Frequently Asked Questions on Occupational Safety and Health
Display Screen Equipment

Q1. Does the Occupational Safety and Health (Display Screen Equipment) Regulation apply to all workstations in a workplace, including workstations in which the DSE is brought back by employees to the workplace for their personal use, and workstations that are intended for use by the public? Answer
 
Q2. What is risk assessment of a workstation? How should such an assessment be performed? Answer
 
Q3. What safety and health training is necessary for users? How should such training be provided? Answer
 

 
Content
 
Q1. Does the Occupational Safety and Health (Display Screen Equipment) Regulation apply to all workstations in a workplace, including workstations in which the DSE is brought back by employees to the workplace for their personal use, and workstations that are intended for use by the public?
 
A1.

The Regulation only applies to workstations in a workplace that are:-

  1. provided by a person responsible for the workplace to be used by users for work;
  2. not intended for use by the public; and
  3. normally used or intended to be normally used by users.

The following is excluded from the application of the Regulation:-

  1. DSE that is used mainly to show pictures, television or films;
  2. drivers' cabs or control cabs for vehicles or machinery;
  3. DSE on board a means of public transport;
  4. portable systems not in prolonged use;
  5. calculators, cash registers or any equipment having a small data or measurement display required for direct use of the equipment; or
  6. window typewriters.

In other words, workstations in which the DSE is brought back by employees to the workplace for their personal use; workstations that are intended for public operation, e.g. workstations in public libraries or information kiosks; and workstations that are normally used by employees who are not users, do not fall within the scope of the Regulation.

Back to questions

 

Q2. What is risk assessment of a workstation? How should such an assessment be performed?
 
A2.

Risk assessment of a workstation is essentially a process of identifying and assessing the risks to the safety and health of users of the workstation, deciding whether existing precautions are adequate and recording the findings. It is a relatively simple process that could be performed by persons who have basic knowledge of the use of DSE and the associated health risks. Such an assessment can be performed by means of a checklist which comprises a set of "Yes/No" questions on different aspects of a workstation. The LD has provided guidance on how risk assessments should be performed, including providing a checklist, in the Code of Practice (PDF).

Back to questions

 

Q3. What safety and health training is necessary for users? How should such training be provided?
 
A3.

Safety and health training is essential for helping users to avoid health risks associated with prolonged use of DSE. Such training should enable users to recognize and understand the health risks of DSE work, various precautions for avoiding the risks, e.g. adopting a correct working posture, and how to report problems to and get assistance from employers. The training could be provided through any means, e.g. showing videos and reading educational materials, so long as they are effective in achieving the purpose.

Back to questions

职业安全及健康
显示屏幕设备
问1. 《职业安全及健康(显示屏幕设备)规例》是否适用于工作地点内所有的工作间? 该规例是否适用于由雇员带返工作地点作个人使用的显示屏幕设备所组成的工作间,及拟供公众人士使用的工作间?
答 案
问2. 什么是工作间危险评估?应怎样进行这项评估?答 案
问3. 应提供什么安全及健康训练予使用者?应采用那种训练形式?答 案

 
问答全文
 
问1. 《职业安全及健康(显示屏幕设备)规例》是否适用于工作地点内所有的工作间? 该规例是否适用于由雇员带返工作地点作个人使用的显示屏幕设备所组成的工作间,及拟供公众人士使用的工作间?
答1.

该规例适用于在工作地点并符合以下说明的工作间 -

  1. 由工作地点的负责人提供,供使用*工作之用;
  2. 不拟供公众人士使用;及
  3. 由使用*通常使用或拟供使用*通常使用。

规例不适用于以下各项 -

  1. 主要用于展示图片、电视画面或电影的显示屏幕设备;
  2. 交通工具的驾驶室或机械的操控室;
  3. 在公共交通工具上的显示屏幕设备;
  4. 并非作长时间使用的手提系统;
  5. 计算机、收银机或任何有为直接使用设备而设的细小数据或量度结果显示器的设备;或
  6. 有显示窗的打字机。

因此,规例并不适用于由雇员带返工作地点作个人使用的显示屏幕设备所组成的工作间,拟供公众人士使用的工作间(例如公共图书馆的工作间或资讯站),及通常由本身并非使用*的雇员使用的工作间。

回到问题

 

问2. 什么是工作间危险评估?应怎样进行这项评估?
答2.

工作间的危险评估包括确定及评估对工作间使用*的安全及健康造成的危险、决定现行预防措施是否足够,并把评估结果记录下来。由于评估程度较为简易,可由那些对操作显示屏幕设备及有关危险有基本认识的人士采用包括一系列「是/否」题的一览表的方式进行。本处编印工作守则 (PDF) ,已提供应如何进行危险评估的指引及工作间危险评估一览表。

回到问题

 

问3. 应提供什么安全及健康训练予使用者?应采用那种训练形式?
答3.

安全及健康训练是必需的,以便使用者避免与长时间使用显示屏幕设备有关的危险。有关训练应可令使用者认识和了解使用显示屏幕设备工作的危险,各种避免危险的预防措施,例如正确的工作姿势、以及向雇主呈报问题和寻求协助的途径。训练可以采用不同的形式,例如播放录影带、阅读派发资料单张,只要有效地达到训练目的便可。

回到问题