Frequently Asked Questions about
The Employees' Compensation Ordinance, Cap. 282

Fatal or Non-Fatal Cases outside Hong Kong
 
Q1. If an employee sustains a work injury outside Hong Kong, would he be covered by the Ordinance?Answer
Q2. In respect of the employees’ compensation, are there any differences between employees who suffered work injury within and outside Hong Kong?Answer
Q3. What should employer and employee take note of if an employee sustains a work injury outside Hong Kong and receives medical treatment at the place of accident?Answer
   

   
Content
   
Q1. If an employee sustains a work injury outside Hong Kong, would he be covered by the Ordinance?
A1.

According to the Ordinance, if an employee sustains an injury or dies as a result of an accident arising out of and in the course of his employment, his employer is in general liable to pay compensation under this Ordinance even if the employee might have committed acts of faults or negligence when the accident occurred.

The Ordinance applies to employees employed in Hong Kong by local employers injured while working outside Hong Kong. Besides, an accident to an employee resulting in injury or death is deemed to arise out of and in the course of his employment if it happens while the employee is travelling, for the purpose of and in connection with his employment by any means of transport permitted by his employer, between Hong Kong and any place outside Hong Kong or between any other such places outside Hong Kong.

Even if the employer is a person carrying on business outside Hong Kong, or a crew member is working on a foreign ship, the Ordinance still applies if the employers submit to the jurisdiction of the Courts of Hong Kong and the employees / crew members have been recruited or engaged in Hong Kong.

Back to questions

   
Q2. In respect of the employees’ compensation, are there any differences between employees who suffered work injury within and outside Hong Kong?
A2.

No difference at all, but employees injured outside Hong Kong should take note of the followings:

  • Foreign compensation : compensation payable under the Ordinance to an employee shall be reduced by the amount of any foreign compensation paid to him in respect of the same injury.
  • Periodical Payments : the employer shall pay the injured employee, during the period of temporary incapacity, periodical payments at the rate of four-fifths of the difference between the employee’s monthly earnings at the time of the accident and his monthly earnings during the period of temporary incapacity. Temporary incapacity refers to a period of absence from duty certified to be necessary by a registered medical practitioner, a registered Chinese medicine practitioner, a registered dentist or an Employees’ Compensation Assessment Board is deemed to be a period of temporary incapacity. For employees receiving medical treatment outside Hong Kong, the temporary incapacity shall be determined by the Assessment Board. Paper Medical Clearance is inapplicable for such cases.
  • Medical Expenses : an employer is also liable to pay the medical expenses for medical treatment given outside Hong Kong in respect of a work injury sustained by an employee outside Hong Kong and arising out of and in the course of that employee’s employment. The daily maximum amount is the same as that for injuries sustained in Hong Kong. The medical treatment shall be the treatment given by, or under the supervision of, a person who is allowed to practise medicine, surgery, dentistry, chiropractic, physiotherapy or occupational therapy in the place where such medical treatment is given. Where necessary, an employer or an employee may apply to the Commissioner for Labour for a certificate for determining the amount of medical expenses to be paid by the employer.
  • Cost of Prostheses and Surgical Appliances : if an employee sustains a work injury outside Hong Kong in an accident arising out of and in the course of his employment, and submits himself to medical treatment by or under the supervision of a person who is allowed to practise medicine, surgery or dentistry in the place where such medical treatment is given, the employer shall, if the Prostheses and Surgical Appliances Board approves, be liable to pay for the cost of supplying and fitting the prosthesis or surgical appliance required, subject to a maximum amount, which is the same as that for injuries sustained in Hong Kong.

Back to questions

   
Q3. What should employer and employee take note of if an employee sustains a work injury outside Hong Kong and receives medical treatment at the place of accident?
A3.

Points to note for employers

  • Other than reporting to the Commissioner for Labour, an employer should also notify the insurer as soon as possible, within the stipulated period and in the specified format (in writing or by specified form) required by the insurer, when his employee sustains a work injury.
  • The employer should also keep a record of the periodical payments (i.e. payments for sick leaves for work injury) paid to the injured employee, the original copies of the Certificate of Compensation Assessment (Form 5) and the Certificate of Assessment (Form 7) issued by the Labour Department, medical certificates and receipts in respect of medical expenses properly; and submit the relevant documents to the insurer within the stipulated period and in the specified format required by the insurer for indemnifying the amount of compensation already paid to the injured employee.

Points to note for employees

  • Notify the employer/supervisor/human resources department of the work injury immediately regardless of whether it is serious or not, and submit to the employer originals of medical certificates and receipts for medical expenses in relation to medical consultation and follow-up treatment as soon as possible. Remember to keep copies.
  • When receiving medical treatment outside Hong Kong, remember to state clearly to the attending medical staff the cause and course of the injury and keep all medical records, including attendance slips, appointment slips, referral letters, medical certificates, admission slips and medical reports etc. This will on one hand facilitate medical staff to make proper diagnosis and offer appropriate treatment, and on the other hand assist the process of medical clearance and assessment by Occupational Medicine Unit of the Labour Department and the Assessment Board respectively.
  • If necessary, receive medical treatment from registered medical practitioner, registered Chinese medicine practitioner or registered dentist in Hong Kong, and provide the medical information to the Labour Department for follow up.

