Frequently Asked Questions about
The Minimum Wage Ordinance, Cap. 608

Reckoning and payment arrangement of commission


Q1 :
How is commission counted under the SMW regime?
A1 :

According to the Employment Ordinance, the definition of wages includes commission (except commission which is of a gratuitous nature or which is payable only at the discretion of the employer). Hence, other than commission which is gratuitous or payable only at the discretion of the employer, commission is wages and must be paid in accordance with the provisions of the Employment Ordinance. Subject to the provisions of other legislation, employers and employees may agree on how commission is calculated and payable in their employment contracts.

In determining whether the wages of an employee meet the minimum wage requirement, commission payable under the contract of employment is counted as wages payable in respect of the wage period as specified in the employment contract. If commission is payable in respect of a number of wage periods according to the contract of employment, in determining whether the wages of an employee meet the minimum wage requirement, commission is counted as wages payable in respect of the corresponding wage period as provided in the contract of employment.

In addition, given the unique nature of commission, the Minimum Wage Ordinance sets out the following provision for employers and employees to apply in the counting of commission as wages payable :

For the purpose of computing the minimum wage, any commission paid

  • with the prior agreement of the employee
  • at any time after the first 7 days of a wage period but before the end of the 7th day immediately after that wage period

must be counted as part of the wages payable in respect of that wage period irrespective of when the work is done or the commission is otherwise payable under the contract of employment.

Hence, in determining whether the wages of an employee meet the minimum wage requirement, if there is prior agreement of the employee, commission can be counted as part of the wages payable in respect of a wage period according to the timing when the commission is paid. Without the prior agreement of the employee, the above provision is not applicable. In applying the provision, employers have to comply with the provisions on wage payment and deductions under the Employment Ordinance. Please refer to A Concise Guide to the Employment Ordinance published by the Labour Department for details.

 

Q2 :

Can commission be paid in advance? Any example to illustrate how commission is counted under the SMW regime as wages payable in respect of a wage period according to the timing when it is paid?

A2 :

As explained in Q1, according to the Minimum Wage Ordinance, in determining whether the wages of an employee meet the minimum wage requirement, an employer can, with the prior agreement of the employee, pay the employee commission in advance so that it will be counted as wages payable in respect of the wage period when it is paid.


Example:
 
An employee’s wage period is a calendar month.  With the prior agreement of the employee, the employer pays him commission of $1,500 and $2,000 on 30 April and 6 June respectively.  The commission is originally payable in respect of the wage period of July.

In this example, in accordance with the Minimum Wage Ordinance, with the prior agreement of the employee, commission paid in the period of 8 April to 7 May is counted as wages payable in respect of April (commission is paid on 30 April); and commission paid in the period of 8 May to 7 June is also counted as wages payable in respect of May (commission is paid on 6 June).

Thus, in determining whether the wages of this employee meet the minimum wage requirement, the commission of $1,500 is counted as wages payable in respect of April and the commission of $2,000 is counted as wages payable in respect of May, both not being regarded as wages payable in respect of July.

《最低工资条例》(第608章)
佣金的计算及支付
 
问 1 :
在法定最低工资制度下,应如何处理佣金的计算?
答 1 :

根据《雇佣条例》,工资的定义包括佣金(属于赏赠性质或由雇主酌情发给的佣金除外)。因此,除属赏赠性质或由雇主酌情付给的佣金外,佣金属工资并须按《雇佣条例》的规定而支付。劳资双方在没有抵触其他法例的情况下可藉雇佣合约协定佣金的计算及支付方法。

在判断雇员的工资是否已符合最低工资的要求时,根据雇佣合约须支付的佣金,会按照雇佣合约算作为须就其所属的工资期支付的工资。如雇佣合约已协定佣金须就多个工资期支付,在判断雇员的工资是否已符合最低工资的要求时,亦会按照雇佣合约算作为须就其所属的工资期支付的工资。

此外,《最低工资条例》亦因应佣金的独特情况,提供下列条文供雇主及雇员在将佣金计算为须支付工资时应用:

就计算最低工资而言,

  • 在雇员事先同意下
  • 于工资期首7天后而于紧接该工资期后的第7天终结前的任何时间支付的佣金

须算作为须就该工资期支付的工资的一部分,而不论有关工作于何时执行,亦不论根据雇佣合约该佣金须于何时支付。

因此,在雇员事先同意下,佣金可以按照支付的时间来决定属于须就哪个工资期支付的工资,以判断雇员的工资是否已符合最低工资的要求。如没有雇员的事先同意,这条文便不适用。在引用这条文时,雇主亦须遵守《雇佣条例》工资支付及扣薪的规定,有关资料请参阅劳工处印备的《雇佣条例简明指南》。

 

问 2 :

佣金可否预支?可否以例子说明在法定最低工资制度下,如何按支付佣金的时间来决定佣金属于须就哪个工资期支付的工资?

答 2 :

如第1题所述,根据《最低工资条例》,在雇员事先同意下,雇主可以向其预付佣金,并按照支付的时间来决定属于须就哪个工资期支付的工资,以判断雇员的工资是否已符合最低工资的要求。

例子

雇员的工资期为一历月。在雇员的事先同意下,雇主分别于4月30日及6月6日预先支付佣金1,500元及2,000元。该两笔佣金原本属于7月份工资期的佣金。

在本例子中,按照《最低工资条例》的规定,在雇员事先同意下,于4月8日至5月7日期间支付的佣金(佣金于4月30日支付),须算作为属于4月份的工资;而5月8日至6月7日期间支付的佣金(佣金于6月6日支付),亦须算作为属于5月份的工资。

因此,在判断该雇员的工资是否已符合最低工资的要求时,该笔1,500元的佣金,会计算在4月份的工资内,而该笔2,000元的佣金,则会计算在5月份的工资内。该两笔佣金都不算作7月份的工资。