Frequently Asked Questions about
The Employment Ordinance, Cap. 57

Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes and Employees' Benefits
Q1. Can an employer deduct the wages of his employee for the purpose of making employer's contribution to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes?  Answer
Q2. Can an employer reduce his employee's benefits or change the terms of his employment contract to evade liabilities under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes? Answer
Q3. Can an employer re-engage his employees under a new contract as self-employed persons in face of the implementation of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes to reduce the employees' benefits under the Employment Ordinance and other labour legislation ? Answer

 
Content
 
Q1. Can an employer deduct the wages of his employee for the purpose of making employer's contribution to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes? 
A1.

No. An employer is prohibited from deducting wages from his employee except under the circumstances as stipulated in the Employment Ordinance. It is an offence in law if an employer deducts his employee's wages for making his own contribution to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes.  An offender is liable to prosecution and, upon conviction, to a fine of $100,000 and to imprisonment of one year.

Back to questions

 

Q2. Can an employer reduce his employee's benefits or change the terms of his employment contract to evade liabilities under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes? 
A2.

Under the Employment Ordinance, an employee who has been employed under a continuous contract may claim for remedies against his employer for unreasonable variation of the terms of the employment contract if his employer, without the prior consent of the employee and in the absence of an express term in the contract which allows for such variation, varies the terms of employment contract (including reduction of employee's wages or benefits) other than for a valid reason as specified in the Ordinance.

Back to questions

 

Q3. Can an employer re-engage his employees under a new contract as self-employed persons in face of the implementation of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes to reduce the employees' benefits under the Employment Ordinance and other labour legislation ? 
A3.

An employer should not unilaterally change the status of his employee to a self-employed person in face of the implementation of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes. Under common law, if substantial and fundamental changes to the detriment of the employee have been made to the contract of employment arising from the employer's conduct without the employee's consent, an employee can claim for termination compensation from his employer on the ground of constructive dismissal. An aggrieved employee with two years' service under a continuous contract may also claim remedies for unreasonable dismissal against his employer under the Employment Ordinance.  For the employee, it is important for him to note that the Employment Ordinance only applies to employees engaged under a contract of employment and their employers.  He should therefore carefully assess the risks involved if he is requested to be re-engaged under a contract for service, since his rights as an employee under the Employment Ordinance (and other labour legislation such as the Employees?Compensation Ordinance) may then be extinguished. However, if there remains in essence an employer-employee relationship, then subject to the court's ruling on the actual circumstances of the case, he may still be considered to be an employee and still be entitled to the benefits under the Employment Ordinance (and other labour legislation), though he has been labelled as a self-employed person.

Back to questions

香港法例第57章《雇佣条例》
强制性公积金计划与雇员福利
问1. 雇主可否扣除雇员的工资作为强积金计划的雇主供款?  答 案
问2. 雇主可否削减员工的福利或更改员工的雇佣合约条款藉以逃避强积金计划的责任? 答 案
问3. 雇主可否因强积金计划的推行,要求雇员重新签约为「自雇人士」以减少雇员在《雇佣条例》及其他劳工法例下的权益? 答 案

 
问答全文
 
问1. 雇主可否扣除雇员的工资作为强积金计划的雇主供款? 
答1.

不可以。根据《雇佣条例》的规定,雇主只可在条例指定的情况下扣减雇员的工资。如雇主扣除雇员的工资以支付强积金计划的雇主供款,属违法行为,最高可被罚款10万元及监禁1年。

回到问题

 

问2. 雇主可否削减员工的福利或更改员工的雇佣合约条款藉以逃避强积金计划的责任?
答2.

根据《雇佣条例》,如雇主并非基于条例规定的正当理由而单方面更改雇佣合约条款,包括削减员工的薪酬或福利,而雇佣合约亦没有明文规定雇主可以作出这些更改,便可构成不合理更改合约条款。在这情况下,按连续性合约受雇的雇员可向雇主提出补偿申索。

回到问题

 

问3. 雇主可否因强积金计划的推行,要求雇员重新签约为「自雇人士」以减少雇员在《雇佣条例》及其他劳工法例下的权益?
答3.

雇主不应藉强积金计划的推行,单方面将他的雇员转为「自雇人士」。在普通法下,雇员若因雇主的行为而使合约有实质和根本上的改变,该等改变未得雇员同意并对雇员造成不利,雇员可视为遭变相解雇及向雇主追讨解雇补偿。在《雇佣条例》下,若该雇员已按连续性合约受雇两年或以上,更可向雇主追讨不合理解雇的补偿。就雇员而言,他必须留意《雇佣条例》只适用于根据雇佣合约受聘的雇员及其雇主。如雇员被要求重新签署合约变成「自雇人士」,他必须非常审慎评估所涉及的风险,因为他可能因此丧失在《雇佣条例》(及其他劳工法例包括《雇员补偿条例》)下作为雇员的权益。不过,若实际上双方仍维持雇佣关系,雇员即使被改称为「自雇人士」,法庭仍可根据案件实情以判定他仍是雇员身份及继续享有《雇佣条例》(及其他劳工法例)下的各项权益。 

回到问题