Frequently Asked Questions about
The Minimum Wage Ordinance, Cap. 608
Computing statutory entitlements


Q1 : If an employer hires his employees at hourly rate, does it mean that he need not pay these employees other statutory entitlements (e.g. holiday pay, annual leave pay)?
A1 :

All employees covered by the Employment Ordinance, irrespective of their hours of work, are entitled to basic protection under the Ordinance including payment of wages, restrictions on wages deductions and the granting of statutory holidays, etc.

Employees who are employed under a continuous contract are entitled to additional benefits such as rest days (Note), holiday pay, paid annual leave, maternity leave pay, paternity leave pay, sickness allowance, severance payment and long service payment, etc.  An employee who has been employed continuously by the same employer for four weeks or more, with at least 18 hours worked in each week is regarded as being employed under a continuous contract.

Hence, regardless of their wage payment mode (i.e. monthly-rated, weekly-rated, daily-rated, hourly-rated, piece-rated, commission-based, etc), employers must comply with the Employment Ordinance in granting statutory entitlements to employees.

Note : Neither the Minimum Wage Ordinance nor the Employment Ordinance prescribes that rest days should be paid. Whether rest days are with pay or otherwise and the calculation method of rest day pay (including whether rest days are remunerated at the SMW rate) are employment terms in accordance with the employment contract or agreement between employers and employees.

 

Q2 : Should statutory entitlements such as holiday pay or annual leave pay under the Employment Ordinance be calculated at not less than the SMW rate?
A2 :

The major provisions of the Minimum Wage Ordinance are aligned as closely as possible with those of the Employment Ordinance to ensure consistency and effective enforcement, avoid confusion to employers and employees and minimise the compliance cost for employers.  Hence, the Minimum Wage Ordinance does not change the calculation method of statutory entitlements currently under the Employment Ordinance.  For details of the calculation of these statutory entitlements, please refer to A Concise Guide to the Employment Ordinance published by the Labour Department.

According to the Minimum Wage Ordinance, if wages payable to the employee in respect of the wage period are less than the minimum wage, he is entitled to be paid the difference (i.e. “additional remuneration”). The contract of employment of the employee must be taken to provide that the employee is entitled to additional remuneration in respect of that wage period.

Since additional remuneration is part of wages payable to employees under the Employment Ordinance, and statutory entitlements under the Employment Ordinance (e.g. holiday pay, annual leave pay, sickness allowance, maternity leave pay, paternity leave pay, severance payment, long service payment, wages in lieu of notice, etc.) are calculated according to the definition of wages, the amount of these statutory entitlements should also take into account the additional remuneration (where applicable).

《最低工资条例》(第608章)
计算其他法定权益
 
问 1 :

雇主如用时薪聘用雇员,是否不用向雇员支付其他法定权益(例如:假日薪酬、年假薪酬)

答 1 :

所有《雇佣条例》适用的雇员,不论其工作时数,都享有条例下的一些基本保障,例如工资的支付、扣薪的限制及法定假日的给予等。

雇员如根据「连续性合约」受雇,便可享有更多权益,例如休息日(注)、假日薪酬、有薪年假、产假薪酬、侍产假薪酬、疾病津贴、遣散费及长期服务金等。雇员如连续受雇于同一雇主4 星期或以上,而每星期最少工作18 小时,其雇佣合约便属「连续性合约」。

因此,不论雇员的聘用和支薪模式属月薪、周薪、日薪、时薪、件薪、佣金制等,雇主仍须根据《雇佣条例》向雇员给予法定权益。

注 :《最低工资条例》和《雇佣条例》皆没有规定休息日必须为有薪。休息日有薪与否及休息日薪酬的计算方法(包括是否按法定最低工资水平计算),属雇佣服务条件,是按照雇佣合约或劳资双方的协议而定。

 

问 2 :

《雇佣条例》下各项法定权益如法定假日或年假薪酬的计算方法,是否须采用不少于法定最低工资水平的工资款额计算?

答 2 :

《最低工资条例》的重要条文尽量紧贴《雇佣条例》,以确保法例的一致性和有效执法,避免对劳资双方产生混淆,以及尽量减轻雇主的遵行成本。因此,《最低工资条例》并没有改变现行《雇佣条例》下各项法定权益的计算方法,有关这些法定权益的计算方法,请参阅劳工处印备的《雇佣条例简明指南》。

根据《最低工资条例》,如就工资期须支付予雇员的工资少于最低工资,雇员有权就该工资期获付这差额(即「额外报酬」),该雇员的雇佣合约须视为其有权就该工资期获得额外报酬。

由于额外报酬属根据《雇佣条例》须支付予雇员的工资的一部分,而计算《雇佣条例》的法定权益款额(如:假日薪酬、年假薪酬、疾病津贴、产假薪酬、侍产假薪酬、遣散费、长期服务金、代通知金等),亦采用工资的定义,因此法定权益的款项也须计算额外报酬的款额(如适用)。