the safety standard of working-at-height.

   Safety Award Schemes
1.16 Two safety award schemes were organised for the catering and construction industries in the year to inculcate a safety culture and to enhance the safety awareness of employers, employees and their families. The schemes featured a variety of activities, including safety performance competitions, roving exhibitions, site visits, radio programmes, computer CD-ROM, broadcast of promotional films on "RoadShow" and award presentation ceremonies cum fun days.

Catering Industry Safety Award Scheme Presentation Ceremony 2005/2006.
Catering Industry Safety Award Scheme Presentation Ceremony 2005/2006.

Strengthening Local and International Partnerships

   Labour Day Reception
1.17 On 28 April 2006, the Secretary for Economic Development and Labour Mr Stephen Ip hosted a cocktail reception at the Hong Kong City Hall to celebrate Labour Day and to pay tribute to the workforce. The Chief Executive Mr Donald Tsang Yam-kuen officiated at the reception, with guests from trade unions, employer associations and other organisations.

Toasting by the Chief Executive, Mr Donald Tsang Yam-kuen, and senior government officials during Labour Day Reception.
Toasting by the Chief Executive, Mr Donald Tsang Yam-kuen, and senior government officials during Labour Day Reception.

   Contacts with Other Labour Administrations
1.18 We maintain active liaison and interflow with other labour administrations through visits and participation in relevant activities. In February 2006, the Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour) Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung led a delegation to visit the Ministry of Labour and Social Security of the State Council in Beijing and met with Minister Tian Chengping.

The Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour), Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung (left), meeting Minister Tian Chengping of the Ministry of Labour and Social Security (right) in Beijing.
The Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour), Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung (left), meeting Minister Tian Chengping of the Ministry of Labour and Social Security (right) in Beijing.

   1.19 In June, the Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour) Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung led a tripartite team comprising government, employer and employee representatives to attend the 95th Session of the International Labour Conference in Geneva as part of the Chinese delegation. In August 2006, the Assistant Commissioner for Labour (Employees' Rights and Benefits) Mrs Jenny Chan also led a tripartite team to attend the 14th Asian Regional Meeting in Busan in the name of "Hong Kong, China". Through participation in the events, the representatives kept abreast of the latest development of international labour matters, and strengthened their connections with officials of the International Labour Organization as well as their counterparts in the employer and employee sectors.

In October, the Assistant Commissioner for Labour (Occupational Safety and Health) Mr TSO Sing-hin led a delegation to Dongguan, Guangdong to attend the first Pan-Pearl River Delta Regional Work Safety Co-operation Joint Conference and Work Safety Co-operation and Development Forum, and signed the Pan-Pearl River Delta Regional Work Safety Co-operation Agreement. The objective of the Agreement is to enhance work safety co-operation among nine Mainland provinces (including Fujian, Jiangxi, Hunan, Guangdong, Guangxi, Hainan, Sichuan, Guizhou and Yunnan), Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) and Macao Special Administrative Region.

The Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour), Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung (back row, third from right), and members of the tripartite team attending the 95th Session of the International Labour Conference in Geneva, Switzerland.
The Permanent Secretary for Economic Development and Labour (Labour), Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung (back row, third from right), and members of the tripartite team attending the 95th Session of the International Labour Conference in Geneva, Switzerland.

第一章 二零零六年大事纪要
   1.1    劳动市场的情况持续改善,失业率由二零零三年年中的高峰8.5%下降至二零零六年年底的4.4%。尽管如此,就业依然是市民关心的课题。年内,我们采取新措施进一步协助竞争力较弱的一群就业,亦推行了工资保障运动。在二零零六年,劳工处凭着积极和务实的态度,群策群力,在各个政策范畴再创佳绩。
就业服务

   加强就业服务
1.2    为协助失业人士重投劳工市场及迎合雇主的招聘需要,劳工处继续以积极、创新、灵活及具成本效益的方式,加强我们的就业服务。年内,本处举办了15个大型招聘会及65个分区招聘会,以协助求职者寻找工作,及协助雇主招聘员工。在二零零六年,本处共录得118 937个成功就业个案,接获私人机构和政府部门的空缺达486 134个,两者均是历年来最高的数字。劳工处的互动就业服务网站 (网址: www.jobs.gov.hk) 在二零零六年录得超过9.47亿的浏览页次,为历史新高,再度成为浏览页次最高的政府网站。

   在元朗及北区设立新的就业中心
1.3    劳工处于九月在元朗和北区各设立一所新的就业中心,以加强为居住于偏远地区求职人士提供的就业服务。现时,劳工处辖下的就业中心已增至12所。新的就业中心提供全面的就业服务,包括发放最新的职位空缺资讯、提供求职设施、安排职位转介、进行就业选配,以及举办就业简介会和分区招聘会等。

