Frequently Asked Questions on Occupational Safety and Health
Safety Training

Q1. What are the training courses on occupational safety and health offered by the Labour Department? Answer  
Q2. How do I apply for enrolment in the safety and health training courses offered by the Labour Department? Answer
   
Q3. Is training in safety mandatory for employment in industry?Answer
Q4. Where can I receive the "Green Card" safety training?Answer
Q5. Is it necessary to renew "Green Card"?Answer
Q6. How to renew "Green Card"?Answer
Q7. Is there any alternative proof of completion of the "Green Card" safety training?Answer

 
Content
 
Q1. What are the courses on occupational safety and health offered by the Labour Department?  
A1.

The Occupational Safety and Health Centre (OSHC) and the Occupational Safety and Health Training Centre (OSHTC) of the Labour Department offer courses on occupational safety and health. Details of the courses are available in the web pages of OSHC and OSHTC.

Back to questions

 

Q2. How do I apply for enrolment in the occupational safety and health courses offered by the Labour Department?
A2.

Application for enrolment in the occupational safety and health courses offered by the Labour Department should be made to the Occupational Safety and Health Centre (OSHC) or the Occupational Safety and Health Training Centre (OSHTC). Details of application for enrolment are available in the web pages of OSHC and OSHTC.

Back to questions

 

Q3. Is training in safety mandatory for employment in industry?
A3.

Training in safety is mandatory for employment to carry out construction work or container handling in industrial undertakings. The requirement has come into operation since 1 May 2001. From 1 May 2001 onward, only persons who have been trained in basic safety and hold valid certificates (commonly known as "Green Card") are allowed to be employed to carry out the aforementioned activities.

Back to questions

 

Q4. Where can I receive the "Green Card" safety training?
A4.

A number of "Green Card" safety training courses for construction work and container handling have been recognized by the Commissioner for Labour. A person shall complete the relevant safety training course in order to obtain the "Green Card".

Back to questions

 

Q5. Is it necessary to renew "Green Card"?
A5.

Yes. Under section 6BA(6) of the Factories and Industrial Undertakings Ordinance, Chapter 59, "Green Card" is valid for a period from 1 year to 3 years. The expiration date is specified on the card. If no such date is specified on the card, it shall expire in 3 years after the date of issue. A holder of "Green Card" should renew his/her card before it expires.

Back to questions

 

Q6. How to renew "Green Card"?
A6.

"Green Card" is renewed by providers of recognized revalidation courses for "Green Card". The Commissioner for Labour has recognized a number of revalidation courses. A holder of "Green Card" shall attend the relevant revalidation course in order to renew his/her card.

Back to questions

 

Q7. Is there any alternative proof of completion of the "Green Card" safety training?
A7.

Starting from 1 November 2009, the Labour Department accepts an arrangement (PDF) as an alternative proof of construction workers having completed the mandatory basic safety training to cope with the "Workers Registration Card and Green Card - Alignment of Expiry Dates" programme launched by the Construction Workers Registration Authority.

Back to questions

职业安全及健康
安全训练
问1. 劳工处提供哪些职业安全及健康训练课程?  答 案
问2. 怎样才可以报读劳工处提供的安全及健康训练课程? 答 案  
问3. 是否受雇于工业界的人,均须接受强制性安全训练?答 案  
问4. 我可以在哪处获得「平安咭」安全训练?答 案  
问5. 「平安咭」是否需要续期?答 案  
问6. 怎样可为「平安咭」续期?答 案  
问7. 是否有已完成「平安咭」安全训练的另类证明?答 案  

 
问答全文
 
问1. 劳工处提供哪些职业安全及健康课程?   
答1.

劳工处的职业安全健康中心(下称职安健中心)及职业安全及健康训练中心 (下称职安健训练中心) 提供与职业安全及健康有关的课程。详情请参阅职安健中心职安健训练中心的网页。

回到问题

 

问2. 怎样才可以报读劳工处提供的职业安全及健康课程?
 
答2.

报读劳工处提供的职业安全及健康课程,应向职业安全健康中心(下称职安健中心)或职业安全及健康训练中心(下称职安健训练中心)提出申请。申请的详情请参阅职安健中心职安健训练中心的网页。

回到问题

 

问3. 是否受雇于工业界的人,均须接受强制性安全训练?
 
答3.

所有受雇在工业经营进行建筑工程或货柜处理作业的人,均须接受强制性基本安全训练。有关规定已在2001年5月1日实施,自该日期以后,只有曾接受基本安全训练及持有有效证明书(俗称"平安咭")的人,方可受雇进行上述作业。

回到问题

 

问4. 我可以在哪处获得「平安咭」安全训练?
 
答4.

劳工处处长已承认了一些建筑工程或货柜处理作业的「平安咭」安全训练课程,任何人士须完成有关的安全训练课程,以获发「平安咭」。

回到问题

 

问5. 「平安咭」是否需要续期?
 
答5.

需要。根据香港法例第59章《工厂及工业经营条例》第6BA(6)条的规定,「平安咭」的有效期为1年至3年,有效期会在咭上标明。如果咭上没有标明有效期,则该咭有效期为发出日期后的三年内。「平安咭」持有人须在有效期届满前为其「平安咭」重新续期。

回到问题

 

问6. 怎样可为「平安咭」续期?
 
答6.

续期的「平安咭」是由提供「平安咭」「重新甄审资格课程」的机构所发出。劳工处处长已承认了一些「重新甄审资格课程」。持有「平安咭」的人士,必须完成这类课程,才可获发有效续期的「平安咭」。

回到问题

 

问7. 是否有已完成「平安咭」安全训练的另类证明?
 
答7.

由2009年11月1日起,劳工处接纳一项新安排 (PDF),作为建造业工人已完成强制性基本安全训练的另一种证明,以配合建造业工人注册管理局推出的「统一建造业工人注册证及平安咭到期日计划」

回到问题