Back to questions

香港法例第 282章 《雇员补偿条例》

在香港以外地方工作受伤或死亡个案
问1. 如雇员在香港以外地方工作时受伤,是否受《雇员补偿条例》的保障? 答 案
问2. 在香港以外地方工作受伤的雇员,其获得的补偿与在香港因工受伤的雇员有没有分别? 答 案
问3. 如雇员在香港以外地方因工受伤,并须在当地接受医治,应注意什么事项? 答 案

   
问答全文
   
问1. 如雇员在香港以外地方工作时受伤,是否受《雇员补偿条例》的保障?
答1.

根据《雇员补偿条例》,雇员若在受雇工作期间因工遭遇意外以致受伤或死亡,即使雇员在意外发生时可能犯错或疏忽,雇主在一般情况下仍须负起本条例下的补偿责任。

条例适用于由香港雇主在本港雇用而在本港以外地方工作时受伤的雇员。条例亦有订明,雇员在雇主许可下,为了其受雇从事的工作,并在与此工作有关的情况下,乘用任何交通工具往返香港与香港以外地方途中,或往返任何香港以外地方与任何其他地方途中遭遇意外受伤或死亡,亦被视作在受雇工作期间因工遭遇意外而引致。

此外,即使雇主并非在本港营业,或是在外国船只工作的海员,只要雇主同意接受本港法院司法管辖权的管辖,而有关雇员/海员是在本港招募或聘用,即使导致雇员身体受伤的意外是在香港以外发生,本条例仍然适用。

回到问题

   
问2. 在香港以外地方工作受伤的雇员,其获得的补偿与在香港因工受伤的雇员有没有分别?
答2.

基本上没有分别。惟在香港以外地方工作受伤的雇员须留意以下事项:

  • 外地补偿:就同一损伤,如雇员根据该地方法律就该项损伤获得补偿,则在雇主根据《雇员补偿条例》须付给的补偿中,须扣除有关的外地补偿。
  • 按期付款(即工伤病假钱):雇员暂时丧失工作能力期间,雇主须向雇员支付按期付款,款额应为雇员遭遇意外时每月收入与暂时丧失工作能力期间每月收入差额的五分四。雇员暂时丧失工作能力的期间是指经注册医生、注册中医、注册牙医或雇员补偿评估委员会证明雇员必须缺勤的期间。如雇员在香港以外接受医治而获发病假,有关暂时丧失工作能力的期间,最后须由雇员补偿评估委员会评定,「书面病假跟进方式」并不适用于有关个案。
  • 医疗费:倘若雇员在受雇工作期间于香港以外地区因工遭遇意外而受伤,并在当地进行医治,雇主须支付有关的医疗费,金额与本地支付医疗费的最高金额相同。有关医治须为当地容许执业行医或容许从事外科、牙医、脊骨疗法、物理治疗或职业治疗工作的人所进行的或在其监督下进行的医治。雇主或雇员均可向劳工处处长申请一份述明医疗费金额的证明书。
  • 义制人体器官或外科器具费用:若雇员在受雇工作期间于香港以外地区因工遭遇意外而受伤,并接受在当地获容许执业行医或从事外科或牙医工作的人员医治,或接受在该等人员监督下进行的医治,若供应及装配有关义制人体器官或外科器具的费用得到「义制人体器官及外科器具委员会」的批准,则雇主必须负责支付,惟以指定的最高金额为限。最高金额与雇员在香港因工遭遇意外受伤时相同。

回到问题

   
问3. 如雇员在香港以外地方因工受伤,并须在当地接受医治,应注意什么事项?
答3.

雇主注意事项

  • 当雇员遭遇工伤时,雇主除了必须向劳工处处长呈报外,亦须按保险承保人指定的时间及方法(书面或指定表格)通知保险承保人。
  • 雇主应妥善保存向受伤雇员支付按期付款(即工伤病假钱)的纪录、由劳工处发出的「补偿评估证明书」(表格5)及「评估证明书」(表格7)、病假纸和医疗费单据的正本等,并按保险承保人指定的时间及方法递交有关文件,以便索回已支付的补偿款项。

雇员注意事项

  • 无论伤势是否严重,应立即通知雇主/主管/人力资源部,尽快将病假纸及医疗费收据正本呈交雇主,切记自己保存一份副本。
  • 雇员在香港以外地方接受医治时,应向医护人员清楚说明受伤原因及经过,并备存所有相关的医疗纪录,包括到诊纸、复诊纸、转介信、病假证明书、入院纪录及医疗报告等。此举一方面可协助医护人员作出适切的诊断和医治,另一方面亦有助劳工处职业医学组为其进行工伤病假的跟进,以及雇员补偿评估委员会进行判伤。
  • 如有需要,雇员应在香港接受注册医生、注册中医或注册牙医的诊治,并提供有关医疗纪录予劳工处,以作适当的跟进。

回到问题