经济发展及劳工局局长叶澍堃为元朗就业中心主持开幕典礼。
经济发展及劳工局局长叶澍堃为元朗就业中心主持开幕典礼。

   青少年见习就业计划 (「青见计划」)
1.4    为表扬一直支持「青见计划」的雇主,劳工处于十一月首次举行颁奖典礼,颁发象征体现企业社会责任的「青年就业基地」荣誉予22间积极支持青少年就业的机构。这些雇主在过去数年均向「青见计划」提供大量培训空缺,并在培训期完结后为学员提供持续的就业机会。

「青年就业基地」雇主与经济发展及劳工局局长叶澍堃(前排,左六)和经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗(前排,右六)合照。
「青年就业基地」雇主与经济发展及劳工局局长叶澍堃(前排,左六)和经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗(前排,右六)合照。

   青年职前综合培训-展翅计划
1.5    「展翅计划」于八月举行「展翅之星」颁奖典礼,颁发奖项予在个人发展、领袖才能、及参与公共和社会服务均有显著进步的学员,及嘉许培训机构付出的关怀和努力。学员的奋斗故事是他们同辈的最佳鼓励,亦彰显了培训机构、雇主及政府在培育青少年发展方面所取得的成就。

十位获选为展翅计划2005/06年度「展翅之星」的学员。
十位获选为展翅计划2005/06年度「展翅之星」的学员。

   「模范残疾雇员奖」及「开明雇主奖」
1.6    这些奖项旨在表扬工作表现出色的残疾雇员及持开明态度聘用残疾人士的雇主。在二零零六年,共有12名残疾雇员及10间机构获奖。

二零零六年「模范残疾雇员奖」得奖者与行政会议成员夏佳理议员(左六)及经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗 (左五)合照。
二零零六年「模范残疾雇员奖」得奖者与行政会议成员夏佳理议员(左六)及经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗 (左五)合照。

劳资关系

   调解成功率创新高
1.7    香港是世界上因劳资纠纷引致损失最少工作天的地方之一。在二零零六年,本处共处理199宗劳资纠纷及24 958宗申索声请,经调解而获圆满解决个案的比率为70.7%,是一九九四年以来最高的调解成功率。调解会议轮候时间亦由二零零五年的2.4个星期进一步缩短至二零零六年的2.3个星期。

   严厉执法‧打击欠薪
1.8    在二零零六年,劳工处继续全方位打击欠薪罪行。为此,劳工督察对违例较多的行业进行了特别巡查行动。我们通过与工会建立的预警机制,收集有关拖欠工资的情报,并透过一项代号为「坚壁行动」的计划,处理饮食业的欠薪问题。

我们于二零零六年修订了《雇佣条例》,提高欠薪的最高刑罚至罚款35万元及监禁三年。雇佣申索调查科继续深入调查涉嫌违例欠薪的个案,并继续聘用资深的前警务人员协助调查,提高搜集情报和证据的能力,务求尽早提出检控。部门重新部署执法策略,同时检控蓄意拖欠薪金的公司负责人。

此外,劳工处亦加强教育和宣传工作,提醒雇主履行依时支付工资的法定责任,鼓励雇员尽早提出申索及担任控方证人。

在严厉执法下,在二零零六年,劳工处成功检控违例欠薪罪行的传票达785张,为历来最高,比二零零五年的587张增加了33.7%。两名公司董事及一名雇主因欠薪而被判监禁刑罚,另有一名雇主因欠薪而被罚款114,000元。

   加强劳资协作及三方对话
1.9    为促进和谐的劳资关系,劳工处于三月为雇主及工会代表举办「劳资协作工作坊」,邀请国际劳工组织的专家,与参加者分享就推行各种雇员谘询及劳资协作措施的环球趋势和海外经验。我们更于十一月筹办「凝聚三方力量共创繁荣社会研讨会」,以推广政府、雇主及雇员的三方对话。研讨会涵盖三方对话、劳资协作及雇员沟通等主题,广受参加者欢迎。

雇员权益及福利

   加强打击雇用非法劳工
1.10 在二零零六年,劳工处联同警方和入境事务处根据情报,展开更密集的行动,扫荡可疑地点,以打击非法雇佣活动。年内,联合行动次数达189次,较二零零五年的176次增加7%,并成功拘捕502名怀疑非法劳工及231名涉嫌雇用非法劳工的雇主。

年内,我们广泛宣传本处的投诉热线(2815 2200),鼓励市民提供非法雇佣活动的情报。我们亦印制了一张新的单张,随同水费单一并寄给超过200万个住户,以提醒公众切勿雇用非法劳工。

   为清洁工人及保安员而推行的工资保障运动
1.11 行政长官在二零零六年的《施政报告》中宣布,政府会与商界及劳工界携手推行「工资保障运动」。参与「运动」的机构需付予其清洁工人及保安员不低于有关的市场平均水平的工资,并与他们签订书面雇佣合约。如工人需超时工作,亦应获得适当的补偿。劳工处会继续透过推广、教育、合约规范及执法的多管齐下策略去推动「运动」。「运动」的专题网页(www.labour.gov.hk/service/protection/index.htm)及专线电话(2852 3815)亦已投入运作,提供有关「运动」的详情及处理查询。

参与「工资保障运动」的机构,可获政府颁发标志嘉许。
参与「工资保障运动」的机构,可获政府颁发标志嘉许。

   加强保障政府服务承办商的雇员
1.12 我们继续密集巡查政府服务合约承办商的非技术雇员的工作地点,以保障这些雇员的法定劳工权益。在二零零六年,巡查次数增至659次。我们采取果断行动,成功检控12名违例的承办商,涉及的定罪传票数目达62张。

   破产欠薪保障基金申请回落
1.13 劳工处继续全力从源头打击逃避支付工资责任的雇主,以防止欠薪事件转化为向破产欠薪保障基金申请特惠款项的个案。基金接获的申请数目由二零零五年的9 967宗下跌至二零零六年的7 532宗,是自一九九六年以来的最低水平。基金在二零零六年有3.45亿元的盈余,这是基金自一九九七年亚洲金融风暴以来,第三次录得盈余。

工作安全与健康

   新职业健康诊所
1.14 劳工处观塘职业健康诊所自一九九三年设立以来,一直为本港市民提供职业健康门诊服务。鉴于需求日增,我们在二零零六年六月新开办了粉岭职业健康诊所,以加强新界区的门诊服务。

粉岭职业健康诊所开幕典礼。
粉岭职业健康诊所开幕典礼。

   楼宇翻新及维修工作安全
1.15 为提高小型楼宇翻新及维修工程的安全表现,劳工处继续强化在正常工作日、夜间及假日期间的点对点巡查,务求加强执法,严打违规的承建商,并进行多次全港性突击巡查,期间发出了121份暂时停工通知或敦促改善通知书,并对81项违例事项作出检控。在教育及宣传方面,我们举行了安全讲座及研讨会,亦举办了大型的推广活动,以提升业内人士的安全意识。此外,我们联同职业安全健康局推出中小型企业资助计划,为有需要的承建商和雇主提供资助,购买合适的高空工作防堕设备,以改善高空工作安全水平。

   安全奖励计划
1.16 本处为饮食业和建造业举办安全奖励计划,以培养业界安全文化,提高雇主、雇员及其家属的安全意识。计划设有多项活动,包括安全表现比赛、巡回展览、工地探访、电台节目、电脑光碟、在「路讯通」播放宣传短片,以及颁奖典礼暨同乐日。

饮食业安全奖励计划颁奖典礼2005/2006。
饮食业安全奖励计划颁奖典礼2005/2006。

加强本地和国际合作

   五一劳动节庆祝酒会
1.17 经济发展及劳工局局长叶澍堃于二零零六年四月二十八日在香港大会堂举行劳动节庆祝酒会,表扬劳工界的贡献。酒会由行政长官曾荫权主礼,出席嘉宾包括职工会、雇主联会和其他机构的代表。

行政长官曾荫权带领高层官员于劳动节酒会祝酒。
行政长官曾荫权带领高层官员于劳动节酒会祝酒。

   与其他劳工事务行政机关的联系
1.18 我们藉着进行访问及参与有关活动,与其他劳工事务行政机关保持密切的联系和交流。在二零零六年二月,经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗率领代表团到北京访问国务院劳动和社会保障部,并拜会田成平部长。

经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗(左)与劳动和社会保障部田成平部长(右)在北京会面。
经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗(左)与劳动和社会保障部田成平部长(右)在北京会面。

   1.19 在二零零六年六月,经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗率领一个由政府、雇主及雇员代表组成的三方代表团,以中国代表团成员的身分,出席在日内瓦举行的第95届国际劳工大会。八月,助理处长(雇员权益)陈麦洁玲亦率领一个三方代表团,以「中国香港」的名义,出席在釜山举行的第14届亚洲区域会议。代表团藉此了解国际劳工事务的最新发展,以及加强与国际劳工组织官员和雇主及雇员代表的联系。

同年十月,劳工处助理处长(职业安全及健康)曹成显率领代表团到广东省东莞,出席首届《泛珠三角区域安全生产合作联席会议暨安全生产合作与发展论坛》,并签署《泛珠三角区域安全生产合作协议》。有关协议旨在促进国内九省(包括福建、江西、湖南、广东、广西、海南、四川、贵州、云南)及香港特别行政区和澳门特别行政区的安全生产合作。

经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗(后排右三)及三方代表团成员出席在瑞士日内瓦举行的第95届国际劳工大会。
经济发展及劳工局常任秘书长(劳工)张建宗(后排右三)及三方代表团成员出席在瑞士日内瓦举行的第95届国际劳工大会。